Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 60565 (By Popular Demand) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 578 times 24 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Judy Wentz
photo
Friend of PR
About Judy Wentzstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/24/05
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/09 8:16 PM
Last Updated:4/2/09 8:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redsquid said...
I saw this at a trunk show, and I immediately recognized the pattern - you're right it's a classic! ~Linda
4/2/09 8:21 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Just beautifully executed~ LC would be proud of you! Bravisimo!
4/2/09 9:35 PM
Christas said...
Very nice! Love the color & style of this top!
4/2/09 9:51 PM
marjenann said...
What a great wardrobe piece!! I love it and your workmanship is wonderful!!! Annette
4/3/09 7:22 AM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful construction - would love to see it on. Thanks for the review.
4/3/09 9:12 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have just recently discovered this line of patterns and dvds. I had a small mistake in my order and she got right back to me-very nice lady to deal with as well. The patterns look like clothes I could live in every day very comfortable and yet nice looking. I really like the look of your top and hope to get it made before the weather warms up.
4/3/09 10:18 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. This is a pattern I've had a long time and haven't gotten around to making. I think I'll give it a shot.
4/3/09 2:18 PM
Renren said...
I've had this pattern awhile and your review prompted me to take it out and read through the directions with the idea of sewing it soon. Lots of extra tips are provided along with numerous illustrations. And at the very end I read that this designer names her patterns based on suggestions that readers send to her. This one--By Popular Demand--was named by one Karla Kizer. Since the pattern company's address is in Winter Park, FL and since PR's Karla Kizer is from FL, I am thinking maybe our very own Karla Kizer named this pattern! Is that so, Karla? If so, a round of applause to you. And Judy, your top looks very nice! When you did the FBA, did you have to change the raglan sleeves at all? Thanks!
4/3/09 2:39 PM
j222b said...
I love your shirt. Some of the previous reviews complained of too large armholes where bra showed etc. Did you notice any of the ill-fitting features that others did? I really like your elegant shirt-I think it seems like what they used to call a baseball shirt....?
4/3/09 2:40 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I did not have to alter the raglan sleeve. I cut the pattern just up to the seam line of the body of the shirt. Just enought to manipulate it. Then I spread the pattern. That way the seam line is not altered and the sleeve just goes on as normal. jw
4/3/09 2:49 PM
Judy Wentz said...
When I used the high bust measurement and an FBA, that problem did not exist. It would be possible to take in a little larger SA as well. I did not have to do that, but it could be done. jw
4/3/09 2:49 PM
Judy Wentz said...
When I do an FBA, I cut just up to the seam allowance of the armscye. It worked on this (a raglan) and it has worked on set in sleeves. If you cut into the seam allowance but not through it, you can still spread the pattern and give more room, but not change the shape of the armscye. It has worked great for me. jw
4/3/09 2:50 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I see that I cannot delete a comment...so I have 3 of the same thing. Sorry about that. jw
4/3/09 3:46 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really lovely shirt! Love the color & the buttons!!
4/3/09 3:53 PM
cecelia said...
I'm glad you like this pattern as well as I do--very pretty--love the color and the buttons.
4/4/09 1:56 PM
LoriU said...
The topstitching is meticulous! Did you use a double needle? Love your top!
4/5/09 10:50 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I usually do use a double needle, but it appears that I did not on this. It has been a while since I sewed this... a little slow with my reviews. Thanks to all for your kind words. jw
4/6/09 6:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Other Accessory Wardrobe 2010
photo
Review by christinas... on 9/30/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5677
photo
Review by nicegirl on 12/20/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3924 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8786 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us