SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-110 (dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 182
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/09 3:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Very pretty shirt, even if it is not to your liking. I think though, if I decide to sew it, I will just come read your instructions and forget the ones included in BWOF!!
3/29/09 3:45 PM
Pamaro said...
LOVE the deep purple. I think this looks great on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
3/29/09 3:53 PM
Christas said...
Even if it isn't your normal style is looks really nice on you. The color is very pretty and the fabric looks great for that pattern!
3/29/09 4:16 PM
tangodancingflygirl said...
This top is fabulous on you - and it's not too low! Take that camisole off!
3/29/09 5:13 PM
donna wicks said...
Even if you don't like the design of the top the color looks so good on you.
3/29/09 5:14 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a great top on you--no need to worry about feeling self conscious!
3/29/09 5:42 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your top looks great on you! Thanks for the photos showing how to construct the front. I had a dress for my Barbie doll out of the same color velour fabric with a similar treatment on the front as your top. Your top reminds me of my Barbie and her gorgeous gown.
3/29/09 8:28 PM
Re Becca said...
Very rich and elegant. I think that it looks great without the top while you are standing straight, but I understand how self conscious it can make you. I think that you will get lots of compliments on this shirt.
3/29/09 8:40 PM
Elke said...
Wow, this top looks beautiful in velvet...it looks fabulous on you! Great job!
3/29/09 9:32 PM
Catbird said...
Here's another vote for no camisole under this gorgeous top! I know it's hard step outside the comfort zone, but to an 'impartial' observer, this looks smashing on you. The videos & photos of the volcano on your blog are outstanding -- thank you!
3/29/09 9:51 PM
Sew tell me said...
This top looks great on you! The color is wonderful as is the style. If the V is too low for you, you might want to cut it higher but you have FANTASTIC collar bones which scream V-Neck.
3/30/09 3:05 AM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt and it looks great on you. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:19 AM
becca a said...
It is a very pretty shirt. It was so low on the model that I didn't even think of making it, but your adjustment seems to have raised the neckline to a better level. It looks better without the cami, but maybe a modesty panel would make you more comfortable. It probably is better for date night than for teaching, however.
3/30/09 9:20 AM
zora said...
Another vote here to get rid of the camisole! You look cute wearing the top, you just have to get used to a style you don't normally wear.
3/30/09 1:02 PM
nglalala said...
Nice! The color is beautiful!
3/30/09 3:01 PM
cindy-lou said...
This looks beautiful in velvet! Thanks for your super review. And I, like others, think it looks great on you. Really great. :)
4/5/09 9:38 PM
pinkli said...
Oh wow, that's a lovely top. Raised up a notch from the one in the mag too. Perhaps you could sew a loop of ribbon (with a dome at each end) in the centre front to pass through your underwear - this would stop it falling forward. Not sure if that is the problem, so ignore if it's unwelcome!
4/18/09 1:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
Oliver + S Cozy Winter Hood

photo
by: sugarduck

Review