SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

161 more reviews
Viewed 2637 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/13/09 6:40 PM
Last Updated:9/18/09 8:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 41 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Wonderful jeans! These look fantastic!
4/13/09 6:43 PM
Riordan said...
Your jeans are wonderful, and you look absolutely amazing in them. I am so eager to try this pattern (on order)!!! Very helpful information in your review--thanks so much!!
4/13/09 8:13 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great looking jeans!
4/13/09 8:17 PM
JEF said...
They're great! And they look stunning on you. Can't say I like the look of the squid as a possible pocket decoration but it would be unique!
4/13/09 8:30 PM
Leora said...
Ok! See the back thigh, how it is nice and fitted?? THAT's what I've been trying (fruitlessly) to do. Yay, I'm buying this pattern pronto!! Awesome jeans, great review!
4/13/09 8:35 PM
Karen6790 said...
I'm fine-tuning my Ottobre jeans, but I ordered the Jalie pattern too, so I can compare and then take one more thing off the list of clothes I still have to buy in the store. Your jeans are fabulous, I'll be happy if mine turn out anywhere near that well.
4/13/09 9:29 PM
dorothyn said...
Wow, those look so professional, and the fit is fantastic. I must say, I envy your perky backside. Mine is flat, and droopy now in middle age! I have to ask - Are those pins randomly placed in fabric? It looks like your jeans are getting acupuncture!
4/13/09 9:37 PM
cabinbaby said...
dorothyn-- hee hee, it took me forever to figure what you were talking about. The "pins" are snowflakes falling in front of the camera. lol.
4/13/09 9:51 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great Jeans.
4/13/09 10:01 PM
Renren said...
You are such a sewing beast!!! (That is a high compliment according to my teenage daughter who is a math beast.) Also, in regards to dorothyn's comment about your perky backside, sometimes I think you don't really have a swayback, but it's all that perkiness you are adjusting for. Could that be?
4/13/09 10:55 PM
jonnie664 said...
Wow - so professional and stylish! Great job with the fitting and topstitching!
4/14/09 1:06 AM
ajax said...
Great jeans and the fit looks really good. Very professional looking top stitching. I may have to get this pattern to add to the many other great patterns that I haven't found time to sew up!
4/14/09 4:36 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great review and a fantastic pair of jeans!
4/14/09 6:15 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow..these are really NICE! Your sewing skills are fab as always. This pattern is now on my list thanks to you!
4/14/09 6:52 AM
mhk3boys said...
Your jeans look very awesome! I love your photos on how you altered the back! I have this issue myself and greatly appreciate them because I'm more visual than just reading it. Thanks! Great jeans!
4/14/09 7:24 AM
Sic said...
Thanks for the review - those are great looking jeans! Also, I am throwing in my vote for the octopus design for your next pair!
4/14/09 7:59 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Oh these look soooo good! I cannot wait for mine to get here!!! Ack!
4/14/09 12:08 PM
Catbird said...
GREAT jeans and excellent review, full of helpful information. I like the octopus idea (I have an octopus pin made of silver, so I guess I'm in your esthetic camp). It could be cool on a back pocket. Funny about the snowflakes -- I thought they were pins too. I've been debating about whether to get this pattern, and I think you just clinched the sale. These look amazing on you!
4/14/09 1:31 PM
Pamaro said...
These fit you perfectly. Thanks for all the helpful info on your review. I also like the print fabric under the zipper flap.
4/14/09 3:46 PM
Heidi Ho said...
WOW!!! Those turned out awesome!!
4/14/09 3:51 PM
KG2 said...
Awesome job as usual! I have to say that I did like my Jalie pants more after wearing for a day. The lycra does definitely relax, but does not become baggy!
4/14/09 5:27 PM
nellc said...
Great looking jeans!
4/14/09 5:50 PM
cgHipp said...
The jeans are fantastic - well made and so flattering on you! I think the link to your blog at the bottom is a little off.
4/14/09 7:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wonderful jeans! Nice fit and great topstitching. This Jalie pattern seems to be bringing out the best in people's sewing.
4/14/09 8:21 PM
crisford said...
Now I have to try these! Thank you!
4/15/09 11:29 AM
angie.a said...
Totally RTW. And a perfect fit! Love them.
4/17/09 6:54 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous review. This is wonderful booty fitting info and I can't wait to try it. I have the same issue. Your jeans look very high end.
4/18/09 6:11 PM
Dale C said...
Another great pair!
4/18/09 7:12 PM
Elona said...
Lovely jeans! Boy, you are on a pants-fitting roll with these, and the pattern appears to be a total winner for you.
4/18/09 8:08 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Both pairs are fabulous! I would swear that second one was RTW -- wow!
4/18/09 11:55 PM
persevering said...
Amazing fit and pattern review! Your precise description of measurements (yours & pattern) is greatly appreciated because I can apply this knowledge with all other information you have provided, so I can foresee better how this pattern and pattern company could work for me! (PS Though I don't comment every time, I greatly admire your work & always enjoy & learn from seeing your work and reading your reviews. Thanks again.
