Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2007-107 (Dress with tulle petticoat) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 395 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Shikisew
photo
About Shikisewstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/6/06
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/09 6:56 PM
Last Updated:4/10/09 7:10 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I can see why you like this dress. A lovely color and style - you look absolutely fabulous.
4/10/09 7:05 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is an excellent piece of work.
4/10/09 7:16 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful, and you look fantastic in it. You were so fortunate to pick up this quality of fabric in a colour that looks wonderful on you. And yes, very chic. You are right, this fabric has enough oomph to not need an underskirt but I think that the hem would benefit from the addition of some narrow lightweight horsehair braid to give it some weight.
4/10/09 7:52 PM
Shikisew said...
Thanks for the recommendation echolalia. I am most likely going to redo the hem when I go back to finish the insides and I do have some horsehair lying around although I'm not sure how to use it. I had to sew this dress in a hurry (started at 5p.m. finished at 2a.m. wore it next day) and finished the hem by machine instead of by hand as recommended in the directions.
4/10/09 7:56 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Well that is just super cute. Great color for spring.
4/10/09 8:05 PM
Catbird said...
This style really flatters you and that color is so perfect! It looks so natural on you. I completely agree that any dress with pockets is a dress I'm on my way to falling in love with!
4/10/09 8:11 PM
MissCelie said...
Beautiful color and you look so chic!
4/10/09 8:16 PM
Diane E said...
What a beautiful dress in a stunning color. Gorgeous!
4/10/09 8:47 PM
colourbynumber said...
So cute! I love the detail on the bodice.
4/10/09 9:58 PM
Mahler said...
This dress is wonderful. The fit is excellent
4/11/09 8:55 AM
crisford said...
I agree, that looks like a great pattern. Your dress looks classic and very stylish, plus that's a great color on you! Very good fitting job, too!
4/11/09 11:17 AM
Christas said...
Cute dress!
4/11/09 11:24 AM
petro said...
Great dress, what a lovely colour!
4/11/09 11:51 AM
Jill Giard said...
Beautiful! Great color and fabric choice!
4/11/09 6:27 PM
Chicklet said...
This is ADORABLE! (and I just love the color!)
4/12/09 9:53 AM
MagpieJen said...
This suits you so well!! It's gorgeous.
4/12/09 9:59 AM
jkaori said...
The dress looks fabulous on you. Nice work!
4/14/09 0:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Simplicity 2207
photo
Review by sarah0725 on 5/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2444
photo
Review by DKG on 12/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us