SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5063 

4 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/09 4:39 PM
Last Updated:3/28/09 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
3/28/09 5:03 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! That's a beautiful jacket!
3/28/09 6:03 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your UFO became a BFO (beautiful finished object)! You look so chic! Cool review!
3/28/09 6:34 PM
Gold said...
Very nice jacket looks great on you.
3/28/09 6:36 PM
Peggy said...
BEAUTIFUL JACKET!
3/28/09 6:39 PM
Mahler said...
This is a simple and beautiful pattern. Your muslin turned out wonderfully. It looks great with jeans. I am sad that I never saw that pattern before. I am looking forward your future version of it. This pattern is really worth it.
3/28/09 6:56 PM
Christas said...
Fantastic jacket! This looks wonderful on you!
3/28/09 7:01 PM
Karendee said...
I think you look just wonderful in your new jacket. The style looks great on you.
3/28/09 7:04 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
3/28/09 7:10 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautifully made, and it looks great on you!
3/28/09 7:20 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I think your sleeve alteration has worked well and all seams on your jacket are so beautiful and pressed well which left me in a state of beautiful seam fetish........
3/28/09 8:55 PM
Birgitte said...
Your jacket turned out just beautiful and you look great in it. The Dolly Parton picture is too funny :)) I'd never thought this could be a muslin, bet you get a lot of wear out of this one!
3/28/09 9:39 PM
sewingstacy said...
I've been looking for a few days for a jacket pattern like this......yours is awesome!! Thanks for the review, I think I'll get this one!
3/28/09 9:50 PM
DivaQ said...
Your work is always beautiful!
3/29/09 0:10 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely jacket and such a useful review. I probably have this one in my collection but never noticed that great pocket too. Thanks for the inspiring review.
3/29/09 7:59 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely jacket. It is very nicely made. Can't wait to see the next version!
3/29/09 10:23 AM
Bernadette W said...
Great jacket, and excellent "save" on the sleeves!
3/29/09 3:27 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you everyone! Forgot to mention that even though this is out of print it's still being sold on the McCall's site and there are a couple of them available on eBay.
3/29/09 10:11 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, I even like the DOLLY PARTON view (and "Dolly Parton" is my middle name). :o) I've always admired this pattern, but I think this is the first time I've seen it made up. I LOVE your fabric. I thought it was wool! I've got a jacket lying over there in the chair waiting to go to the cleaner's, and it has EXACTLY the WRONG SLEEVE LENGTH. It just drives me INSANE, but I really like the jacket itself. I may actually get some more of that fabric (if they still have it) and use your INGENIOUS FACING IDEA. :o) I was just thinking yesterday, those sleeves either need to go UP or go DOWN. I don't really want to make them shorter. Gee, who asked me about MY jacket anyway? I love YOURS, and you wear it so well, with such a casual, elegant ease. :o)
4/21/09 9:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8659

photo
by: rivergum

Review