SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 (Retro '47 Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 1233 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/09 11:55 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love this dress. I think I bought this pattern last year. I'm seriously thinking about sew it up the spring. Thanks for the review.
4/7/09 12:03 PM
Frosty772 said...
Omg thank you so much for this review!! I have this pattern and was trying to come up with a fabric to make it out of. The fact you used cotton makes this that much easier to plan out and make now!! Fantastic dress!!
4/7/09 12:21 PM
Michelle L said...
Adorable!! I have this pattern and I SWEAR I am going to make it for the summer. I just got a length of magenta sateen that I was going to use for a trench, but the drape would be much more appropriate for a dress. This one, perhaps?
4/7/09 12:35 PM
SilvrGhost said...
Lovely!
4/7/09 12:42 PM
Marie-Claude said...
This dress is so pretty! It looks very good on you. And thanks for the tip about the zipper... I'll have to remember that one!!
4/7/09 1:05 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's a very happy dress - just the thing for your vacation in Miami and for the rest of summer. Nice job, and worth the work to line it properly.
4/7/09 1:16 PM
Aixoise said...
This style was invented for you. It's a perfect match, especially in this fabric, for your figure and your personality. Nice work!
4/7/09 1:59 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love this dress on you! The color is fantstic.
4/7/09 2:05 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh my, what a lovely summer dress! Such a nice color and such style! Love this one!
4/7/09 2:25 PM
truebias said...
i can't get over how cute this is!
4/7/09 2:28 PM
petro said...
Looks great, better on you than the pattern envelope drawing.
4/7/09 3:39 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute!
4/7/09 4:09 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks fabulous on you!
4/7/09 4:34 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress that is really becoming on you.
4/7/09 5:25 PM
Emi1yKate said...
You look lovely in your dress. This is the best kind of vintage reissue- it's got that cute retro look but still looks beautifully modern. Well done!
4/7/09 7:20 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This is the perfect summer dress! It looks so cute on you. I would want one for everyday of the week, but that's just me. :-)
4/7/09 7:22 PM
Slyvchan said...
Beautiful, and I love the fabric choice! It fits you perfectly!
4/7/09 8:10 PM
jessbev said...
Gorgeous - I love it. I want one too.
4/7/09 8:45 PM
Christas said...
Perfect mix of the retro with the modern! The dress looks fantastic on you!
4/7/09 9:06 PM
Pamaro said...
Great style dress on you. Beautiful choice of fabric too.
4/7/09 9:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress. Well done. It's great to hear that it works in cotton. I thought it would be essential to make it in something very soft and/or drapey because of the gathering. I have plans for this pattern myself.
4/8/09 0:22 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I never noticed this pattern before, but I love your version! Lovely summer dress
4/8/09 4:43 AM
barbcl said...
Classy as heck!
4/8/09 9:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Adorable! I hope you & your sister had a great vacation. Your wardrobe & vacation pictures are neat!
4/8/09 9:01 AM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! I've got this pattern sitting in my stash, just waiting for the right fabric to make it up in. Your fabric choice is perfect!
4/8/09 9:54 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous dress and beautifully made.
4/8/09 10:13 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is *SO* cute! love, love, LOVE it!!
4/8/09 10:18 AM
MagpieJen said...
Sunny, gorgeous dress, and your review is incredibly helpful - thank you!
4/8/09 2:38 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow- I love this dress. The fabric is awesome, it fits you beautifully and the photo could be a postcard!
4/8/09 2:49 PM
LauraByrnes said...
Omigosh, this would have been the perfect pattern for me to use with my project!! (the 3 knock-off halter dresses) Your work is amazing..I'll be following your posts!
4/8/09 6:32 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great modern version of a classic vintage pattern! Perfect fabric, and great fit. You inspire me to try out some of the vintage patterns I have....
4/8/09 10:20 PM
nglalala said...
Very cute dress! I love the print of the fabric!
4/9/09 11:48 AM
Barbara V said...
A cheery happy looking dress. Nice job. I purchased this pattern with the sleeveless version in mind to make, but now I realize the style with sleeves is also very nice. The "sisters" image is cute.
4/9/09 2:23 PM
Paris75008 said...
I'm in the middle of making the halter version of this dress. I was debating whether to interface the midriff. You've just convinced me! BTW, I put several tucks into the bodice front pattern tissue to get rid of the gape. That pattern is really gapey, especially under the arms.
8/6/09 10:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Jalie 2673

photo
by: newyorklan...

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Simplicity 2767

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review