Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8560 (MISSES' SKIRT) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 399 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:ohsewcrafty
photo
About ohsewcrafty
VA USA
Member since: 12/30/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/09 11:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Very pretty. I just ordered this pattern and am glad to see it so nicely made up. Love your cardigan also (millefiori?); they work beautifully together.
4/14/09 5:33 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern! Your skirt turned out very nicely!This was the pattern chosen by a beginner student of mine and it turned into a nightmare. Regarding the piece you re-drafted: I contacted Vogue by email because nothing was fitting properly as I was helping my student try to put the thing together. Turns out the pattern WAS drafted incorrectly and Vogue has known about this for a while. Do you think they could have done something about that? Anyway Customer Service initially wanted us to send the pattern back and wait for a new piece. Fortunately after several emails back and forth, the rep figured out that she could email the piece as an attachment so that the lessons did not stop dead waiting for one pattern piece! As it turned out, my student was sick of the pattern by then (her co-student finished HER skirt weeks ago and is working on project #2!) so she is doing a very simple 2-piece Simplicity skirt and is thrilled that it is actually working! This is the first time I have gotten a pattern with a badly drafted piece in all of the years I have been sewing. I wonder if this is more common these days? My student is thinking of taking the fabric pieces from the skirt she spent so much time on and making a totebag! It's too bad.
4/14/09 6:52 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Great skirt, thanks for the review. I recognize the Milifiori Cardi, right? nice work!
4/14/09 6:57 AM
Renren said...
Good job redrafting! I would have abandoned the project thinking there was something I wasn't "getting." The skirt is really nice and I love it with your sweater.
4/14/09 8:13 AM
Secretsugar said...
I have this pattern all cut out, but hadn't begun cutting out my fabric yet. I'm SO glad to have read first about the drafting problem--thanks!
4/14/09 8:17 AM
CynthiaSue said...
what an excellent review. i bought this pattern about a month ago and i guess that means i got one with the wrong piece in it!! your's is adorable.
4/14/09 10:37 AM
MagpieJen said...
This is great - a beautiful skirt, and a very helpful heads-up on the challenges with this pattern!
4/14/09 11:17 AM
Christas said...
Thanks for the heads up about the incorrect pattern piece. Your skirt turned out lovely!
4/14/09 8:10 PM
ohsewcrafty said...
Thanks for your lovely comments, everyone! More on redrafting the upper back yoke- I used the front upper yoke (flipped over) as a guide, but extended it from the center by 5/8" to accommodate the center back zipper. Check out the relationship between the front and back lower yokes for a visual explanation. And yes, the cardi is Millefiori :)
4/16/09 1:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Wild Ginger Curves - Swimsuit
photo
Review by avancleve on 7/21/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9547 Girls' Jacket
photo
Review by piakdy on 8/17/13
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8992 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5764 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us