Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-106B (Knit Top with Flounce Sleeves) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 953 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/3/09 11:27 AM
Last Updated:12/10/09 10:47 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michelle L said...
Wow, I love this shirt! Everyone makes such gorgeous things from BWOF, I may have to cave and get a subscription. Both versions are super-cute, and I can't wait to see your next ones!
4/3/09 11:35 AM
Nancy K said...
They look great, and thanks for reminding me about Belinda's modification.
4/3/09 12:20 PM
Lisa Merry said...
Both versions look very nice!! I especially like the red color on you!
4/3/09 1:00 PM
michellep74 said...
Both versions are very cute! It's nice to see this made up in both a print and a solid. As always, thank you for your very informative and detailed review!
4/3/09 1:08 PM
Christas said...
SO cute! You find such awesome fabric at such wonderful prices! These tops look terrific. I especially love the matching look for you and Heather!
4/3/09 1:57 PM
wineyjudy said...
This top looks great! I love both versions and with the fabric being so different, it doesn't even look like the same pattern!
4/3/09 2:12 PM
Re Becca said...
That really does look pretty on you. You did a great job on the neckline and it looks like you got those sleeves just right.
4/3/09 2:24 PM
nicegirl said...
Very cute! It's a nice solid basic with a little bit of interest. I like your fabric choices.
4/3/09 4:08 PM
shesflipped said...
Love both versions of your top! It almost makes me want to try BWOF. ALMOST. Thanks for the video, too! How I loved to see Journey again! Only thing~I think I have Steven Perry's shirt pattern and fabric in my stash~Butterick, I think! ;)
4/3/09 5:59 PM
nellc said...
Really nice tops!
4/3/09 6:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
So cute! Love the pic with Heather.
4/3/09 8:00 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice tops and thanks for the 80's flashbacks. :) I always enjoy reading your reviews and found myself humming along to some 80's classics. :)
4/3/09 8:21 PM
Annette1 said...
SO cute! You're joined the ranks of all the others who have reviewed this top. I LOVE the fit and the FLOUNCES. :o)
4/3/09 10:32 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent job, review, and tops! Great pics--you and Heather were born to make red look rich.
4/3/09 11:09 PM
valerie sews said...
I can't beleive I haven't seen any reviews for this top before. It's so pretty. I like both but the red is especially cute on you.
4/4/09 2:39 AM
Karen8320 said...
It's not a mystery ... and still we try to see ... why something good can look so great ... Louella, these are really, really lovely tops. The neckline is really elegant and those sleeves are feminine without being over the top. I love what you've done and I can't wait to see your intended variations. Great stuff!
4/4/09 7:01 AM
ryan's mom said...
Ah...your review was the first review I checked out on this pleasant Saturday morning and I'm so glad I did! This really looks fabulous on you and, as always, love your reviews :) !!!
4/4/09 7:19 AM
Sweetiebop said...
The tops look great. Can't wait to see what you are up to next.
4/4/09 1:40 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute top. I wore mine to work yesterday. I love the way yours turned out and the Pics with you and Heather are charming. Both your variations are a lot of fun. I was thinking I might have to make the dress version in bright red and now I really think so after seeing your top!
4/4/09 4:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I really like this top more and more every time I see someone make it.
4/4/09 11:17 PM
angie.a said...
Bwahaha!! I love you, Louella!!! Your reviews are always my faves. I want to make this and with yours and Belinda's sleeve adjustment maybe I actually will tackle it!
4/5/09 10:24 AM
Em's Summer said...
This style was made for you! You look soo pretty in both tops!
4/5/09 4:55 PM
Kellie R. said...
These are great! I love the sleeves; I'm a self confessed sleeve-junkie. What a great style on you!
4/6/09 11:41 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
This looks fantastic on you!! Thanks for sharing about your tips for this top. I am so wanting to make this up.
4/10/09 8:50 PM
Elke said...
I love the fabric you used on this blouse...looks beautiful on you!
12/10/09 11:17 PM
Barbara V said...
Really cute top and very flattering for you in fit and color...in fact all of your versions are great - the red one is a wonderful color on you by the way. All very nice!
12/10/09 11:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
Another great version!!! It's such a cute top!
12/11/09 0:12 AM
marec said...
I love all of these-and what a great pic of you and your daughter.
12/11/09 0:28 AM
katharin said...
Great cute tops and another of your helpful reviews. I love your fabric choices.
12/11/09 7:04 AM
pterion said...
Super cute top. This pattern is clearly a winner for you. All the versions look great!
12/11/09 8:54 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very nice, love the stripe down the arm.
12/11/09 10:29 AM
busymomof3 said...
They all look very good on you!! A great pattern!
12/11/09 3:09 PM
HeyJane said...
All your tops are great! That's a really good pattern, too.
12/11/09 6:28 PM
ryan's mom said...
Gosh, you have some fabulous looking tops! They look so nice with your jeans too.
12/12/09 7:00 AM
Heidi Ho said...
I love your latest versions of this top!!!
12/13/09 10:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4386
photo
Review by HelenM01 on 6/19/13
Read Review

Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5710 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7102 Pattern
Burda 7102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6440 Misses' Pants
photo
Review by JustineSew... on 1/29/13
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us