SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-119 (Knit Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/09 10:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
You always make such lovely and stylish clothes. This looks great on you. I love the tip about lining the bodice. Thanks for the note about the sleeve construction. Great job on a great looking dress.
4/6/09 10:49 AM
Elke said...
This is very pretty on you! Love the fabric you used.
4/6/09 10:55 AM
Sew Shy said...
Ooh, it's a knit - I had asked on your blog if it was from Ghana - It looks like a woven batik. Every bit as good-looking though!
4/6/09 11:05 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is really cute! I love the fabric and I think it looks really flattering in your picture! Your projects always are fabulous!
4/6/09 11:13 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love that knit. The dress is really cute on you even if you don't think so. Have you tried it with a belt? It might make your waist really pop and take emphasis from the bottom half. I think the bottom half looks fine, btw.
4/6/09 11:14 AM
Jali said...
That's a very stylish dress! I think it looks great as is from the picture.
4/6/09 11:31 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Great dress -- what a gorgeous fabric. :)
4/6/09 11:43 AM
Karen6790 said...
I'm sure the yoke detail is nice, but I like the fabric better. It really suits the shape of the dress - which, by the way, I think looks fine on you. I don't think you need to grade it up any further.
4/6/09 11:49 AM
Twinset said...
Great dress and great print! This design works really well for you!
4/6/09 12:55 PM
michellep74 said...
The yoke detail might be hard to see, but I really love this fabric, and I think it's a great match for the shape of the dress. And I think the shape looks great on you--it really shows off your tiny waist!
4/6/09 1:05 PM
Beachcomber said...
Congratulations! This dress looks terrific on you. And the price can't be beat. Great job!
4/6/09 1:20 PM
sewrelax said...
You did it again....another wonderful creation for your wardrobe. I love the fabric and the fit.
4/6/09 2:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Ok then, I want your genetics! And your dress. Please?
4/6/09 3:07 PM
Gold said...
Cute dress! Looks great on you!
4/6/09 3:16 PM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress, love that fabric - you look fantastic in it.
4/6/09 3:22 PM
Dei said...
Very cute and very flattering.
4/6/09 3:33 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice on you..... love your fabric choice!
4/6/09 4:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hey yours is all slinky and sexy!! way better than mine. super cute!!
4/6/09 4:28 PM
Beek said...
You look great in this knit dress, Cidell. The style is simple but it always looks good.
4/6/09 4:50 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Cidell, that looks very nice. You are right that the yoke is lost but I really like the print. You did a nice job of fitting the sleeves. I have noticed that some of the McCalls patterns also have a hard time just writing "understitch". We are all getting smarter every time we sew! Cindy
4/6/09 8:57 PM
Catbird said...
This is a great style for you and I agree with everyone about the fabric and the fit. You look so pretty in this dress! Funny about BWOF and the understitch word. They drive me crazy. PR members must unite and demand our right to clear sewing terms!
4/6/09 9:45 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
This dress is fantastic. I think the fit is perfect. I, too, love the fabric.
4/6/09 11:03 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I love your dress. It looks great on you and that fabric is gorgeous!
4/6/09 11:14 PM
crisford said...
Another wonderful creation! Great idea about underlining the yoke. I wouldn't think you should have to line the rest of it but I know these knits have gotten very thin. Maybe wear a slip, with non-static spray?
4/7/09 10:52 AM
KrystalL said...
I like the fabric for this dress! Very cute!
4/7/09 11:04 AM
Mahler said...
Forget about the UUUU mon cheval look ! You look great. If you give it to your mother, will we have the chance to see a picture of her wearing it ?
4/7/09 4:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Like it! simply stylish.
4/8/09 11:05 AM
homejewel said...
Seriously, this is YOUR dress! Perfect!
4/13/09 7:05 PM
QuickFade said...
Great looking dress, Cidell! You probably could still add a lining of sorts if that would give you more use of the dress, or cut it off and use it as a top and then make the dress version again with a lining. This dress would look great with a large pendant necklace. It really gives a great background for a piece of statement jewelry. I don't think it's a bad thing that the seams don't pop out with this print as the print and general shape tell the story.
4/15/09 3:45 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a great dress on you.
4/15/09 3:54 PM
willozza said...
This looks great on you. The colour of the fabric suits you.
7/6/09 3:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now