SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2669 (Camisole)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1789 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/03 9:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
"what made you decide to do two passes of zigzag stitching on the hem instead of a twin needle and a straight stitch?" Laziness Katharine ;-) Yeah I usually do twin needle hem but for this camisole I figured it doesnt really matter since it will be worn inside so I just topstitched. Penelope what problem are you having with binding? I love binding and now that I am comfortable with the technique, I never turn under and topstitch. Binding gives a much more RTW look IMHO.
12/2/03 2:27 PM
JDpenelope said...
Fabulous! Thanks for the foldover elastic binding tip. Hmmm. I'm having a problem with binding right now... I love trying new things, too. (Well, ok, pretty much everything's new to me at this point!) Your sewing is very accurate and crisp.
11/23/03 6:59 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Cute top! Curious--what made you decide to do two passes of zigzag stitching on the hem instead of a twin needle and a straight stitch? I thought twin needles also built in stretch with the zigzagged underside in one pass of sewing.
11/23/03 5:53 PM
Deepika said...
He he.. source for foldover elastic? Well Karla!!! But Daytona Trimming in NYC had tons of this good stuff. Of course when I was there I didnt buy that much but now that I know I will next time I go there. I am sure other online sites like sewsassy.com will have it. I think sewsassy even dyes it to match your fabric if you send them a swatch. I contacted them long time ago about this.
11/22/03 8:45 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks great. What is your source for foldover elastic? Especially one that matches so well
11/22/03 7:10 PM
cindyann said...
Great job. I love the foldover elastic treatment. Thanks for tip on it's application.
11/22/03 11:40 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That looks great! Very RTW! I think I need to make some of these.
11/22/03 7:17 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Deepika, thanks so much for the informative review! KS 3115 has a similar top. When I make that top for Addie, now I have the perfect easy way to bind it! Yours looks totally RTW.
11/21/03 11:52 PM
CatherineN said...
You did a professional looking job. Sometimes a simple thing can turn out to be so useful in a wardrobe. Wear in health.
11/21/03 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3940

photo
by: Michelle A...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: anikissed

Review