SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-118 (Diagonal seamed skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/09 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
Okay, the sandals in the gray snow are as scary as the skirt is cute. This pattern definitely works better without the front zip, and I love your purple fabric.
4/8/09 1:44 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So cute.
4/8/09 1:53 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Very cute- brrr, you're one tough woman to brave that kind of weather.
4/8/09 2:34 PM
Tina D. said...
Very pretty in purple!
4/8/09 2:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
This photo is hysterical. The purple, the sandles, the snow, the ash. Love the skirt.
4/8/09 3:24 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute skirt. I love the color, it turned out very nice!
4/8/09 3:44 PM
Catbird said...
Nice work! The dye job is perfect and the color is one of my favorites. I like the lining too. You're so funny with the sandals in the ice and snow and volcanic ash!
4/8/09 4:59 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Ladies usually hate hearing this but great dye job. And this is an awesome skirt.
4/8/09 5:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, this is such a feminine, swingy skirt! It's so rare that when you make something that flatters your trim little body - that I can see the potential to work on my significantly larger body. But immediately after reading your wonderful review, I slapped this magazine on my cutting table. The copy-catting begins tomorrow. Thank you for showcasing this for us. Lovely, Lily
4/8/09 9:05 PM
shaggy said...
Great skirt. Very cute
4/9/09 1:30 AM
TalyQ said...
Really lovely, might try it myself. Now for the question: did you machine stitch the lining to the zipper or by hand? If it's machine stitched (as it seems to me from the picture), how exactly did you do it? I see this in RTW all the time, but can't exactly figure out whether to do it before stitching the seam under the zipper (of the lining) or before. Thanks.
4/9/09 1:33 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute skirt, great colour and fits so well!
4/9/09 3:43 AM
Grammy Gin said...
S.E.X.Y. !! Love your dyed fabric. Great fit! Great review, too!
4/9/09 10:05 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This is such a great skirt! I wasn't sure about those diagonal lines when I first saw this pattern in BWOF, but now I'm totally convinced. And definitely, a side zipper makes more sense -- keeps the focus on the pretty, feminine lines. For ME, I might take the booty-hugging thing down a notch, lol. Sure works on you, though.
4/9/09 1:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Congratulations on your 100th Review!! WOW!!
4/9/09 5:03 PM
SusiM said...
Great loking skirt! Thanks for reviewing this.
4/9/09 6:15 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
I like the skirt so much I bought the magazine to make it!
2/4/10 11:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 3418

photo
by: wheezybee

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 156482-1001

photo
by: thestitche...

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now