Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5219 (Fast & Easy) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1233 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/09 9:13 PM
Last Updated:4/27/09 10:42 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Very cute pajamas/muslin! You should definitely make it again!
3/28/09 9:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute pajama top! I think that when you make the "real" version of this, if you use a stretchier poly-something knit, you'll also get more drape and some of that volume below the bust will hang better.
3/28/09 9:36 PM
solosmocker said...
Have you lost weight? It looks like you have in these jammies. What a pretty color!
3/28/09 10:16 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I did lose weight, but in NYC I think I gained it all back. :(
3/28/09 10:21 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Cute top! I love that you used it as a pj test run, too!
3/28/09 10:41 PM
Ody said...
Absolutely fabulous PJs. I have made some for everybody in the family but me! You have inspired me with those adorable bedtime couture! Great review and glad you are back!
3/28/09 10:48 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
What a cute PJ top! I would be tempted to wear it all the time. :) I bet the daywear version is going to be fantastic.
3/29/09 0:25 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It turned out very cute on you. I never thought about using the pattern for a PJ top, but it's adorable. Love the fabric.
3/29/09 2:12 AM
merry-one said...
I like how this turned out, skimming but not too full. Can't wait to see the top.
3/29/09 9:39 AM
Christas said...
This pattern made the perfect pair of jammies! They look very nice on you.... nice fit too.
3/29/09 10:01 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a great idea - it looks cute and comfy. Great job.
3/29/09 10:19 AM
Peggy L said...
Very cute and so comfy looking!
3/29/09 11:10 AM
Izzie said...
Cute PJs! Nice alternative for the sunshine top.
3/29/09 11:58 AM
Karen6790 said...
Sherril, you probably walked off all the pizza you ate in NY! This looks great - and yes, you did buy a few fabrics that might work for the next version.
3/29/09 12:01 PM
dollieo said...
very nice. I thought it was the sunshine pattern.Beautiful job, i really like it.
3/29/09 12:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
All versions that I have seen here are more enticing than Butterickie's! That neckline looks fab on you! You convinced me to add this to my list!
3/29/09 12:26 PM
cybermom said...
very cute. I have this pattern and now will try this out.
3/29/09 1:34 PM
Michelle L said...
I love that you use your muslins for PJs! I have this pattern, too, thanks for a great review, I really appreciate the information about fit.
3/29/09 2:21 PM
janet said...
Very attractive jammies. You should make more!
3/29/09 7:41 PM
OP Gal said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern, Sherril. I've looked at that pattern and thought it would look like a maternity top on me, but it doesn't have that look at all on you. It looks like there are more gathers in the drawing. So, maybe it would work on me. It doesn't look like a muslin in the picture. It looks very wearable in public. Cute fabric, too.
3/29/09 8:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Dang it all! Every time you review a pattern, then I think I have to have it. :o) This is a GREAT top, and I would have never thoguht to make a PJ top out of it. Believe it or not, I've JUST been mulling over what I might use for PJs when I go to Galveston. Unfortunately, I can't buy Buttericks around here without traveling to Lincoln, which I don't have time for right now, but I might be able to find something similar in McCall's or Simplicity. Thanks for the inspiration. :o) You look great!
3/30/09 11:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Cute and pretty. Very whimsical fabric. I like it! You look nice in it. :)
4/27/09 8:04 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Very cute, as is everything you do. Slimming the bottom of the sleeve would give a sleeker look and the right flowing fabric. d
4/27/09 11:07 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Thank you, thank you! I feel the same way about the neckline being too wide open, but hadn't decided how to fix it yet. Thank you for figuring it out for me, lol. I think it looks really cute on you. For myself I'm considering a light weight floral with contrast for summer. When I do an FBA on these gathered tops I have less "bust droop" if I move the FBA closer to the center front, or where the bust point will be when the top is gathered. I hope that made sense. Thanks for your informative review.
4/28/09 0:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ritzy looking top, Sherril! Great look on you! BTW: Did you have to alter more due to becoming more slender? You look fab!
4/28/09 6:48 AM
Nancywin said...
Sherrill, this turned out well. Do you think the "swag" could be coming from narrowing the neckline? I don't see it in your pjs top. It does seem as if raising the CF might solve it. I like the contrast yoke you added to this - necessity the mother of invention and all that. Nice job.
4/28/09 9:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
Cute top. I especially love your PJ version! The color of your PJ version looks fantastic on you!
4/28/09 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
I like the contrast yoke! Really, I think you're being too hard on yourself with the swag--really, who in real life is going to notice that?
4/28/09 1:27 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely top! I particularly like the yoke in a different fabric. Sometimes these happy accidents are for the best. :)
4/28/09 8:28 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful top. I like the contrast neckline. Now, you've got me thinking. I need to pull out this pattern. :)
4/28/09 9:25 PM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely! Your pajamas are cute and the final version looks fabulous! The yoke is a nice design touch.
4/29/09 9:04 AM
Andreahg said...
I really like the newest version of this top. Great work!
4/29/09 3:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 5886
photo
Review by Nenewhis on 6/12/13
Read Review

Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1162 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )
Simplicity 2660 Pattern ( Size 10-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7359 SHIRT
photo
Review by LTC on 9/16/12
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us