SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-110 (dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 169 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/09 3:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pinkli said...
Oh wow, that's a lovely top. Raised up a notch from the one in the mag too. Perhaps you could sew a loop of ribbon (with a dome at each end) in the centre front to pass through your underwear - this would stop it falling forward. Not sure if that is the problem, so ignore if it's unwelcome!
4/18/09 1:37 PM
cindy-lou said...
This looks beautiful in velvet! Thanks for your super review. And I, like others, think it looks great on you. Really great. :)
4/5/09 9:38 PM
nglalala said...
Nice! The color is beautiful!
3/30/09 3:01 PM
zora said...
Another vote here to get rid of the camisole! You look cute wearing the top, you just have to get used to a style you don't normally wear.
3/30/09 1:02 PM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:20 AM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt and it looks great on you. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:19 AM
Sew tell me said...
This top looks great on you! The color is wonderful as is the style. If the V is too low for you, you might want to cut it higher but you have FANTASTIC collar bones which scream V-Neck.
3/30/09 3:05 AM
Catbird said...
Here's another vote for no camisole under this gorgeous top! I know it's hard step outside the comfort zone, but to an 'impartial' observer, this looks smashing on you. The videos & photos of the volcano on your blog are outstanding -- thank you!
3/29/09 9:51 PM
Elke said...
Wow, this top looks beautiful in velvet...it looks fabulous on you! Great job!
3/29/09 9:32 PM
Re Becca said...
Very rich and elegant. I think that it looks great without the top while you are standing straight, but I understand how self conscious it can make you. I think that you will get lots of compliments on this shirt.
3/29/09 8:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your top looks great on you! Thanks for the photos showing how to construct the front. I had a dress for my Barbie doll out of the same color velour fabric with a similar treatment on the front as your top. Your top reminds me of my Barbie and her gorgeous gown.
3/29/09 8:28 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a great top on you--no need to worry about feeling self conscious!
3/29/09 5:42 PM
donna wicks said...
Even if you don't like the design of the top the color looks so good on you.
3/29/09 5:14 PM
tangodancingflygirl said...
This top is fabulous on you - and it's not too low! Take that camisole off!
3/29/09 5:13 PM
Christas said...
Even if it isn't your normal style is looks really nice on you. The color is very pretty and the fabric looks great for that pattern!
3/29/09 4:16 PM
Pamaro said...
LOVE the deep purple. I think this looks great on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
3/29/09 3:53 PM
Michelle L said...
Very pretty shirt, even if it is not to your liking. I think though, if I decide to sew it, I will just come read your instructions and forget the ones included in BWOF!!
3/29/09 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Popolok Design Novo

photo
by: KateS

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

More Info
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

More Info