Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: #81-2007 (Pretty Poppet) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 88 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/09 8:07 PM
Last Updated:4/4/09 8:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Absolutely gorgeous. One of those dresses that will be kept for the next generation. The print is beautiful and so is the smocking. You did a great job creating this dress.
4/4/09 8:34 PM
katlew03 said...
I forgot to ask -- what is AS&E. I would love to find directions on converting from zipper to placket as I usually wing it when making DGD dresses or get lazy and do a button and loop.
4/4/09 8:37 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Great job! Lovely dress for your DGD. I am sure she will love it. thanks for sharing.
4/4/09 9:04 PM
solosmocker said...
AS&E is short for Australian Smocking and Embroidery magazine. You can usually find it at Barnes and Noble and Borders. I get mine from my machine dealer. It is pricey but it contains all of the patterns shown. They are know for their clear illustrations and directions. As far as directions for the button/ placket closure, I followed what was directed in the magazine for the original dress. Directions did not refer to any change over so that I figured out myself. I basically graded things up from the size three in the magazine to the size 5 bodice I had to work with.
4/4/09 9:05 PM
Christas said...
What a BEAUTIFUL heirloom! Your DD should be more than delighted with this work of art! It's perfect!
4/4/09 9:24 PM
crystalwoods said...
Absolutely adorable! The piping looks like it is done to perfection - a great accent and I love the fabric. Thanks for the review.
4/4/09 9:49 PM
callmeRuth said...
Exquisite!
4/4/09 10:55 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
The dress is exquisite. Your smocking is perfection. The piping and scalloped features are charming and very well done. Another stunning masterpiece!
4/4/09 11:25 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
What a beautiful dress! The smocking is fabulous!
4/5/09 8:02 AM
okie2thdoc said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!
4/5/09 11:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7442 Dress
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 2/1/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1204
photo
Review by goosegreen on 8/15/12
Read Review

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6935 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5938 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us