Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-119 (Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 562 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 148
Favored by: 220 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/6/09 10:39 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
You always make such lovely and stylish clothes. This looks great on you. I love the tip about lining the bodice. Thanks for the note about the sleeve construction. Great job on a great looking dress.
4/6/09 10:49 AM
Elke said...
This is very pretty on you! Love the fabric you used.
4/6/09 10:55 AM
Sew Shy said...
Ooh, it's a knit - I had asked on your blog if it was from Ghana - It looks like a woven batik. Every bit as good-looking though!
4/6/09 11:05 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is really cute! I love the fabric and I think it looks really flattering in your picture! Your projects always are fabulous!
4/6/09 11:13 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love that knit. The dress is really cute on you even if you don't think so. Have you tried it with a belt? It might make your waist really pop and take emphasis from the bottom half. I think the bottom half looks fine, btw.
4/6/09 11:14 AM
Jali said...
That's a very stylish dress! I think it looks great as is from the picture.
4/6/09 11:31 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Great dress -- what a gorgeous fabric. :)
4/6/09 11:43 AM
Karen6790 said...
I'm sure the yoke detail is nice, but I like the fabric better. It really suits the shape of the dress - which, by the way, I think looks fine on you. I don't think you need to grade it up any further.
4/6/09 11:49 AM
Twinset said...
Great dress and great print! This design works really well for you!
4/6/09 12:55 PM
michellep74 said...
The yoke detail might be hard to see, but I really love this fabric, and I think it's a great match for the shape of the dress. And I think the shape looks great on you--it really shows off your tiny waist!
4/6/09 1:05 PM
Beachcomber said...
Congratulations! This dress looks terrific on you. And the price can't be beat. Great job!
4/6/09 1:20 PM
sewrelax said...
You did it again....another wonderful creation for your wardrobe. I love the fabric and the fit.
4/6/09 2:25 PM
Markie1 said...
Ok then, I want your genetics! And your dress. Please?
4/6/09 3:07 PM
Gold said...
Cute dress! Looks great on you!
4/6/09 3:16 PM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress, love that fabric - you look fantastic in it.
4/6/09 3:22 PM
Dei said...
Very cute and very flattering.
4/6/09 3:33 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice on you..... love your fabric choice!
4/6/09 4:21 PM
CynthiaSue said...
hey yours is all slinky and sexy!! way better than mine. super cute!!
4/6/09 4:28 PM
Beek said...
You look great in this knit dress, Cidell. The style is simple but it always looks good.
4/6/09 4:50 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Cidell, that looks very nice. You are right that the yoke is lost but I really like the print. You did a nice job of fitting the sleeves. I have noticed that some of the McCalls patterns also have a hard time just writing "understitch". We are all getting smarter every time we sew! Cindy
4/6/09 8:57 PM
Catbird said...
This is a great style for you and I agree with everyone about the fabric and the fit. You look so pretty in this dress! Funny about BWOF and the understitch word. They drive me crazy. PR members must unite and demand our right to clear sewing terms!
4/6/09 9:45 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
This dress is fantastic. I think the fit is perfect. I, too, love the fabric.
4/6/09 11:03 PM
Heidi Ho said...
I love your dress. It looks great on you and that fabric is gorgeous!
4/6/09 11:14 PM
crisford said...
Another wonderful creation! Great idea about underlining the yoke. I wouldn't think you should have to line the rest of it but I know these knits have gotten very thin. Maybe wear a slip, with non-static spray?
4/7/09 10:52 AM
KrystalL said...
I like the fabric for this dress! Very cute!
4/7/09 11:04 AM
Mahler said...
Forget about the UUUU mon cheval look ! You look great. If you give it to your mother, will we have the chance to see a picture of her wearing it ?
4/7/09 4:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Like it! simply stylish.
4/8/09 11:05 AM
homejewel said...
Seriously, this is YOUR dress! Perfect!
4/13/09 7:05 PM
QuickFade said...
Great looking dress, Cidell! You probably could still add a lining of sorts if that would give you more use of the dress, or cut it off and use it as a top and then make the dress version again with a lining. This dress would look great with a large pendant necklace. It really gives a great background for a piece of statement jewelry. I don't think it's a bad thing that the seams don't pop out with this print as the print and general shape tell the story.
4/15/09 3:45 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a great dress on you.
4/15/09 3:54 PM
willozza said...
This looks great on you. The colour of the fabric suits you.
7/6/09 3:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Burda 9691 Dress
photo
Review by inertia on 10/6/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6899
photo
Review by SueT on 7/28/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us