Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-118 (Bell Bottomed Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 754 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/09 1:04 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Fabulous pants! I really like the wide flares--they funk things up a bit without looking overly retro.
4/9/09 1:22 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh, very cool. :) I really like your one "witty" patch pocket. (P.S. Dawn, the blog link in your recent reviews isn't working. The beginning of the url seems to be incorrect.)
4/9/09 1:39 PM
Beek said...
I love trouser-jeans with wide legs. These look great. How much did you take in a the bell-bottoms?
4/9/09 1:41 PM
pterion said...
Very very nice! I was already liking this basic pants pattern in the mag, but you've really enhanced it with all the lovely details.
4/9/09 3:02 PM
Elke said...
I especially like the flares and the cute pockets...the fit is great!
4/9/09 3:27 PM
amy in mpls said...
I agree. Love 'em! These are so springy and flattering. Ive got the fever to try these pants out too! Thanks for the review!
4/9/09 3:49 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
That teal denim is gorgeous! Love the fit and the style of these jeans!
4/9/09 3:56 PM
nellc said...
Great jeans, I really liked these in the magazine so it is nice to see a good review of them.
4/9/09 4:19 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I was drawn to these too. Just wonder if I am too short to carry them off at 5'1". What do you think? They look fabulous.
4/9/09 4:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Dawn. I love the tone-on-tone embroidery on the back pockets, and your keyhole buttonhole. Smart looking bells, Lily
4/9/09 4:44 PM
cindyann said...
nicely done! they seem a little more narrow than I would have guessed from the BWOF picture. I have some of this denim too, so I'm happy to see it made up into something.
4/9/09 4:53 PM
Christas said...
Super cute jeans! Love the color!
4/9/09 5:25 PM
Catbird said...
I think your waistband modification makes all the difference in raising the style factor on these. I would never have considered them until I read your review. And I love those seriously witty and brilliant pockets you've created!
4/9/09 8:25 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice pants. I have traced this one off and it is on my list..fabric waiting and everything..just no time...Thanks for the review..yours turned out great..now I really want to get going on them. I love the embroidery detail!
4/9/09 11:51 PM
figtree said...
Very nice jeans! These are definitely on my to do list now. Thanks for the detailed review!
4/10/09 6:49 AM
Sic said...
Wow! Those look great - thanks for the review!
4/10/09 8:49 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great job & review! I really like these jeans!
4/10/09 10:07 AM
Shikisew said...
I love your jeans. Love the fabric, love how well you sewed them up, love the style, and specially love you tone on tone embroidery for the pockets. Awesome job! I'm totally getting jean envy.
4/10/09 7:37 PM
loradouglas said...
Very nice looking pants! Thanks for the review and great photos. When I saw these in the BWOF magazine I thought they would make up nice, now I'm ready to make them thanks to your great review.
4/11/09 7:26 AM
lohroffe said...
Re Joan1954's comment, I think you have to enter your blog URL starting with http://www instead of just www. I believe that will fix it.
4/16/09 10:19 PM
cabinbaby said...
I fixed the link. Lohroffe, you're right; I needed to add the http:// part. Thanks!
4/17/09 9:52 AM
mengrgrl said...
I love the denim and your embroidery! Good idea on the back pockets and adding just one in the front was a much "wittier" touch than two
4/29/09 1:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great pants and very helpful review, thanks!
9/21/09 0:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 4118 Hand Bags
photo
Review by annakeeton on 11/13/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 307707-1000
photo
Review by dalachin on 3/29/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1873 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1873 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6716 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6716 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us