SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1211 (Santa Monica Tee)

47 more reviews
Viewed 2375 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/03 4:31 PM
Last Updated:3/31/04 10:10 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnnMarieJ said...
I've made 3 of these now and you are exactly right about the darts. Great review.
1/24/09 1:58 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like the skirt, too! Is it RTW or did you make and review it?
4/1/04 10:38 AM
J_J said...
I love the outfit. If you're interested in the rib knits, many of the fabric coops have them. My favorite coop is 'the Joy of Sewing' on Yahoo. She's got rib knits for 3.50 @ yd (I think, that's from memory and I can't get to the yahoo site from work to verify it).
4/1/04 7:16 AM
jlg said...
Very cute outfit. I love the colors/fabrics.
4/1/04 5:23 AM
drsue said...
Liana: I put a link to the prior version. Sorry I forgot to check not to have it go to the top of the review board :(.
3/31/04 10:12 PM
Liana said...
Very cute! The color is great with that skirt. I like the idea of no darts in the sleeves. I've fooled around a lot with the neckline on this too. Great review, but wish we could see your earlier versions too.
3/31/04 8:38 PM
drsue said...
deepika: I only removed 5/8" from the top edge on the front seam and tappered it past the dart to 1/2" removed from the edge on the back seam. I think I may have increased the seam allowance at the top part of the sleeves both front and back to prevent gaping. I didn't make a formal adjustment, just did it as I sewed.
12/24/03 2:24 PM
Deepika said...
That top looks great drsue. Did you alter the sleeves for this neckline treatment?
12/23/03 10:48 AM
drsue said...
I wore this with a long fancy silk wrap around skirt that has a large waisteband so you have a larege bow on the side. That was made several years ago from an old Style pattern. Mesh bag is a great idea. Wish I'd thought of it before I washed it.
12/22/03 1:49 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Mudcat, what a great idea! I love your new top too. That material is wonderful, perfect for a simple pattern. Nice neckline adaptation--it looks perfect with that fabric. Could you wash it in a mesh bag to prolong its life, or hand wash?
12/22/03 10:01 AM
mudcat said...
I like your new version. What will you be pairing it with? Looks like it would go nice with velvet pants or a skirt.
12/21/03 4:00 PM
Dale C said...
You've put together a nice wardrobe of clothing there! They all look wonderful!
11/24/03 9:56 PM
galadriel45 said...
What a great fit!! A wonderful ardrobe builder.
11/23/03 9:24 PM
cindyann said...
That's a great top. The fit is just wonderful.
11/23/03 7:05 PM
jlg said...
Your top fits beautifully, very becoming.
11/23/03 5:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2005-112

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now