SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6849 (Misses Dress, Tunic and Tops)

6 more reviews
Viewed 580 times 
Reviewed by:JennyAnne
photo

 
 
About JennyAnnestar
FL USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/09 1:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jali said...
Great tunic! The neck treatment makes it extra special. Thank you for providing the instructions as well.
8/3/09 11:18 PM
JennyAnne said...
BillieJean, to make the gathered sections, I cut additional pieces the same width but 1.5x as long as the pattern pieces. For example, if the cuffs were 3" x 10", I cut new ones 3" x 15." Then, I hand gathered the long edges to fit the original pieces. The original pieces became facings to keep the gathered sections stable. Creating the longer pieces for gathering is trickier around curves like the neck, so playing around with a muslin might be good if you're nervous about getting the measurements right. :-)
5/9/09 3:42 PM
busymomof3 said...
Love it!! I really like your version and the color is great on you!!
4/8/09 9:03 PM
nicegirl said...
Love your variation on the facing and the cuffs! Nice twist on this classic look.
4/7/09 5:40 PM
BillieJean said...
I love your tunic, especially the neck treatment. I saw this neck treatment recently on a $200 jacket, and I want to copy it, but can't figure out just how it's done. Could you add a comment on how you did yours, please.
4/6/09 7:04 AM
feldmanTcat said...
This looks so cute - I never would have tried a top with ruffles, but I find ruffles interesting now and I this is a nice neckline and sleeve detail.
4/5/09 7:34 PM
eugenia123 said...
This is gorgeous, you have done a great job, I love it.
4/5/09 5:37 PM
Christas said...
Your new tunic looks so nice! The color and style are so perfect!
4/5/09 2:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2011-15

photo
by: jorth

Review
McCall's 6408

photo
by: VintageTem...

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now