SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3527 from 1955 (Misses' Dress)

Viewed 979 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/09 7:34 PM
Last Updated:3/25/09 11:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Well worth the effort. The fit is superb - very important for a dress in this style. I'll look forward to seeing your "real" version (as opposed to "test" version).
3/25/09 8:24 PM
marec said...
Well, what does this say about my tatse? I really like the fabric :-) Beautiful fit and I am sure this will be a knock out dress in the "real" fabric.
3/25/09 8:46 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the Asian-inspired style. The dress looks great on you! How fun to see a vintage pattern sewn up so beautifully!
3/25/09 9:27 PM
sewtime said...
This is a wow dress!!! You look great! Thank you for the review!
3/25/09 9:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
I think you look lovely in this! IRL it might look different, but the fabric looks great in the pic!
3/25/09 9:55 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job! I'm with Marec...I just recently made a dress out of the exact same fabric and not only do I love it but, my DH and my 18 year old DD do also!
3/25/09 10:27 PM
castout said...
Very good job! I love the fabric!
3/26/09 0:12 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful fit!
3/26/09 4:07 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely lovely dress. If it looks this good in the test run fabric, it's going to be a prizewinner in the real fabric. Well done on the alterations; you are a much braver woman than me... I'd not know where to start.
3/26/09 6:06 AM
Michelle L said...
what a lovely dress! I have yet to attempt assembling any of the vintage patterns that I have, but your wonderful dress makes me want to try!
3/26/09 6:58 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Absolutely gorgeous! I NEED to look for this pattern!
3/26/09 8:18 AM
MaryDB said...
Looks fabulous, nice job, perfect fit. Love those old patterns - the drafting is perfect.
3/26/09 10:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Kellie, you mean this eyecatchingly gorgeous dress is a muslin? Huh? Wow! Still very nice work! This is a cool vintage style that wil never go out of style! I cannot wait to see your "real" version....:-)
3/26/09 11:25 AM
queensh said...
Beautiful!! The fabric is fabulous! I know the actual silk dress will be stunning.
3/26/09 12:19 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great job. The fit looks wonderful. It's a classic!
3/26/09 1:07 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Wowza!
3/26/09 1:11 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, I can't believe this is just a muslin! I really like this style, and actually, here goes - I love the fabric. There, I said it! ;)
3/26/09 1:39 PM
Twinset said...
You look fantastic in your great dress! I find this fabric beautiful in terms of print and colors, and perfect for this style!
3/26/09 2:52 PM
Cat MacGregor said...
Woot! I remember when you first posted up this pattern!! It came out just beautiful!! I cannot wait to see the un-muslin. 8 ) Awesome job!
3/26/09 3:30 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow everybody! Thanks SO MUCH for all of your very kind comments! I'm LMAO, thinking that I need to re-evaluate my taste in fabric since this fabric is so popular with many of you! Thanks again!
3/26/09 4:33 PM
Erica B. said...
Great dress! It's a stunner!
3/26/09 6:13 PM
daff said...
I am ?? about the fabric opinions on your end...I love it, and it looks fabulous as this dress! Great job! :)
3/26/09 7:47 PM
mars418 said...
Fabulous dress! The fit is perfect--nice work. Love the fabric.
3/27/09 7:59 AM
Jali said...
Double wow! Great fit, great fabric, great dress.
3/29/09 11:42 AM
Cisa said...
I've been pondering this pattern for a while now and you've convinced me! I need to get a hold of this pattern. Thanks for your review Kellie! Any idea where I can find this pattern?
3/29/09 12:36 PM
Mahler said...
The information is being reviewed in my mind, this is a muslin, Mom that fabric is disgusting, it should be a pillow case. Humm I am from a different school I guess. I love brocades and this one seems so nice on my screen. I believe you when you says that i frays. I am such a great fan of those dresses. I envy you to have found that pattern. I have a few of those, Burda, New look, McCalls and none of them is as nice. I like your dress so much. I am so much looking for the next version. I hope I won't miss it. And humm I love that dress on you !
3/29/09 10:00 PM
Christas said...
EXCELLENT review! This pattern is so pretty! How can this be your MUSLIN?! It is far too nice and looks too lovely to not be a REAL dress!!!
4/6/09 4:26 PM
yummymummy38 said...
this looks terrific and I quite like the fabric! the fit is phenomenal. This style is called a cheongsam and a traditional Chinese dress. It tends to suit slim, small busted women. See Joan Chen looking absolutely gorgeous in "The Home Song Stories"
4/11/09 7:04 AM
Natalie D. said...
What a great review and photos! This is a classic style that suits you.
4/26/09 11:35 AM
CharmedDiamonds said...
I love it!!!! I'm going to be searching for a similar pattern now :)
6/7/09 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 4074

photo
by: moonshae

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Other 3221

photo
by: Jrhee

Review