SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-122 

15 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/09 0:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
I'll be honest, I'm not totally sure if I like it yet or not either (no, I haven't made it.) Yet I keep being drawn to the photo in the magazine. I think yours would be super cute with just a little white or pale yellow cami under it. Let the top shine. Your dark long-sleeved shirt is overpowering it. Add a funky beaded necklace, and I think it would look awesome (oh and a long many gored flowy skirt.) Oh, and the beads on the drawstrings are great. I will do that on the drawstring blouse burda blouse I made recently. Great idea.
3/31/09 7:52 AM
mhk3boys said...
I love the fabric!
3/31/09 8:30 AM
pterion said...
I like this top a lot and the fabric is just perfect. I agree with Idunna - I'm seeing this top at its best with just a cami underneath and maybe some chunky jewelry.
3/31/09 9:51 AM
Catbird said...
Personal style is such an interesting thing, isn't it? I like that you're experimenting and testing yourself and trying to move beyond whatever basics you tend to fall back on. With this one, I'm in the same camp with the others -- I think it calls out for white or at least a light color underneath and some funky jewelry to set it off. It's a sitting-under-a-beach-umbrella-in-the-sun (in-Alaska?) kind of top! Great job, as always, and nice details.
3/31/09 1:11 PM
Speech girl said...
Thanks for showing what this looks like as a layering piece. I think you did a great job making it--I think it would look nice over a tank top in the summer.
3/31/09 1:31 PM
SewPie said...
I can relate to why you chose this, it is a cleverly simple pattern. But the plunging neckline! Yours looks great and good luck for finding the right thing for underneath.
4/5/09 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity 1893

photo
by: Sweetheart...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now