SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4004 (Men's Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 675 times 
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/09 8:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuickFade said...
You've inspired me! I have this exact pattern in this exact size, and my teenager looks like he's got a about the same physique as you do. I bought the pattern when I was barely older than my son to make for a boyfriend. Your review reminded me that I still had it. I haven't sewn for my son in a while since he gets so many like-new hand me downs from friends and is happy with classics from Walmart and department store sales. But, for something unique, this is a great idea. I have plenty of fabric for this type of shirt. Thanks for the inspiration. Love your interpretation!
5/9/09 1:28 PM
mrsv83 said...
I agree with all the previous ratings - this is a stunning shirt and an amazing use of recycled materials. I remember the fit and patterns from that era (been there) and you nailed it. Very "Life on Mars". I foresee a new source for fabric in my future. Thanks.
3/27/09 11:44 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Hey - I remember that pattern. I made my husband several shirts from it back when he had sideburns like the envelope's model. Your version is nothing short of perfect. Congratulations.
3/26/09 11:19 PM
mssewcrazy said...
The shirt is nicely done. I love the sheet you used. I am a firm believer in using sheets for lounge clothes,muslins and pjs. Guess I need to pick up some prints for everyday shirts at some tag sales also. I have found with the pjs that like sheets because they are sheets lots of the wrinkles fall out it you hang out clothes in the warm weather. The cotton feels so good also when the weather is really hot. I actually bought some bright solid colored twin sheets last year to muslin with that I need to pull out. Thanks for the reminder.
3/26/09 9:05 PM
amy in mpls said...
perfection! looks fantastic and love the complimentary thread selection....
3/26/09 4:43 PM
Joey in Katy said...
The Islander Shirt-Making DVD's are great.
3/26/09 7:45 AM
brrmm said...
Oh man, you're a genius!! Love your reviews. Shirt is gorgeous and looks fantastic with those dacks (Oz-speak for pants). I'm so loving your work, you've got such great attention to detail and eye for design and colour. Inspirational!
3/25/09 5:23 PM
nellc said...
This is such a great shirt, it is beautifully constructed, and I love the print from the vintage bed sheet.
3/25/09 2:52 PM
Michelle L said...
Wow, what a fantastic shirt! The topstitching in orange is great, and everything is assembled so precisely. Beautiful, beautiful work!
3/25/09 2:22 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've been waiting for the shirt review and it was worth it. I make a lot of shirts for my BF so I know the amount of work that goes into one. Love the vintage bedsheet and contrasting topstitching, it really makes the shirt.
3/25/09 1:19 PM
Catbird said...
I'll join in the standing ovation. This is a great shirt! Your eye for detail and precision shines through all your projects. The shirt looks so good in all its incarnations in the photos (and love the socks too!). Vintage sheets -- I use them all the time for muslins. Also used an old loveseat cover for a jacket that I love -- will review it one of these days. Thanks for another inspiring and fun review!
3/25/09 12:52 PM
Erica B. said...
Great shirt!
3/25/09 12:46 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! You are blasting off in style in this stunning and groovy shirt, RocketDude! Your attention to detail is impressive!
3/25/09 12:09 PM
Bernadette W said...
So fab, you Rock, Boy.
3/25/09 11:50 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fantastic! Love the print and the orange top stitching. That's some nice collar point, too!
3/25/09 11:47 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous shirt! Wow, that is/was one amazingly beautiful bedsheet.
3/25/09 11:16 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous shirt. I am looking forward to your review of the Islander dvd. I used to see her on Sandra Betzina's old show and she was always great.
3/25/09 11:04 AM
rosecy said...
This shirt looks great - looking forward to seeing how you can improve it. Hummm- does piano playing improve sewing ability?
3/25/09 10:56 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
R-Boy, love the shirt darling. What are you playing on that gorgeous piano. I must know which tune to hum while looking at your photos. I do wish I could see what the back looks like since you like it so much. Cool socks. Ta-ta for now dear. I'm waiting with cc in hand for the Islander review.
3/25/09 10:45 AM
nancy2001 said...
Impeccably sewn and tailored. How incredible that you used a bedsheet.
3/25/09 10:34 AM
MarshaG. said...
Another fantastic addition to your wardrobe. You have an amazing eye and attention to detail! Bed sheets for sewing projects are really great, IMHO. Imagine some of those 400 + thread count sheets against your skin, and you get the picture. Fantastic job!
3/25/09 10:30 AM
Deepika said...
That shirt is amazing. Who wouldnt want to wear that. The construction, the fit, too good.
3/25/09 9:11 AM
Lynnelle said...
Another winner! Nice construction and attention to details. You freakin' rock, rocketboy!
