SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5219 (Fast & Easy)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1236 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/09 9:13 PM
Last Updated:4/27/09 10:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andreahg said...
I really like the newest version of this top. Great work!
4/29/09 3:23 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! Your pajamas are cute and the final version looks fabulous! The yoke is a nice design touch.
4/29/09 9:04 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful top. I like the contrast neckline. Now, you've got me thinking. I need to pull out this pattern. :)
4/28/09 9:25 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top! I particularly like the yoke in a different fabric. Sometimes these happy accidents are for the best. :)
4/28/09 8:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I like the contrast yoke! Really, I think you're being too hard on yourself with the swag--really, who in real life is going to notice that?
4/28/09 1:27 PM
Em's Summer said...
Cute top. I especially love your PJ version! The color of your PJ version looks fantastic on you!
4/28/09 12:20 PM
Nancywin said...
Sherrill, this turned out well. Do you think the "swag" could be coming from narrowing the neckline? I don't see it in your pjs top. It does seem as if raising the CF might solve it. I like the contrast yoke you added to this - necessity the mother of invention and all that. Nice job.
4/28/09 9:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ritzy looking top, Sherril! Great look on you! BTW: Did you have to alter more due to becoming more slender? You look fab!
4/28/09 6:48 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thank you, thank you! I feel the same way about the neckline being too wide open, but hadn't decided how to fix it yet. Thank you for figuring it out for me, lol. I think it looks really cute on you. For myself I'm considering a light weight floral with contrast for summer. When I do an FBA on these gathered tops I have less "bust droop" if I move the FBA closer to the center front, or where the bust point will be when the top is gathered. I hope that made sense. Thanks for your informative review.
4/28/09 0:19 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Very cute, as is everything you do. Slimming the bottom of the sleeve would give a sleeker look and the right flowing fabric. d
4/27/09 11:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Cute and pretty. Very whimsical fabric. I like it! You look nice in it. :)
4/27/09 8:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Dang it all! Every time you review a pattern, then I think I have to have it. :o) This is a GREAT top, and I would have never thoguht to make a PJ top out of it. Believe it or not, I've JUST been mulling over what I might use for PJs when I go to Galveston. Unfortunately, I can't buy Buttericks around here without traveling to Lincoln, which I don't have time for right now, but I might be able to find something similar in McCall's or Simplicity. Thanks for the inspiration. :o) You look great!
3/30/09 11:57 AM
OP Gal said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern, Sherril. I've looked at that pattern and thought it would look like a maternity top on me, but it doesn't have that look at all on you. It looks like there are more gathers in the drawing. So, maybe it would work on me. It doesn't look like a muslin in the picture. It looks very wearable in public. Cute fabric, too.
3/29/09 8:28 PM
janet said...
Very attractive jammies. You should make more!
3/29/09 7:41 PM
Michelle L said...
I love that you use your muslins for PJs! I have this pattern, too, thanks for a great review, I really appreciate the information about fit.
3/29/09 2:21 PM
cybermom said...
very cute. I have this pattern and now will try this out.
3/29/09 1:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
All versions that I have seen here are more enticing than Butterickie's! That neckline looks fab on you! You convinced me to add this to my list!
3/29/09 12:26 PM
dollieo said...
very nice. I thought it was the sunshine pattern.Beautiful job, i really like it.
3/29/09 12:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
Sherril, you probably walked off all the pizza you ate in NY! This looks great - and yes, you did buy a few fabrics that might work for the next version.
3/29/09 12:01 PM
Izzie said...
Cute PJs! Nice alternative for the sunshine top.
3/29/09 11:58 AM
Peggy L said...
Very cute and so comfy looking!
3/29/09 11:10 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a great idea - it looks cute and comfy. Great job.
3/29/09 10:19 AM
Christas said...
This pattern made the perfect pair of jammies! They look very nice on you.... nice fit too.
3/29/09 10:01 AM
merry-one said...
I like how this turned out, skimming but not too full. Can't wait to see the top.
3/29/09 9:39 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It turned out very cute on you. I never thought about using the pattern for a PJ top, but it's adorable. Love the fabric.
3/29/09 2:12 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a cute PJ top! I would be tempted to wear it all the time. :) I bet the daywear version is going to be fantastic.
3/29/09 0:25 AM
Ody said...
Absolutely fabulous PJs. I have made some for everybody in the family but me! You have inspired me with those adorable bedtime couture! Great review and glad you are back!
3/28/09 10:48 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Cute top! I love that you used it as a pj test run, too!
3/28/09 10:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I did lose weight, but in NYC I think I gained it all back. :(
3/28/09 10:21 PM
solosmocker said...
Have you lost weight? It looks like you have in these jammies. What a pretty color!
3/28/09 10:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute pajama top! I think that when you make the "real" version of this, if you use a stretchier poly-something knit, you'll also get more drape and some of that volume below the bust will hang better.
3/28/09 9:36 PM
pterion said...
Very cute pajamas/muslin! You should definitely make it again!
3/28/09 9:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
HotPatterns 1121

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now