SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6838 

17 more reviews
Viewed 2355 times 
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo

 
 
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/02 9:10 AM
Last Updated:6/24/03 6:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for the tip on how to avoid stretched knit hems! I don't have a serger and can't change the foot pressure on my machine. This will really help!
4/11/02 2:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Glad this to worked out well. Nice looking pattern - and these NL patterns are very reasonably priced, too. I tried another technique recently when I hemmed a stretchy knit: I fused the hem in place with 1/4" Steam-a-Seam, then topstitched. Fusing the two layers together helped reduce the stretchiness while I stitched, but didn't affect the fit, appearance or "give" in the finished hem. It worked well enough that I plan to use this method any time I have to hem something stretchy.
4/11/02 8:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rhonda, I've had this pattern lurking in my stash for DD. Guess it's time to pull it out and actually SEW it! Thanks for a great review.
4/12/02 0:42 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I reread another NL pattern review last night and saw a comment that NL can run slightly large across the upper back, so no surprise that this one needed to be taken in a bit. Karla, Since I my fabric was so highly textured I wasn't sure if I could use the Steam-A-Seam and it would 1. hold and 2. not change the appearance of the fabric. I was too lazy to test! ;-)
4/12/02 6:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Star said...
Looks terrific with that fabric!
6/24/03 7:29 PM
Georgene said...
Rhonda, if you are going up to the Moulin Rouge, you won't be far from the Marché St. Pierre where the big independant fabric stores are. Dreyfus is the best known, but Reine is across the street, and up and down the side streets are a few more. Worth a trip if you are interested in visiting Montmartre, or Sacre Coeur, or the Salvador Dali Museum.
6/24/03 7:49 PM
Lou. said...
I love this fabric and the top! Where did you find the fabric?
6/25/03 9:36 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Thanks Georgene! You know I have to hit at least one fabric store. ;-) And Lou, this fabric was available from Emma One Sock. She no longer has this in a 'buttermilk' knit, but does have it in a lacy stretch type of fabric.
6/25/03 3:08 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Don't you just love a fabric like this? You can just sew up such a simple top and it looks great!
6/26/03 0:00 AM
Barb in Northwoods said...
Glad I found your review! I love your top, especially the print fabric. Thanks for the tip on preventing stretched hems. VERY helpful. I will definatly have to get this pattern out of my stash, it has the makings of a classic! ! !
7/12/12 11:23 AM
Barb in Northwoods said...
Thank you for the great review! I love your fabric, and I apreciate the tips on hemming stretch knits. I've had this pattern in my stash for awhile now so I will definetly have to get it out and use it!
2/27/13 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Jalie 2796

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

Deer&Doe Blouse Airelle

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now