SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2669 (Camisole)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1790 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
Friend of PR

About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews: 414 (patterns: 307)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 337 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/03 9:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Deepika said... (12/2/03 2:27 PM) Reply
"what made you decide to do two passes of zigzag stitching on the hem instead of a twin needle and a straight stitch?" Laziness Katharine ;-) Yeah I usually do twin needle hem but for this camisole I figured it doesnt really matter since it will be worn inside so I just topstitched. Penelope what problem are you having with binding? I love binding and now that I am comfortable with the technique, I never turn under and topstitch. Binding gives a much more RTW look IMHO.
JDpenelope said... (11/23/03 6:59 PM) Reply
Fabulous! Thanks for the foldover elastic binding tip. Hmmm. I'm having a problem with binding right now... I love trying new things, too. (Well, ok, pretty much everything's new to me at this point!) Your sewing is very accurate and crisp.
Katharine in BXL said... (11/23/03 5:53 PM) Reply
Cute top! Curious--what made you decide to do two passes of zigzag stitching on the hem instead of a twin needle and a straight stitch? I thought twin needles also built in stretch with the zigzagged underside in one pass of sewing.
Deepika said... (11/22/03 8:45 PM) Reply
He he.. source for foldover elastic? Well Karla!!! But Daytona Trimming in NYC had tons of this good stuff. Of course when I was there I didnt buy that much but now that I know I will next time I go there. I am sure other online sites like will have it. I think sewsassy even dyes it to match your fabric if you send them a swatch. I contacted them long time ago about this.
Danvillegirl said... (11/22/03 7:10 PM) Reply
Looks great. What is your source for foldover elastic? Especially one that matches so well
cindyann said... (11/22/03 11:40 AM) Reply
Great job. I love the foldover elastic treatment. Thanks for tip on it's application.
Debbie Spriggs said... (11/22/03 7:17 AM) Reply
That looks great! Very RTW! I think I need to make some of these.
SouthernStitch said... (11/21/03 11:52 PM) Reply
Deepika, thanks so much for the informative review! KS 3115 has a similar top. When I make that top for Addie, now I have the perfect easy way to bind it! Yours looks totally RTW.
CatherineN said... (11/21/03 11:34 PM) Reply
You did a professional looking job. Sometimes a simple thing can turn out to be so useful in a wardrobe. Wear in health.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Burda 7967

by: Helen near...

Margo Handbag Paper Pattern

Margo Handbag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Pattern Details