SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4004 (Men's Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 673 times 
Reviewed by:BrianSews
photo

 
 
About BrianSewsstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 2/16/08
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/09 8:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tailypo said...
Beautiful! I took one look at your collar and your pocket and thought, "Aha, I'll bet he's using Margaret Islander's videos." Aren't they the best? But I have also found that her use of interfacing (beefy on top, thinner on the underside if I am remembering correctly) was too much for my taste too. I love the way you matched the thread color to the flowers in the print. Great job.
3/24/09 8:54 PM
Twinset said...
Rocketboy, this is a really groovy shirt that suits you very well! I can't believe you've used bed sheets for that, how imaginative! Love your project! And by the way you have such a nice piano!!!
3/24/09 9:03 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
When I first viewed your photos, I thought: "Love that print and the way the collar stands up." I cannot believe you used a bedsheet! You are gifted with the ability to see perfection in something I would have used as a drop cloth for painting. However, your shirt-making skills elevate this printed sheet into a spectacular garment. Excellent review and fantastic photos!
3/24/09 9:16 PM
BrianSews said...
Beefy is exactly how I would describe the islander interfacing technique. I forgot to mention in my review that although this is my 5th shirt, it's the only one I've actually put buttons on. The Islander System is great and produces superior results on any pattern. My review for it is coming soon!
3/24/09 9:17 PM
Elke said...
Terrific looking shirt and I like the topstitching color.
3/24/09 9:19 PM
BrianSews said...
Sheets are a great fabric source to be had for cheap! I might have paid $3 for this king size flat sheet. The older ones were so smooth and a cotton/poly blend, so soft after so many washes.
3/24/09 9:26 PM
shesflipped said...
Rocketboy~Fabulous shirt! I love the vintage print, (From a BED SHEET, yet!) the buttons, the orange topstitching, all very, very cool.
3/24/09 9:29 PM
cgHipp said...
Fabulous shirt and I can't believe it's a sheet - I need to be on the lookout for cool sheets at the thrift shop... Great detail photos, too. Of the fashion photos, my favorites are the ones at the fence.
3/24/09 10:16 PM
Mahler said...
Bed sheets, you are kidding me ! Wonderful ! Thank you for the construction detail pictures ;-) I love the piano as well though Littlejazzbird is a better reference for judging that. I hope to see more pictures of the future shirts.
3/24/09 10:41 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I'll use some of your suggestions to make a shirt for my husband. Do you work with any of the current patterns?
3/24/09 10:48 PM
Puppy said...
Oh, I canNOT believe this. When I looked at the photos of your shirt, I thought to myself, "Man, that sure looks like the sheets I "inherited" back when my parent went into the nursing home, but I can't say that to Rocketboy...he might take offense." But I read on, and you DID use sheets! What are the odds on this little coincidence!? Heck, they may still be in the basement, because I hang on to sheets to use for making muslins...matter of fact, last summer I actually bought a set of sheets with the idea of using them to make a shirt.
3/24/09 10:50 PM
lmg said...
LOVE IT. Sheets for a shirt. I HAVE to try that for DH. Beautiful work.
3/24/09 11:11 PM
j222b said...
Amazing!
3/24/09 11:14 PM
SewLil said...
Oh, but it is EXQUISITE!
3/24/09 11:23 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that is a fantastic looking shirt...I can't believe it was a bed sheet. Your topstitching details are awesome!
3/24/09 11:25 PM
KathySews said...
Once again - another fantastic job. I think you should move up from Intermediate.
3/24/09 11:27 PM
sewingbea5 said...
I had those sheets in the 70's-freaky!
3/24/09 11:48 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible shirt and from a bedsheet no less. Wow!
3/25/09 0:03 AM
Karen8320 said...
This is one very sharp looking shirt here, RocketBoy! Its construction is high quality and your choice of fabric design is fairly inspired. It suits you really well. Thanks for all of your extra photos which give us all a greater insight into your construction techniques. Fabulous photography as well! Great work!
3/25/09 0:33 AM
Mary W said...
Great Shirt
3/25/09 6:39 AM
glenj said...
my first thought was LOVE the fabric.then I read your review,nice work.sheets are great for so many things,sooo much fabric
3/25/09 7:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
A beautiful, well-made shirt. I love the fabric and the contrasting top-stitching. Well done, and keep it up! You can't have too many shirts.
3/25/09 7:24 AM
Woolygal said...
You make it sound easy. The shirt looks great.
3/25/09 7:56 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your shirt looks wonderful! Looking forward to seeing your next shirt.
3/25/09 8:19 AM
Kellie R. said...
Groovy shirt! It turned out great... I've made a few shirts for my husband and a shirt is NOT a shirt. If I ever come across this pattern, I'll pick it up.
