Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6849 (Misses Dress, Tunic and Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 572 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:JennyAnne
photo
About JennyAnnestar
FL USA
Member since: 1/5/08
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/09 1:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Your new tunic looks so nice! The color and style are so perfect!
4/5/09 2:03 PM
eugenia123 said...
This is gorgeous, you have done a great job, I love it.
4/5/09 5:37 PM
feldmanTcat said...
This looks so cute - I never would have tried a top with ruffles, but I find ruffles interesting now and I this is a nice neckline and sleeve detail.
4/5/09 7:34 PM
BillieJean said...
I love your tunic, especially the neck treatment. I saw this neck treatment recently on a $200 jacket, and I want to copy it, but can't figure out just how it's done. Could you add a comment on how you did yours, please.
4/6/09 7:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Love your variation on the facing and the cuffs! Nice twist on this classic look.
4/7/09 5:40 PM
busymomof3 said...
Love it!! I really like your version and the color is great on you!!
4/8/09 9:03 PM
JennyAnne said...
BillieJean, to make the gathered sections, I cut additional pieces the same width but 1.5x as long as the pattern pieces. For example, if the cuffs were 3" x 10", I cut new ones 3" x 15." Then, I hand gathered the long edges to fit the original pieces. The original pieces became facings to keep the gathered sections stable. Creating the longer pieces for gathering is trickier around curves like the neck, so playing around with a muslin might be good if you're nervous about getting the measurements right. :-)
5/9/09 3:42 PM
Jali said...
Great tunic! The neck treatment makes it extra special. Thank you for providing the instructions as well.
8/3/09 11:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 9779
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 5/13/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2565 Women's tops
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/27/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1391 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us