Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-136 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 673 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/29/09 6:56 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
AHHHHH....I'm so loving it. I tried to fit it in my 2 yds...no way. I'm going to buy fabric and try it out myself this week. Super duper cute
3/29/09 6:58 PM
cecelia said...
This is such a cute dress made up, both yours and Angie's. Nice job.
3/29/09 7:27 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Nice work, michellep! The style looks great on you. I especially like the print you chose. Wearing prints can be tough for us larger gals, because they can draw the eye to specific parts of our bodies (ones we don't necessarily want to emphasize!). The one you chose has lots of movement in it - the eye is drawn all over, rather than toward one specific focal point. Much better to wear an all-over print like this, than a floral where you end up with a large flower on each breast, and another on your bum!
3/29/09 7:28 PM
lauralu03 said...
Perfect fabric & pattern combo- this looks so great on you!
3/29/09 7:54 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous dress to match your million-dollar smile! Your look beautiful!
3/29/09 8:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
Michelle, you're one groovy gal! This is such a cool and versatile dress!
3/29/09 8:31 PM
Christas said...
Wow! What a classy dress! This looks AMAZING on you!
3/29/09 8:34 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a cute dress! I really love the fabric, which works beautifully with this style. You did a great job!
3/29/09 8:36 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW, you're FAST! I JUST saw Angie's review yesterday or the day before. :o) BOTH of your versions are WONDERFUL! They look SO nice on you, and I REALLY like the print fabrics. VERY flattering!
3/29/09 8:40 PM
Annette1 said...
Sorry about that, I jumped the gun and posted twice!
3/29/09 8:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your dress is so cute. But I'm heartbroken. I never buy more than 2 yards of knit. I'm having trouble finding something in my stash to use for this one. But since you said it would be good for someone with hips, I'm going to be all over it.
3/29/09 9:23 PM
Amanda S. said...
Super cute dress on you! Great job.
3/29/09 10:02 PM
Ody said...
The Angie dress is wonderful on you!!! Great fabric and I know this will be a cool summer favorite. Maybe this should be the Plus sew along uniform.
3/29/09 11:04 PM
pittysmom101 said...
Wow, that's really pretty, I'd buy it in the store. Awesome fabric choice, and kudos on the fabric savings, too. 5 yds would yield ALOT of fabric scraps! Looks pretty on you.
3/29/09 11:12 PM
annie11 said...
Very flattering on you. Great job!
3/29/09 11:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
This dress is soo cute and is very flattering on you--you look great in this. Burda's pic makes it look like a very basic style, but your dress doesn't look basic at all--it looks very trendy on you. Great job marrying fabric with style!
3/30/09 0:21 AM
christea said...
wow-you really do look better than the model in this dress! When I saw it on the Burda web site, I didn't notice it at all, except I thought it looked like a nightshirt. Now I want to try my first Burda WOF pattern. Wish me luck!!! and, thanks for the inspiration.
3/30/09 0:31 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
What a cute and flattering spring and summer dress. Who would have known from the Burda picture?
3/30/09 1:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
This dress looks great on you, love the fabric and your sunny demeanor always makes your pictures so fun to look at.
3/30/09 6:59 AM
Jane S said...
Terrific dress on you...and how wonderful to get it finished so quickly. Bravo!
3/30/09 7:59 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Absolutely fabulous! You are a much better advertisement for this one than the model - she looks blah and you look wonderful! Gorgeous marriage of fabric and style - a true winner!
3/30/09 11:33 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I love this dress in a print - it looks so much better than the magazine photo! You look fantastic!
3/30/09 12:39 PM
angie.a said...
Gorgeous Michelle!! I LOVE it! No way mine is cuter than yours. :)
3/30/09 5:58 PM
sherri2sew said...
fabulous dress!
4/1/09 6:27 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! I loved Angie's version and now I love yours too! Any pattern that doesn't require alterations, cutting off length doesn't count in my book :), is like finding a pot of gold. Nice job.
5/30/09 2:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Bags
photo
Review by BeckyMc on 1/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1092
photo
Review by Re Becca on 9/19/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us