SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5063 

4 more reviews
Viewed 463 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/09 4:39 PM
Last Updated:3/28/09 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, I even like the DOLLY PARTON view (and "Dolly Parton" is my middle name). :o) I've always admired this pattern, but I think this is the first time I've seen it made up. I LOVE your fabric. I thought it was wool! I've got a jacket lying over there in the chair waiting to go to the cleaner's, and it has EXACTLY the WRONG SLEEVE LENGTH. It just drives me INSANE, but I really like the jacket itself. I may actually get some more of that fabric (if they still have it) and use your INGENIOUS FACING IDEA. :o) I was just thinking yesterday, those sleeves either need to go UP or go DOWN. I don't really want to make them shorter. Gee, who asked me about MY jacket anyway? I love YOURS, and you wear it so well, with such a casual, elegant ease. :o)
4/21/09 9:26 PM
Catbird said...
Thank you everyone! Forgot to mention that even though this is out of print it's still being sold on the McCall's site and there are a couple of them available on eBay.
3/29/09 10:11 PM
Bernadette W said...
Great jacket, and excellent "save" on the sleeves!
3/29/09 3:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely jacket. It is very nicely made. Can't wait to see the next version!
3/29/09 10:23 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely jacket and such a useful review. I probably have this one in my collection but never noticed that great pocket too. Thanks for the inspiring review.
3/29/09 7:59 AM
DivaQ said...
Your work is always beautiful!
3/29/09 0:10 AM
sewingstacy said...
I've been looking for a few days for a jacket pattern like this......yours is awesome!! Thanks for the review, I think I'll get this one!
3/28/09 9:50 PM
Birgitte said...
Your jacket turned out just beautiful and you look great in it. The Dolly Parton picture is too funny :)) I'd never thought this could be a muslin, bet you get a lot of wear out of this one!
3/28/09 9:39 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I think your sleeve alteration has worked well and all seams on your jacket are so beautiful and pressed well which left me in a state of beautiful seam fetish........
3/28/09 8:55 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautifully made, and it looks great on you!
3/28/09 7:20 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
3/28/09 7:10 PM
Karendee said...
I think you look just wonderful in your new jacket. The style looks great on you.
3/28/09 7:04 PM
Christas said...
Fantastic jacket! This looks wonderful on you!
3/28/09 7:01 PM
Mahler said...
This is a simple and beautiful pattern. Your muslin turned out wonderfully. It looks great with jeans. I am sad that I never saw that pattern before. I am looking forward your future version of it. This pattern is really worth it.
3/28/09 6:56 PM
Peggy said...
BEAUTIFUL JACKET!
3/28/09 6:39 PM
Gold said...
Very nice jacket looks great on you.
3/28/09 6:36 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your UFO became a BFO (beautiful finished object)! You look so chic! Cool review!
3/28/09 6:34 PM
Tiner W said...
Wow! That's a beautiful jacket!
3/28/09 6:03 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
3/28/09 5:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

More Info