SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> #81-2007 (Pretty Poppet)

Viewed 88 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/4/09 8:07 PM
Last Updated:4/4/09 8:32 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Absolutely gorgeous. One of those dresses that will be kept for the next generation. The print is beautiful and so is the smocking. You did a great job creating this dress.
4/4/09 8:34 PM
katlew03 said...
I forgot to ask -- what is AS&E. I would love to find directions on converting from zipper to placket as I usually wing it when making DGD dresses or get lazy and do a button and loop.
4/4/09 8:37 PM
sewhappygrams said...
Great job! Lovely dress for your DGD. I am sure she will love it. thanks for sharing.
4/4/09 9:04 PM
solosmocker said...
AS&E is short for Australian Smocking and Embroidery magazine. You can usually find it at Barnes and Noble and Borders. I get mine from my machine dealer. It is pricey but it contains all of the patterns shown. They are know for their clear illustrations and directions. As far as directions for the button/ placket closure, I followed what was directed in the magazine for the original dress. Directions did not refer to any change over so that I figured out myself. I basically graded things up from the size three in the magazine to the size 5 bodice I had to work with.
4/4/09 9:05 PM
Christas said...
What a BEAUTIFUL heirloom! Your DD should be more than delighted with this work of art! It's perfect!
4/4/09 9:24 PM
crystalwoods said...
Absolutely adorable! The piping looks like it is done to perfection - a great accent and I love the fabric. Thanks for the review.
4/4/09 9:49 PM
callmeRuth said...
Exquisite!
4/4/09 10:55 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
The dress is exquisite. Your smocking is perfection. The piping and scalloped features are charming and very well done. Another stunning masterpiece!
4/4/09 11:25 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
What a beautiful dress! The smocking is fabulous!
4/5/09 8:02 AM
okie2thdoc said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!
4/5/09 11:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Other Gertie's pencil skirt

photo
by: KAHooke

Review