3/25/09 8:59 AM
Kellie R. said...
Groovy shirt! It turned out great... I've made a few shirts for my husband and a shirt is NOT a shirt. If I ever come across this pattern, I'll pick it up.
3/25/09 8:34 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your shirt looks wonderful! Looking forward to seeing your next shirt.
3/25/09 8:19 AM
Woolygal said...
You make it sound easy. The shirt looks great.
3/25/09 7:56 AM
FreyaStark said...
A beautiful, well-made shirt. I love the fabric and the contrasting top-stitching. Well done, and keep it up! You can't have too many shirts.
3/25/09 7:24 AM
glenj said...
my first thought was LOVE the fabric.then I read your review,nice work.sheets are great for so many things,sooo much fabric
3/25/09 7:03 AM
Mary W said...
Great Shirt
3/25/09 6:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is one very sharp looking shirt here, RocketBoy! Its construction is high quality and your choice of fabric design is fairly inspired. It suits you really well. Thanks for all of your extra photos which give us all a greater insight into your construction techniques. Fabulous photography as well! Great work!
3/25/09 0:33 AM
Lori V said...
Incredible shirt and from a bedsheet no less. Wow!
3/25/09 0:03 AM
sewingbea5 said...
I had those sheets in the 70's-freaky!
3/24/09 11:48 PM
KathySews said...
Once again - another fantastic job. I think you should move up from Intermediate.
3/24/09 11:27 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that is a fantastic looking shirt...I can't believe it was a bed sheet. Your topstitching details are awesome!
3/24/09 11:25 PM
SewLil said...
Oh, but it is EXQUISITE!
3/24/09 11:23 PM
j222b said...
Amazing!
3/24/09 11:14 PM
lmg said...
LOVE IT. Sheets for a shirt. I HAVE to try that for DH. Beautiful work.
3/24/09 11:11 PM
Puppy said...
Oh, I canNOT believe this. When I looked at the photos of your shirt, I thought to myself, "Man, that sure looks like the sheets I "inherited" back when my parent went into the nursing home, but I can't say that to Rocketboy...he might take offense." But I read on, and you DID use sheets! What are the odds on this little coincidence!? Heck, they may still be in the basement, because I hang on to sheets to use for making muslins...matter of fact, last summer I actually bought a set of sheets with the idea of using them to make a shirt.
3/24/09 10:50 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I'll use some of your suggestions to make a shirt for my husband. Do you work with any of the current patterns?
3/24/09 10:48 PM
Mahler said...
Bed sheets, you are kidding me ! Wonderful ! Thank you for the construction detail pictures ;-) I love the piano as well though Littlejazzbird is a better reference for judging that. I hope to see more pictures of the future shirts.
3/24/09 10:41 PM
cgHipp said...
Fabulous shirt and I can't believe it's a sheet - I need to be on the lookout for cool sheets at the thrift shop... Great detail photos, too. Of the fashion photos, my favorites are the ones at the fence.
3/24/09 10:16 PM
shesflipped said...
Rocketboy~Fabulous shirt! I love the vintage print, (From a BED SHEET, yet!) the buttons, the orange topstitching, all very, very cool.
3/24/09 9:29 PM
BrianSews said...
Sheets are a great fabric source to be had for cheap! I might have paid $3 for this king size flat sheet. The older ones were so smooth and a cotton/poly blend, so soft after so many washes.
3/24/09 9:26 PM
Elke said...
Terrific looking shirt and I like the topstitching color.
3/24/09 9:19 PM
BrianSews said...
Beefy is exactly how I would describe the islander interfacing technique. I forgot to mention in my review that although this is my 5th shirt, it's the only one I've actually put buttons on. The Islander System is great and produces superior results on any pattern. My review for it is coming soon!
3/24/09 9:17 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
When I first viewed your photos, I thought: "Love that print and the way the collar stands up." I cannot believe you used a bedsheet! You are gifted with the ability to see perfection in something I would have used as a drop cloth for painting. However, your shirt-making skills elevate this printed sheet into a spectacular garment. Excellent review and fantastic photos!
3/24/09 9:16 PM
Twinset said...
Rocketboy, this is a really groovy shirt that suits you very well! I can't believe you've used bed sheets for that, how imaginative! Love your project! And by the way you have such a nice piano!!!
3/24/09 9:03 PM
Tailypo said...
Beautiful! I took one look at your collar and your pocket and thought, "Aha, I'll bet he's using Margaret Islander's videos." Aren't they the best? But I have also found that her use of interfacing (beefy on top, thinner on the underside if I am remembering correctly) was too much for my taste too. I love the way you matched the thread color to the flowers in the print. Great job.
3/24/09 8:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: Lucinda

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info