Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-110 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 603 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/09 3:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Very pretty shirt, even if it is not to your liking. I think though, if I decide to sew it, I will just come read your instructions and forget the ones included in BWOF!!
3/29/09 3:45 PM
Pamaro said...
LOVE the deep purple. I think this looks great on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
3/29/09 3:53 PM
Christas said...
Even if it isn't your normal style is looks really nice on you. The color is very pretty and the fabric looks great for that pattern!
3/29/09 4:16 PM
tangodancingflygirl said...
This top is fabulous on you - and it's not too low! Take that camisole off!
3/29/09 5:13 PM
donna wicks said...
Even if you don't like the design of the top the color looks so good on you.
3/29/09 5:14 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a great top on you--no need to worry about feeling self conscious!
3/29/09 5:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your top looks great on you! Thanks for the photos showing how to construct the front. I had a dress for my Barbie doll out of the same color velour fabric with a similar treatment on the front as your top. Your top reminds me of my Barbie and her gorgeous gown.
3/29/09 8:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Very rich and elegant. I think that it looks great without the top while you are standing straight, but I understand how self conscious it can make you. I think that you will get lots of compliments on this shirt.
3/29/09 8:40 PM
Elke said...
Wow, this top looks beautiful in velvet...it looks fabulous on you! Great job!
3/29/09 9:32 PM
Catbird said...
Here's another vote for no camisole under this gorgeous top! I know it's hard step outside the comfort zone, but to an 'impartial' observer, this looks smashing on you. The videos & photos of the volcano on your blog are outstanding -- thank you!
3/29/09 9:51 PM
Sew tell me said...
This top looks great on you! The color is wonderful as is the style. If the V is too low for you, you might want to cut it higher but you have FANTASTIC collar bones which scream V-Neck.
3/30/09 3:05 AM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt and it looks great on you. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:19 AM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:20 AM
zora said...
Another vote here to get rid of the camisole! You look cute wearing the top, you just have to get used to a style you don't normally wear.
3/30/09 1:02 PM
nglalala said...
Nice! The color is beautiful!
3/30/09 3:01 PM
cindy-lou said...
This looks beautiful in velvet! Thanks for your super review. And I, like others, think it looks great on you. Really great. :)
4/5/09 9:38 PM
pinkli said...
Oh wow, that's a lovely top. Raised up a notch from the one in the mag too. Perhaps you could sew a loop of ribbon (with a dome at each end) in the centre front to pass through your underwear - this would stop it falling forward. Not sure if that is the problem, so ignore if it's unwelcome!
4/18/09 1:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 7014 dog beds
photo
Review by Slappy Squ... on 8/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5931
photo
Review by kittykate on 1/17/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7630 Pattern
Burda 7630 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us