SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7395 (1976 Vintage Pattern)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1222 times 
Reviewed by:Meggie LuLu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Meggie LuLustarstarstarstar
OK United States
Member since: 1/26/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/09 5:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
58 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LorrieAnn said...
I bought this pattern when it first came out, and made myself many skirts from it (I loved the pockets!). It made me smile a mile wide to see it surface again. With your wonderful talent, I know your outfits will be fantastic! Please post finished pictures.
4/2/09 5:31 PM
LoisK said...
I also had this pattern back in '76 ;) and made many skirts from it. I used several drapery prints for skirts and they worked wonderfully. I was working in a fabric store and everytime a cute print came in I bought a piece - there might still be fabric in my stash from that time period. Enjoy using the pattern (patterns at that time generally had great instructions) and the wearing the finished outfits.
4/2/09 6:00 PM
Annette1 said...
This pattern is going to be just as cute made up in 2009 as it was in 1976, Meggie! I love the seaming detail on the skirt, and I ALSO love square-neck tees! (I'm going to make me that Ottobre one, if I ever get time.) Your fabrics are PERFECT! I can't WAIT to see the outfits. :o)
4/2/09 6:31 PM
Nana39 said...
this time my nice comment just flew into space who knows where, i know i am comuter illiterate but that no need to post my comment twice or let them fly away, cute top and skirt it will look great on you because you always do a good job.
4/2/09 6:46 PM
Nana39 said...
cute outfit, i don't remember ever making that skirt a long time ago but that doesn't mean i'm old or anything either. you always do such a good job and they always fit good too
4/2/09 6:47 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very cute pattern. I can't wait to see the outfit when it's done.
4/2/09 8:26 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I, too, can't wait to see the finished outfit (s). I have a few patterns from the late 70's or early 80's. but they won't fit me anymore....they didn't come with a lot of sizes in the envelope like they do now! That Annette is just wonderful!
4/3/09 4:14 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Looking at this pattern and saying vintage makes me feel old! As always you have great ideas, young lady.
4/3/09 8:02 PM
Annette1 said...
I've been WAITING and WAITING for the review! Geeeeeeeeeeeeeeez ... And now that it's HERE, it's even BETTER than I ever dreamed! This has GOT to be one of your CUTEST EVER tops WITH the matching headband. You look SOOOOOO pretty in that COLOR!! Your workmanship is PURE PERFECTION. You are going to get SOOOOOO much wear out of this top. :o))
4/20/09 11:29 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a great review; I can't wait to see the rest of the pattern made up. That top fits and suits you perfectly. Thanks for sharing with us. You are just a year or so younger than I was in 1976. I never made this pattern, but seeing the top on you sure makes me wish I had. Good Luck!
4/21/09 0:39 AM
Leora said...
I'm going to have to "borrow" your neckline and sleeve design. I would *love* to have a cute top like this :) Excellent top-stitching and great fit!!
4/21/09 2:26 AM
tanroc75 said...
Meggie, girl that is too cute! Fantastic job!
4/21/09 7:21 AM
mad4sewing said...
great cutting job on the cute top. It looks very vintage.
4/21/09 7:34 AM
Heatherrique said...
Out-a-sight, MeggieLuLu! You are sooooooo pretty in pink! Wonderful work on the top (that neckline is so cool) and the headband is icing on the cake!
4/21/09 8:05 AM
nancy2001 said...
Adorable top, beautifully made.
4/21/09 8:49 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely - just lovely! The pink is perfect and looks fabulous on you!
4/21/09 9:27 AM
Annette1 said...
Is that neck piece overlaid onto the neckline, Meggie, and then topstitched or what? Did you have to interface it? It just looks SO perfect! I'm framing this picture!
4/21/09 1:18 PM
moushka said...
You really rocked this top! Is it ever pretty on you! And, yes, I agree that pink looks beautiful on you. Your fabric choices are wonderful. Can't wait to see the skirt. The headband looks terrific, too. I'll bet your grandma is very pleased.
4/21/09 1:45 PM
nicegirl said...
The tee is so cute! The square neck is very flattering on you.
4/21/09 3:41 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, yes the neck piece is overlaid and then topstitched. I also used interfacing (Pro Tricot from Sew Exciting) to stabilize it while sewing. I didn't want it to stretch or anything. Thanks everyone for the very nice comments!! I was glad to hear that some of you have used this pattern before!!
4/21/09 4:30 PM
Catbird said...
This looks GREAT on you -- the fit, the fabric, the neckline and the headband. Can't wait to see the skirt!
4/21/09 8:05 PM
JoanneM said...
The fabric is delightful A winner, and you look adorable!
4/21/09 9:24 PM
vintageclothes said...
Did you have any trouble with fitting, Meggie, or did it fit right out of the pattern? My mom and I love this pattern since seeing your review! I am going to try to get the pattern (and eventually make it!) for her.
4/21/09 10:49 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
I made 1 adjustment to the shirt. On the shirt I took 3/8 side seams. The 2nd shirt I took 5/8 side seams and it seamed to fit better (I will take pictures as soon as I finish the skirt to go with it). Other than that it fit right out of the pattern!! I don't know about the skirt yet. I am cutting it out as we speak. Thanks everyone for the very nice comments!! I have so much fun reading each one!! You are all so nice to me!!
4/21/09 11:07 PM
maryfrana said...
Great looking top. And you look just wonderful.
