Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6294 (Ladies and Misses Nightgowns) thumbsup - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 693 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/09 2:18 PM
Last Updated:4/16/09 7:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
This is almost too pretty to sleep in! It's good to see you back and I'm glad to see that you're still sewing. For some reason, your review isn't showing up in the review gallery.
4/16/09 6:38 PM
drsue said...
Ahh, thanks Carolyn! I changed which was gong to be the main pic, I think that messed things up. Looks like I fixed it now.
4/16/09 7:08 PM
Izzie said...
So pretty!
4/16/09 7:11 PM
eibhlin said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!
4/16/09 7:54 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty -- delicate and lovely! (I am glad that you are back--I've missed your reviews and posts!)
4/16/09 8:14 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Beautiful. Glad you are back.
4/16/09 9:11 PM
Tov said...
Lovely gown. Good to see you back :)
4/16/09 9:12 PM
missytexas said...
This is gorgeous!
4/16/09 11:27 PM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful gown. Glad to see you back.
4/16/09 11:28 PM
PattiK said...
Speechless! It is just gorgeous!
4/16/09 11:44 PM
SueV said...
wow! beautiful! thanks for sharing
4/17/09 0:08 AM
dorothyn said...
That is just precious! What a stunning design and implementation. I think it has potential as an evening gown with different fabric (obviously) and some other tweaking.
4/17/09 0:57 AM
KarmenG said...
Welcome Back!!! Love this nightgown. Lovely design.
4/17/09 2:23 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Romantic and timeless. I love the V-design on the back and the gathered neckline.
4/17/09 8:28 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty! It's wonderful to see a beautiful nightgown like this made. You did a fabulous job!
4/17/09 8:33 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
Gorgeous! This is one that should be reissued. I wonder if the 30" bust is actually an under (or over) bust measurement?
4/17/09 10:54 AM
Jolet said...
I think you did a great job, working without the instructions can make you puzzle a lot. But you didn't as far as I've noticed. I love it!
4/17/09 2:49 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is so lovely -- wow.
4/17/09 2:54 PM
nicegirl said...
Good to see you around! Love the nightgown, very elegant.
4/17/09 3:04 PM
cindyann said...
So good to see a review from you, Sue! This is just lovely and the style lines are beautiful. I can imagine that this is pretty flattering to the female form.
4/17/09 4:57 PM
Athene said...
A very pretty nightgown - definitely has timeless appeal and would make a great daywear also.
4/18/09 4:08 AM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful, this was a great era for lingerie, I can see whay you like this style, its feminine and dainty but not too frilly.
4/18/09 9:27 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I was just wondering about you a couple of days ago. Glad to see you're still lurking about. Very pretty nightie!
4/18/09 10:36 AM
Elona said...
Hello again, Dr. Sue! How nice to see you again, and what a pretty nightie you have created for us to admire. These elegant vintage gowns really do have it all over a giant t-shirt worn to bed, don't they?
4/18/09 10:58 AM
maryfrana said...
Missed you drsue! This is just gorgeous. It needs to be a day dress. Lovely design.
4/18/09 11:18 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Now *that's* recycling! You took a pattern most people would have thrown away and made something beautiful from it. Neat!
4/20/09 8:30 AM
MagpieJen said...
Gorgeous! Simply gorgeous! It's wonderful how you've sewn this without instructions too.
4/20/09 1:28 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely nightgown, sweet and feminine.
4/21/09 8:51 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Sweet, pretty & light & airy all at the same time! Very nicely done....all w/o instructions.
4/21/09 3:38 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful - just like my Aunt had in her wedding trousseau in the early '50s. So glad to see a review from you - it has been a while.
4/23/09 10:31 PM
Oceanpeg said...
I think I'd like it for daytime wear, for hanging around the house, seeing that I'm a retired senior citizen and spend loads of time at home, at either my computer, TV or sewing machine. I'd get plenty of use out of a garment like this one.
4/29/09 11:57 PM
RuthieSews said...
Soooooo beautiful!
5/2/09 7:11 PM
shannie said...
What a gorgeous nightie! I love that you made it in the exact color of the envelope design! This is definitely a pattern I'm going to start cruising the vintage pattern sites for! Thanks for the great review!
5/4/09 11:53 AM
morzel said...
You even used a similar colour to the pattern envelope! Very pretty nightgown, must feel like a princess in it!
5/5/09 6:23 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful nightgown. So pretty and feminine. Nice to have you back and entering this contest too.
5/8/09 8:36 PM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
That is a lovely nightgown. Huge kudo's to you for being able to sew that up without the instructions! Beautiful job. :)
6/18/09 2:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 5778
photo
Review by SondraG on 12/21/09
Read Review

McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )
McCalls 2339 Pattern ( Size 30 1/2-31 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7257 Pattern
Burda 7257 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2805
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/3/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us