Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-122 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 456 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/09 0:59 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
I'll be honest, I'm not totally sure if I like it yet or not either (no, I haven't made it.) Yet I keep being drawn to the photo in the magazine. I think yours would be super cute with just a little white or pale yellow cami under it. Let the top shine. Your dark long-sleeved shirt is overpowering it. Add a funky beaded necklace, and I think it would look awesome (oh and a long many gored flowy skirt.) Oh, and the beads on the drawstrings are great. I will do that on the drawstring blouse burda blouse I made recently. Great idea.
3/31/09 7:52 AM
mhk3boys said...
I love the fabric!
3/31/09 8:30 AM
pterion said...
I like this top a lot and the fabric is just perfect. I agree with Idunna - I'm seeing this top at its best with just a cami underneath and maybe some chunky jewelry.
3/31/09 9:51 AM
Catbird said...
Personal style is such an interesting thing, isn't it? I like that you're experimenting and testing yourself and trying to move beyond whatever basics you tend to fall back on. With this one, I'm in the same camp with the others -- I think it calls out for white or at least a light color underneath and some funky jewelry to set it off. It's a sitting-under-a-beach-umbrella-in-the-sun (in-Alaska?) kind of top! Great job, as always, and nice details.
3/31/09 1:11 PM
Speech girl said...
Thanks for showing what this looks like as a layering piece. I think you did a great job making it--I think it would look nice over a tank top in the summer.
3/31/09 1:31 PM
SewPie said...
I can relate to why you chose this, it is a cleverly simple pattern. But the plunging neckline! Yours looks great and good luck for finding the right thing for underneath.
4/5/09 10:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Decades of Style 4002
photo
Review by Tea and Cr... on 9/20/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Deer&Doe Veste Pavot Veste Pavot
photo
Review by punkmik on 3/5/13
Read Review

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3247 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us