SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5108 (Piazza Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 4127 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/03 4:20 PM
Last Updated:5/9/04 8:04 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan J. said...
Thank you for the suggestions about improving the application of the back neck facing. Mine was pretty bulky.
7/9/07 4:06 PM
CSY said...
Your jacket is too cute. I want one too now!
1/25/07 10:44 PM
EleanorMcCarthy said...
Your jacket is fantastic. I like how it is shorter and more fitted than on the pattern envelope. Keep up the good work.
10/31/05 7:30 PM
drsue said...
Meredith: I'm only reporting what I read in the WSJ regarding twin sets! My dress form is a fabulous fit. I have one big issue with it but it might only be a problem for me. That is that the form's upper body was larger than my upper body. I had to use sand paper (for hours!) to sand of her boobs and make her rib cage smaller. I also had to make the neck smaller. The lower body was fine because that part of me is normal size. I told them how small I was but told me this would work for me. If they had only told me they made kids sizes I would have ordered one. If your are as petite as me that is what I would suggest doing. Mariella: I'm sure this pattern can be lined. However, I love how easy it is to put together that I would never do it.
5/10/04 9:26 PM
Mariella said...
What a great looking jacket, drsue. I'm awaiting this pattern in the mail (based on your earlier review and photo). I'd like to figure out a way to line it - I much prefer the on and off "ease" of a lined jacket. I recently finished my 2nd Retro Jacket and while I was in a rush to finish it so I could wear it, I may well put a lining into in the next few weeks. Those tiny seam allowances make it tricky. Thanks for all your tips on this pattern - I'm sure I'll be using them once my pattern arrives.
5/10/04 6:36 PM
Meredith P said...
Twinsets are out?! Oh no ;-) After seeing this, I think I'll have to get this pattern. Beautiful! Is that a Fabulous Fit dress form? Do you like it?
5/10/04 6:11 PM
sewywabbit said...
Very adorable and stylish! Another winner for you!!
5/10/04 11:15 AM
drsue said...
Kristi: I did not interface the fronts, although I did use a light fusible stay tape on the shoulders. My fabric is quite heavy, although it is also very drapey. The fabric is loosley woven and composed of bundles of thick threads. Probably its heavyness prevented problems, while the drapiness worked for the unstructured nature of the pattern.
5/10/04 10:05 AM
Sew it seams said...
Susan you did a beautiful job on this jacket. It looks very professional.
5/10/04 8:01 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful rendention of this pattern. It does look more structured than the pattern pics.
5/10/04 7:44 AM
kristi said...
Sue, this jacket is gorgeous! really like the way the weave changes on the different parts. Did you interface the front pieces? I've only made this jacket once but was disappointed with the way my fabric (very drapey cross-weave linen) curled on the non-interfaced fronts.
5/10/04 7:05 AM
Liana said...
Soooo pretty! I love LH's Capri jacket, but I really may have to try this one. All your hard work grading was well worth it.
5/10/04 0:25 AM
Carol Wisman said...
Sooooo Sweet! I agree that you jacket is a much nicer look than the pattern! Great Job!
5/9/04 8:19 PM
Diana Hilliard said...
I just checked out the pattern photos, and yours is SOOOOOO MUCH NICER!! What a wonderful job you did!
2/18/04 4:48 PM
drsue said...
deepika: Thanks for the compliment! I did not line this. I would probably be too hard. I wore it today and I notice it doesn't slide over shirts in the sleeve area the way that lined jackets do.
11/24/03 7:03 PM
Deepika said...
drsue, your reviews and projects are eye candy. They look so professional! Thanks for sharing your wonderful work with us. Did you line this jacket?
11/24/03 6:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I just bought the pattern this weekend and plan to sew it up, heaven knows when. I was curious about your comment that you had to shorten it, since your jacket looks about the same length as the photo on the pattern cover. I'll have to keep an eye out for this, as I am short-waisted. Thanks for the tip and the review.
11/24/03 5:47 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful jacket. Your's looks so much more fitted than the pattern pic. Thank for the review.
11/23/03 7:09 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks good. You did a great job. I might consider this pattern myself. I like LH patterns. I need to check out CJ fabrics. You've mentioned them a few times. Seems like a good source for good knits.
11/23/03 6:13 PM
Karla Kizer said...
You have really been sewing upa storm lately. This jacket is yet another winner. Your grading and alterations must have worked; it looks great.
11/23/03 6:02 PM
jlg said...
I agree, it looks great. Nice job.
11/23/03 5:47 PM
Lynngray said...
Jacket looks great on you. Thanks for the review. I have pattern also, think I will try now.
11/23/03 4:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info