4/19/09 12:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely smashing jeans, Dawn! The fit, the embroidery, your alterations - all perfect. A joy to see these beauties. -Lily
4/19/09 2:05 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thank you for posting such a thorough review. I keep checking back here as I'm working on my own pair. Such a great pattern! Your jeans look fantastic!
5/22/09 3:01 PM
Patzee said...
Grateful for a great review. Thanks!
5/26/09 6:16 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
such amazing jeans! One day I hope to make some as nice.
5/28/09 0:18 AM
Athene said...
I love your jean and the fit you got. Thanks for Emilie's Gaposis Fix tip.
5/28/09 2:12 AM
Annieq said...
cabinbaby, you are a star. thanks for the gaposis link
5/28/09 10:18 AM
KrystalL said...
I already commented on your wardrobe post, but these jeans just take the cake! Perfect work!
5/28/09 10:30 AM
FreyaStark said...
Wow! Very smart. The star motif is especially impressive.
5/29/09 7:18 AM
Sallygirl said...
I love these, Dawn! They look perfect. I have my first pair of Jalie jeans all cut out and ready to sew, just trying to decide what I want on the pocket and if I want to take a chance and modify my yoke for a swayback without making a muslin since this is an issue in every pair of RTW jeans I've ever bought. Debating making a muslin first.....
5/29/09 8:50 AM
KristenI said...
Those are so cool! Thanks for sharing the details :)
5/29/09 2:55 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great!! I love the pockets!
9/18/09 9:17 PM
sheila in Missouri said...
Great looking jeans and top! What pattern is the top and where did the fabric come from?
9/18/09 10:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love everything you make!
9/19/09 1:16 AM
portercs said...
Adorable!
9/19/09 9:27 AM
Re Becca said...
Adorable! I love the pockets, loud is the style now. Do you know what Houston store he got the fabric at? We have several wonderful fabric stores here.
9/19/09 12:24 PM
digs57 said...
Very cute jeans, but oh, I do loooove the colourful top.
9/19/09 3:56 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great pair on jeans! I love everything about them: the style, top stitching, and fit. The top is super cute too.
9/19/09 4:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another great pair of jeans!
9/19/09 9:26 PM
suzette said...
Great information here! Thanks so much for sharing, I am now encourged to make my own jeans! Kind regards, Sue
10/3/09 9:57 PM
lotte mae said...
hi there. just looking at your fit problem with the back yolk and waistband. i cant work out if you have applied the tip from emeile to your paper pattern pieces or not. the new jeans with bright pockets look like they still have a gap.?. hope you dont mind if i suggest a tip? you have done such a good job with them and they look so nice in you it seams a shame not to make them perfect! so you could try this..... your gap is really pronounced directly at cb and extends to just below where the yolk is attatched to the main trouser. FOR THE YOLK ; take all the excess from the CB seam in the yolk and taper it down about 2 cm beyond the yolk into the trouser itself. you can curve this seam ever so slightly into the body as well to get a lovely snug fit. you will loose some height at CB in the yolk by doing this so if you want you can add what you have lost to the top of your yolk pattern piece. FOR WAISTBAND; you will get a really nice curve in the back only if you shape the waistband at the CB. if your waist band is shaped it has to be cut in two pieces with a seam at the top of the band.(so if the pattern is just a one piece waist band that fold over you will have to fold it in half , add seam allowance ontop of the fold line. cut away narrower piece and bin it! the remaining larger piece is your starting pattern ,of which you will need to cut 2 of) Shape the waist band by taking away the required amount of ease in three or four darts (rather than just at the CB which creates a pointed dip at the CB seam..) Spacing them between the area that is gaping only. take away the required amount of ease at the top of the waistband tapering down to the same amount of ease at the bottom of the waistband as you took for the top of the yolk. you can then transfer these 'darts' to the paper pattern. once you have transfered them you can fold the darts out and sticky tape or pin them in place. then redraw your waistband on a new piece of paper giving it a really lovely smooth line ,giving you your new fitted waistband pattern . make sure your new curve is nice looking and not jagged. To get a really nice finished look the 'inside ' WB pattern piece should be 2mm narrower than the 'outside' piece so that when it is all stitched in place the seam at the top of the WB lays on the inside. that should do it really. i hope this helps, its a lot longer than i anticipated. your probably asleep by now! pictures would help but not sure how to do that here yet. obviousley if you have a pair of jeans or trousers that you need to alter at the waist and dont have any extra fabric then take the excess only from the cb thereby creating a seam line and make it a feature by double top stitching up the seam in line with rest of the double top stitchin running up the cb of the back of the trousers. ok let me know if that was absolute rubbish to you or not! nicola x
2/1/10 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5484

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Deer&Doe Robe Sureau

photo
by: punkmik

Review