3/25/09 8:34 AM
Lynnelle said...
Another winner! Nice construction and attention to details. You freakin' rock, rocketboy!
3/25/09 8:59 AM
Deepika said...
That shirt is amazing. Who wouldnt want to wear that. The construction, the fit, too good.
3/25/09 9:11 AM
MarshaG. said...
Another fantastic addition to your wardrobe. You have an amazing eye and attention to detail! Bed sheets for sewing projects are really great, IMHO. Imagine some of those 400 + thread count sheets against your skin, and you get the picture. Fantastic job!
3/25/09 10:30 AM
nancy2001 said...
Impeccably sewn and tailored. How incredible that you used a bedsheet.
3/25/09 10:34 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
R-Boy, love the shirt darling. What are you playing on that gorgeous piano. I must know which tune to hum while looking at your photos. I do wish I could see what the back looks like since you like it so much. Cool socks. Ta-ta for now dear. I'm waiting with cc in hand for the Islander review.
3/25/09 10:45 AM
rosecy said...
This shirt looks great - looking forward to seeing how you can improve it. Hummm- does piano playing improve sewing ability?
3/25/09 10:56 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous shirt. I am looking forward to your review of the Islander dvd. I used to see her on Sandra Betzina's old show and she was always great.
3/25/09 11:04 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous shirt! Wow, that is/was one amazingly beautiful bedsheet.
3/25/09 11:16 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fantastic! Love the print and the orange top stitching. That's some nice collar point, too!
3/25/09 11:47 AM
Bernadette W said...
So fab, you Rock, Boy.
3/25/09 11:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! You are blasting off in style in this stunning and groovy shirt, RocketDude! Your attention to detail is impressive!
3/25/09 12:09 PM
Erica B. said...
Great shirt!
3/25/09 12:46 PM
Catbird said...
I'll join in the standing ovation. This is a great shirt! Your eye for detail and precision shines through all your projects. The shirt looks so good in all its incarnations in the photos (and love the socks too!). Vintage sheets -- I use them all the time for muslins. Also used an old loveseat cover for a jacket that I love -- will review it one of these days. Thanks for another inspiring and fun review!
3/25/09 12:52 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've been waiting for the shirt review and it was worth it. I make a lot of shirts for my BF so I know the amount of work that goes into one. Love the vintage bedsheet and contrasting topstitching, it really makes the shirt.
3/25/09 1:19 PM
Michelle L said...
Wow, what a fantastic shirt! The topstitching in orange is great, and everything is assembled so precisely. Beautiful, beautiful work!
3/25/09 2:22 PM
nellc said...
This is such a great shirt, it is beautifully constructed, and I love the print from the vintage bed sheet.
3/25/09 2:52 PM
brrmm said...
Oh man, you're a genius!! Love your reviews. Shirt is gorgeous and looks fantastic with those dacks (Oz-speak for pants). I'm so loving your work, you've got such great attention to detail and eye for design and colour. Inspirational!
3/25/09 5:23 PM
Joey in Katy said...
The Islander Shirt-Making DVD's are great.
3/26/09 7:45 AM
amy in mpls said...
perfection! looks fantastic and love the complimentary thread selection....
3/26/09 4:43 PM
mssewcrazy said...
The shirt is nicely done. I love the sheet you used. I am a firm believer in using sheets for lounge clothes,muslins and pjs. Guess I need to pick up some prints for everyday shirts at some tag sales also. I have found with the pjs that like sheets because they are sheets lots of the wrinkles fall out it you hang out clothes in the warm weather. The cotton feels so good also when the weather is really hot. I actually bought some bright solid colored twin sheets last year to muslin with that I need to pull out. Thanks for the reminder.
3/26/09 9:05 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Hey - I remember that pattern. I made my husband several shirts from it back when he had sideburns like the envelope's model. Your version is nothing short of perfect. Congratulations.
3/26/09 11:19 PM
mrsv83 said...
I agree with all the previous ratings - this is a stunning shirt and an amazing use of recycled materials. I remember the fit and patterns from that era (been there) and you nailed it. Very "Life on Mars". I foresee a new source for fabric in my future. Thanks.
3/27/09 11:44 PM
QuickFade said...
You've inspired me! I have this exact pattern in this exact size, and my teenager looks like he's got a about the same physique as you do. I bought the pattern when I was barely older than my son to make for a boyfriend. Your review reminded me that I still had it. I haven't sewn for my son in a while since he gets so many like-new hand me downs from friends and is happy with classics from Walmart and department store sales. But, for something unique, this is a great idea. I have plenty of fabric for this type of shirt. Thanks for the inspiration. Love your interpretation!
5/9/09 1:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now