4/25/09 1:28 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Love it!! All of it!! That skirt reminds me of one I MADE in about 1976, lol (that probably makes me about your nana's age, right? ...don't answer that ;b ). I'm a huge fan of square-necked tops, too, and your tops are terrific. I especially like the yellow one. Not sure how I missed this pattern 33 years ago -- so unfair! ;)
4/25/09 5:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, all I can say is if this is any indication, then we should ALL be wearing our VINTAGE CLOTHES -- ha! You look SO PRETTY in this outfit, Meggie. You shortened that skirt JUST the right amount, because it's hitting your legs at the MOST flattering length. :o) BOTH of your tops turned out PERFECTLY (of course)! You have a whole little mini wardrobe right here. Nana is going to love this. :o)
4/25/09 5:21 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great re-make of a vintage pattern. One would never know the pattern dates to 1976 with your choice of fabrics! Congrats on a great summer vintage mini wardrobe!
4/25/09 5:42 PM
Karendee said...
Meggie, You look amazing in all these vintage clothing patterns.They look so current with a classic twist. Your workmanship is perfect, and of course you look perfect in the garments. Fantastic.
4/25/09 5:52 PM
eibhlin said...
Looks wonderful on you!!
4/25/09 6:14 PM
Nana39 said...
Great job on the shirts and skirt! Too bad I don't remember ever sewing them, but they look so good on you.
4/25/09 6:43 PM
Catbird said...
That skirt has style and looks comfortable too! The taupe linen is just right for it. The top is perfect, the shoes are great. You know how to pull a look together!
4/25/09 7:42 PM
Amanda S. said...
Don't you look cute! I love the outfits.
4/25/09 7:50 PM
Erica B. said...
So cute! You look beautiful!
4/25/09 8:05 PM
Pamaro said...
Beautiful outfit, Meggie. As always, you have such a professional finish to your clothing. I'm visiting my mother in June and you've inspired me to go through all of the old patterns she used to sew for me in grade school and junior high. Maybe this one is in there.
4/25/09 9:32 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is so well thought out and so well sewn. the combo of fabric and pattern are perfect and it looks like today vintage RTW. Amazing job.
4/25/09 11:48 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Very cute! Luv the square tops!
4/26/09 0:04 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful tops - you look so charming in them - bet you'll get a lot of wear from these and a lot of compliments!!
4/26/09 9:52 AM
sewme47 said...
MeggieLuLu, you have a very good eye for matching fabric and pattern...I would have passed by the "string of pearls" knit because I wouldn't have known what to do with it. Good job! I made and wore many wrap skirts in the 70's (I was a teen back then), and now my daughters like to wear wrap skirts. Fashions really do come back, don't they?!!! I will watch for this patten on ebay.
4/26/09 10:31 AM
Lori V said...
Cute, cute outfit, Meggie. You look darling.
4/26/09 11:01 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
**** stars!! Yippy!!
4/26/09 11:27 AM
persevering said...
How pretty! I made a wrap skirt at your age, about 8 years before this pattern came out! And this is so much better, with the pockets and you making adjustments so that it fits you so well! Your prolific output and your enthusiasm is so encouraging! Thank you.
4/26/09 12:07 PM
Byrdie said...
This is super cute! Lately, I've been interested in sewing vintage patterns... you are adding to my inspiration!
4/26/09 12:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great vintage wardrobe!!! I really like the prints you picked for those tops...very sharp! The earrings look great with it too!
4/26/09 10:33 PM
Nancywin said...
Very cool vintage wardrobe. Good job Meggie Lulu. I really like the style of that skirt and it looks great on you too.
4/26/09 11:55 PM
sew4dasoul said...
Love it! You look absolutely great in your outfit!
4/27/09 11:46 AM
Mufffet said...
This skirt is great. I had a pattern from Very Easy Vogue back in the 1970s for a skirt almost exactly the same and made a few skirts from it and really loved them. :) You have done a terrific job here, and your tops are cute as can be as well! :)
4/29/09 3:11 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Looks like your outfit came out great. I like your color combinations.
4/30/09 0:16 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your sets look so cute on you! And the colors are wonderful and go together soo perfectly!
4/30/09 9:15 PM
fourkid said...
I love your interpretation of this outfit - I think I made this skirt when I was in college - it seems very familar!
5/1/09 8:27 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great job! Super cute.
5/1/09 1:21 PM
Tacks said...
Great outfit and fit! Brings back memories - I made several of these skirts way back when. They were so comfortable to wear.
5/2/09 11:11 PM
brocadegoddess said...
OMG, how cute are you? The skirt and top ensemble are just delightful! You are so skillful for being so young, I applaud you.
5/5/09 2:22 AM
cindyintampa said...
That was my favorite pattern when I was younger! Love the pattern, but hate that it, and I, am now vintage. I still have the pattern, but you look much better in it than I would at this point in my life.
5/5/09 11:51 AM
QuickFade said...
MeggieLulu, How fun to see a 16-year-old wearing the styles that were fashionable the year I was sixteen-years-old---and, you look stylish how as well! Great job!
5/13/09 11:36 PM
tigerlily8510 said...
I adore this top pattern!! It is so hard to find a flattering, modest square neck top these days!
6/6/09 1:34 AM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
Love the pattern and the garments. Wrap skirts are so cute. Great job!
6/18/09 2:15 PM
pammieh said...
Beautiful!!
8/26/09 2:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3438

photo
by: Opals Pass...

Review
New Look 6448

photo
by: zoeope

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now