Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1211 (Santa Monica Tee) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2373 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/03 4:31 PM
Last Updated:3/31/04 10:10 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Your top fits beautifully, very becoming.
11/23/03 5:45 PM
cindyann said...
That's a great top. The fit is just wonderful.
11/23/03 7:05 PM
galadriel45 said...
What a great fit!! A wonderful ardrobe builder.
11/23/03 9:24 PM
Dale C said...
You've put together a nice wardrobe of clothing there! They all look wonderful!
11/24/03 9:56 PM
mudcat said...
I like your new version. What will you be pairing it with? Looks like it would go nice with velvet pants or a skirt.
12/21/03 4:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Mudcat, what a great idea! I love your new top too. That material is wonderful, perfect for a simple pattern. Nice neckline adaptation--it looks perfect with that fabric. Could you wash it in a mesh bag to prolong its life, or hand wash?
12/22/03 10:01 AM
drsue said...
I wore this with a long fancy silk wrap around skirt that has a large waisteband so you have a larege bow on the side. That was made several years ago from an old Style pattern. Mesh bag is a great idea. Wish I'd thought of it before I washed it.
12/22/03 1:49 PM
Deepika said...
That top looks great drsue. Did you alter the sleeves for this neckline treatment?
12/23/03 10:48 AM
drsue said...
deepika: I only removed 5/8" from the top edge on the front seam and tappered it past the dart to 1/2" removed from the edge on the back seam. I think I may have increased the seam allowance at the top part of the sleeves both front and back to prevent gaping. I didn't make a formal adjustment, just did it as I sewed.
12/24/03 2:24 PM
Liana said...
Very cute! The color is great with that skirt. I like the idea of no darts in the sleeves. I've fooled around a lot with the neckline on this too. Great review, but wish we could see your earlier versions too.
3/31/04 8:38 PM
drsue said...
Liana: I put a link to the prior version. Sorry I forgot to check not to have it go to the top of the review board :(.
3/31/04 10:12 PM
jlg said...
Very cute outfit. I love the colors/fabrics.
4/1/04 5:23 AM
J_J said...
I love the outfit. If you're interested in the rib knits, many of the fabric coops have them. My favorite coop is 'the Joy of Sewing' on Yahoo. She's got rib knits for 3.50 @ yd (I think, that's from memory and I can't get to the yahoo site from work to verify it).
4/1/04 7:16 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
I like the skirt, too! Is it RTW or did you make and review it?
4/1/04 10:38 AM
AnnMarieJ said...
I've made 3 of these now and you are exactly right about the darts. Great review.
1/24/09 1:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by jmwaddoups on 12/20/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1205 Cordova Jacket
photo
Review by carrie1858... on 8/27/13
Read Review

Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8430 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
McCalls 2401 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us