SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2008-118 (Diagonal seamed skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 171 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/09 1:08 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam in Virginia said...
I like the skirt so much I bought the magazine to make it!
2/4/10 11:57 AM
SusiM said...
Great loking skirt! Thanks for reviewing this.
4/9/09 6:15 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Congratulations on your 100th Review!! WOW!!
4/9/09 5:03 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is such a great skirt! I wasn't sure about those diagonal lines when I first saw this pattern in BWOF, but now I'm totally convinced. And definitely, a side zipper makes more sense -- keeps the focus on the pretty, feminine lines. For ME, I might take the booty-hugging thing down a notch, lol. Sure works on you, though.
4/9/09 1:50 PM
Grammy Gin said...
S.E.X.Y. !! Love your dyed fabric. Great fit! Great review, too!
4/9/09 10:05 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute skirt, great colour and fits so well!
4/9/09 3:43 AM
TalyQ said...
Really lovely, might try it myself. Now for the question: did you machine stitch the lining to the zipper or by hand? If it's machine stitched (as it seems to me from the picture), how exactly did you do it? I see this in RTW all the time, but can't exactly figure out whether to do it before stitching the seam under the zipper (of the lining) or before. Thanks.
4/9/09 1:33 AM
shaggy said...
Great skirt. Very cute
4/9/09 1:30 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Dawn, this is such a feminine, swingy skirt! It's so rare that when you make something that flatters your trim little body - that I can see the potential to work on my significantly larger body. But immediately after reading your wonderful review, I slapped this magazine on my cutting table. The copy-catting begins tomorrow. Thank you for showcasing this for us. Lovely, Lily
4/8/09 9:05 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Ladies usually hate hearing this but great dye job. And this is an awesome skirt.
4/8/09 5:51 PM
Catbird said...
Nice work! The dye job is perfect and the color is one of my favorites. I like the lining too. You're so funny with the sandals in the ice and snow and volcanic ash!
4/8/09 4:59 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute skirt. I love the color, it turned out very nice!
4/8/09 3:44 PM
Ann Smith said...
This photo is hysterical. The purple, the sandles, the snow, the ash. Love the skirt.
4/8/09 3:24 PM
Tina D. said...
Very pretty in purple!
4/8/09 2:41 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Very cute- brrr, you're one tough woman to brave that kind of weather.
4/8/09 2:34 PM
Elemenopeo said...
So cute.
4/8/09 1:53 PM
Karen6790 said...
Okay, the sandals in the gray snow are as scary as the skirt is cute. This pattern definitely works better without the front zip, and I love your purple fabric.
4/8/09 1:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now