Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7764 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 761 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:One Off
photo
Friend of PR
About One Offstar
MA USA
Member since: 6/28/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/25/09 9:05 PM
Last Updated:3/26/09 12:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MamaSewing said...
Your jacket looks very nice on you. I love the details like the front pockets and the large front buttons as well!
3/26/09 9:08 AM
Re Becca said...
I like the details and I that the back and shoulders just look a little less fitted, a little more casual. The details look good. You should edit this and add a gallery picture so that more people will see it.
3/26/09 9:15 AM
Modiste Madness said...
That is a lot of sewing in that jacket. You did a wonderful job on it and with all your adaptations.
3/26/09 9:20 AM
inkstain said...
I just fixed the number of my review of the same jacket to offer One Off a comparison. I too had the experience that the shoulders and back were too wide but I've worn my version, in blue-dyed IKEA canvas, to death. I hope you get as much wear from this versaile item and highly recommend it!
3/26/09 9:35 AM
CarolynGM said...
It really is a very attractive jacket. Since it's casual, I don't think the back width looks bad at all. Love the details.
3/26/09 1:03 PM
21wale said...
Nice job on the details! The color is a fun choice, too.
3/26/09 1:17 PM
Lisa p said...
What a great job you have made of this , I love the detailing .
3/26/09 2:15 PM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous!!! The fit, the sewing, everything. And I can't believe you still have snow.
3/26/09 3:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a chic and charming jacket!
3/26/09 3:36 PM
CynthiaSue said...
really gorgeous.
3/26/09 3:44 PM
Puppy said...
Very impressive jacket!! I've always felt that sewing must surely be easier for an architect, and then I also saw that another reviewer of this same pattern is an astrophysicist! Yup, I believe that brains and a good education can't hurt one's sewing! Me? I have trouble with math and seeing things in space. But I try! You've done such a nice job on what appears to be a complex jacket.
3/26/09 3:44 PM
sew2little said...
I have a home for wayward jackets. In a heartbeat, I would charitably take in this poor jacket and try to rehabilitate its mediocrity. Seriously, I LOVE your jacket! Beautiful work, great look.
3/26/09 3:49 PM
Karine said...
You did a beautiful job on this. In spite of your concern about the stretch denim being too stiff, it hangs nicely and fits you very well. I think it's great!
3/26/09 3:54 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a nice jacket! The style and detailing is outstanding. Even though you're not happy with the fit, it still looks great!
3/26/09 4:41 PM
Riesie said...
Well, I have to say it looks fab on you! Love the placket detail just the way it is.
3/26/09 5:13 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I really like your jacket. You did a lovely job of stitching. I cannot tell that you have fitting issues by looking, but that is often more the way it feels, not the way it looks. Nice job. jw
3/26/09 5:39 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hi, I was thinking of making this pattern, but will rethink now. I still think your jacket looks very nice - the pockets are very even and regular (something I find hard to do) and the topstitching also looks very professional. Cheers, Second Avenue
3/26/09 6:45 PM
Athene said...
A very good looking jacket. The middle upper back piece looks great - if you find the back too big you could try cutting the side upper back pieces in 12 next time to see if you like that better. Overall I think its a really great jacket.
3/26/09 8:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
I think your jacket looks beatiful. You did a great job.
3/26/09 8:44 PM
becca a said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the details and I think it looks great on you.
3/26/09 10:33 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely, lovely jacket. It is very well made and perfect for spring.
3/27/09 11:13 AM
nglalala said...
The jacket it beautiful!
3/27/09 12:08 PM
Robin Denning said...
I am so glad you posted your review. I had trouble getting a nice fit in the back, too (and it's just me - no reflection on the pattern). When I saw your princess seams in the back, I realized that would solve my issue, too. I really like your version!
2/12/11 10:55 AM
cleverkitty said...
this looks so interesting what you did with the button holes. I'm almost done with mine, it's turning out good so far. Hope your still wearing it, those pockets are perfect.
3/18/11 9:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5209
photo
Review by LDT2011 on 4/2/14
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 3789 Wizard Cape
photo
Review by sask on 4/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 9871 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 9871 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7033 Pattern
Burda 7033 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us