Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-118 (Diagonal seamed skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 463 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/09 1:08 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
Okay, the sandals in the gray snow are as scary as the skirt is cute. This pattern definitely works better without the front zip, and I love your purple fabric.
4/8/09 1:44 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So cute.
4/8/09 1:53 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Very cute- brrr, you're one tough woman to brave that kind of weather.
4/8/09 2:34 PM
Tina D. said...
Very pretty in purple!
4/8/09 2:41 PM
Ann Smith said...
This photo is hysterical. The purple, the sandles, the snow, the ash. Love the skirt.
4/8/09 3:24 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute skirt. I love the color, it turned out very nice!
4/8/09 3:44 PM
Catbird said...
Nice work! The dye job is perfect and the color is one of my favorites. I like the lining too. You're so funny with the sandals in the ice and snow and volcanic ash!
4/8/09 4:59 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Ladies usually hate hearing this but great dye job. And this is an awesome skirt.
4/8/09 5:51 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, this is such a feminine, swingy skirt! It's so rare that when you make something that flatters your trim little body - that I can see the potential to work on my significantly larger body. But immediately after reading your wonderful review, I slapped this magazine on my cutting table. The copy-catting begins tomorrow. Thank you for showcasing this for us. Lovely, Lily
4/8/09 9:05 PM
shaggy said...
Great skirt. Very cute
4/9/09 1:30 AM
TalyQ said...
Really lovely, might try it myself. Now for the question: did you machine stitch the lining to the zipper or by hand? If it's machine stitched (as it seems to me from the picture), how exactly did you do it? I see this in RTW all the time, but can't exactly figure out whether to do it before stitching the seam under the zipper (of the lining) or before. Thanks.
4/9/09 1:33 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute skirt, great colour and fits so well!
4/9/09 3:43 AM
Grammy Gin said...
S.E.X.Y. !! Love your dyed fabric. Great fit! Great review, too!
4/9/09 10:05 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This is such a great skirt! I wasn't sure about those diagonal lines when I first saw this pattern in BWOF, but now I'm totally convinced. And definitely, a side zipper makes more sense -- keeps the focus on the pretty, feminine lines. For ME, I might take the booty-hugging thing down a notch, lol. Sure works on you, though.
4/9/09 1:50 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Congratulations on your 100th Review!! WOW!!
4/9/09 5:03 PM
SusiM said...
Great loking skirt! Thanks for reviewing this.
4/9/09 6:15 PM
Pam in Virginia said...
I like the skirt so much I bought the magazine to make it!
2/4/10 11:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5646 Misses Tunic
photo
Review by Doobee64 on 1/9/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)
Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7189
photo
Review by Pyrose on 8/14/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6913 Pattern
Burda 6913 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us