Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5007 (Gore Skirt Group) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1978 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Rebecca D
photo
Friend of PR
About Rebecca Dstar
Member since: 1/18/03
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/03 6:53 AM
Last Updated:11/19/03 7:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
What a really nice skirt. Great review. Don't you just love it when it makes you smile to see yourself in the mirror? Looking forward to seeing this in the brown velvet you mentioned. Sounds wonderful.
11/19/03 7:09 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Rebecca, your skirt is fabulous! This is a great style for you. I also love the fabric. As far as the godets go, here's what I found easiest: Stitch one godet on at 3/8", serge finish that small seam section and press the seam allowances toward the godet. Then you will have a pretty straight section to stitch to the other skirt piece - stitch it at 3/8" and then serge the entire seam. Press the SAS toward the godet - you might need a clapper to flatten the seam at the point. Of course, if you are using a sheer fabric for the godet you will have to press the seam allowances toward the skirt so that they don't show. HTH PS: I love that Vogue jacket too!
11/19/03 7:21 AM
Ivy R said...
Hi Rebecca - love, love, love the way this skirt fits on you - and that fabric is just gorgeous! I'm definitely going to sew this up! Thanks.
11/19/03 8:05 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I think you, the skirt and the fabric look great together!
11/19/03 9:30 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I'm learning that a skirt is the most versatile workhorse in the wardrobe. Can be dressed up or down, and can be a focal point or a background for another outfit defining piece. Yours looks great in fit and fabric choice. Very flattering!
11/19/03 10:34 AM
Mollykat said...
what not to wear info in patterns is invaluable, thanks for including it!
11/19/03 12:51 PM
Katherine Dols said...
Thanks for the review! Isn't this a great skirt pattern? I've made a few of each view D and E. I had a problem with the godets, too. I found that the SA at the top of the godet can drift a bit during sewing and I end up with a bit of the raw edge on the right side of the seam. I do what Gigi does, but play around a bit with the placement at the very tip of the godet to make sure the raw edges stay on the wrong side of the seam. With the first skirt I had to redo each one; on the last skirt I had to fix only one--I think I'm getting the hang of it!
11/19/03 2:04 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I liked that sketch in Threads, too with the tweed. So glad to see this sewn up in your fabulous pattern, very helpful review, Rebecca! Thanks everyone for the godet expertise also. . .hmmm, I really do NOT need to by another pattern. . .but this looks great!
11/19/03 10:45 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Based on that picture, i agree - it is a What to Wear skirt.
11/30/03 4:14 PM
yarnivore said...
I just made this pattern up myself, in view E. I found it very helpful to sew both the godet seams, and to then sew the center seam above the godet insertion. This is recommended in the new (March 2004) issue of Threads (which is great overall!)
1/21/04 11:17 PM
retiredpagirl said...
Good looking skirt. It's so nice to see women wearing skirts again! Nice job!
1/25/04 11:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4225
photo
Review by Vineta77 on 2/10/10
Read Review

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4889
photo
Review by tanny76 on 1/6/10
Read Review

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us