Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8434 (MISSES' TOP, TUNIC, SKIRT AND)

4 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lamstustarstarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews: 91 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/09 5:13 AM
Last Updated:4/15/09 7:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said... (4/15/09 10:05 AM) Reply
Your blouse looks vey nice - I made mine in chiffon - had it on the other day and way toying with the idea of lopping off part of the drape - guess Ilike it too much so I left well alone. It is an all round good pattern
petro said... (4/15/09 9:23 AM) Reply
Great review, I think you've definitely improved the back over the original style, and love your fastening.
lamstu said... (4/15/09 7:41 AM) Reply
Craftygamma: I've updated the link to the front view. Thanks for your kind remarks!
craftygamma said... (4/15/09 7:30 AM) Reply
P.S. I meant to tell you that your gallery snapshot link does not work. I would really like to see the front view. Thanks.
Sweetiebop said... (4/15/09 7:29 AM) Reply
This is a cute top. Thank you for this review. This pattern has been in my stash for awhile but I was looking for a fabric. Your review has helped narrow down my choices.
craftygamma said... (4/15/09 7:29 AM) Reply
Very lovely blouse with style! I agree about the godets in the back--you ought to be designing patterns!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8555

photo
by: staymay

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Pattern Details