SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 60565 (By Popular Demand)

24 more reviews
Viewed 596 times 
Reviewed by:Judy Wentz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Judy Wentzstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/24/05
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/09 8:16 PM
Last Updated:4/2/09 8:20 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
I usually do use a double needle, but it appears that I did not on this. It has been a while since I sewed this... a little slow with my reviews. Thanks to all for your kind words. jw
4/6/09 6:18 AM
LoriU said...
The topstitching is meticulous! Did you use a double needle? Love your top!
4/5/09 10:50 PM
cecelia said...
I'm glad you like this pattern as well as I do--very pretty--love the color and the buttons.
4/4/09 1:56 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really lovely shirt! Love the color & the buttons!!
4/3/09 3:53 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I see that I cannot delete a comment...so I have 3 of the same thing. Sorry about that. jw
4/3/09 3:46 PM
Judy Wentz said...
When I do an FBA, I cut just up to the seam allowance of the armscye. It worked on this (a raglan) and it has worked on set in sleeves. If you cut into the seam allowance but not through it, you can still spread the pattern and give more room, but not change the shape of the armscye. It has worked great for me. jw
4/3/09 2:50 PM
Judy Wentz said...
When I used the high bust measurement and an FBA, that problem did not exist. It would be possible to take in a little larger SA as well. I did not have to do that, but it could be done. jw
4/3/09 2:49 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I did not have to alter the raglan sleeve. I cut the pattern just up to the seam line of the body of the shirt. Just enought to manipulate it. Then I spread the pattern. That way the seam line is not altered and the sleeve just goes on as normal. jw
4/3/09 2:49 PM
j222b said...
I love your shirt. Some of the previous reviews complained of too large armholes where bra showed etc. Did you notice any of the ill-fitting features that others did? I really like your elegant shirt-I think it seems like what they used to call a baseball shirt....?
4/3/09 2:40 PM
Renren said...
I've had this pattern awhile and your review prompted me to take it out and read through the directions with the idea of sewing it soon. Lots of extra tips are provided along with numerous illustrations. And at the very end I read that this designer names her patterns based on suggestions that readers send to her. This one--By Popular Demand--was named by one Karla Kizer. Since the pattern company's address is in Winter Park, FL and since PR's Karla Kizer is from FL, I am thinking maybe our very own Karla Kizer named this pattern! Is that so, Karla? If so, a round of applause to you. And Judy, your top looks very nice! When you did the FBA, did you have to change the raglan sleeves at all? Thanks!
4/3/09 2:39 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. This is a pattern I've had a long time and haven't gotten around to making. I think I'll give it a shot.
4/3/09 2:18 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I have just recently discovered this line of patterns and dvds. I had a small mistake in my order and she got right back to me-very nice lady to deal with as well. The patterns look like clothes I could live in every day very comfortable and yet nice looking. I really like the look of your top and hope to get it made before the weather warms up.
4/3/09 10:18 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful construction - would love to see it on. Thanks for the review.
4/3/09 9:12 AM
marjenann said...
What a great wardrobe piece!! I love it and your workmanship is wonderful!!! Annette
4/3/09 7:22 AM
Christas said...
Very nice! Love the color & style of this top!
4/2/09 9:51 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Just beautifully executed~ LC would be proud of you! Bravisimo!
4/2/09 9:35 PM
redsquid said...
I saw this at a trunk show, and I immediately recognized the pattern - you're right it's a classic! ~Linda
4/2/09 8:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

More Info
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2013-15

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review