SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 16868-1005 (roman shades- Home Dec project)

Viewed 169 times 
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews written: 70
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:4/15/09 11:04 AM
Last Updated:4/15/09 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Thank you, thank you. I have wanted to make some Roman shades, but have been intimidated by not understanding how or where to get the "professional" style hardware. Your success and this website have made me excited to go forward. I can't wait.
4/15/09 11:34 AM
pterion said...
Your shades are lovely! And you really do save a bundle when you make them up yourself.
4/15/09 12:45 PM
Robin Denning said...
The most helpful thing is having a very large table. My cutting table is huge so I was able to lay the fabric out to check for straight lines. It is critical to get each piece of fabric straight. I stretched and pulled each panel to get it perfectly square, then pressed it. The Thermalsuede lining doesn't have a grain, so that is easy to cut with precision. Good Luck, Patricia! Thanks pterion!
4/15/09 1:51 PM
davin said...
Most encouraging. Thanks. Davin
4/15/09 4:30 PM
Dale C said...
I love them! Thankyou so much for the link to her site! I saw it a few years ago and forgot all about it, but now that I've been thinking to do my windows that website will come in very handy. THanks thanks thanks. Yours look great!
4/15/09 6:05 PM
Christas said...
These look so wonderful!
4/15/09 6:31 PM
Nancy K said...
I have 5 windows in my bedroom and one of my pleated shades just broke. Replacing them in something as nice as you've made is, as you've stated very expensive! I love Roman shades and yours are well done. Brava!
4/15/09 6:34 PM
craftygamma said...
Very nice job, and I should know because I have made plenty in my drapery making days!
4/16/09 7:41 AM
Karendee said...
These are lovely, Robin. You are really into decorating these days and you're doing a great job.
4/16/09 2:27 PM
Jane S said...
Robin, how beautiful and how inspiring. I'd like to redecorate my sewing room this summer and the website and your testimonial will help me so much.
4/16/09 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: azjune

Review
HotPatterns Medina Mini Kaftan

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now