SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 547 (Hollywood 547: 1930s Dress)

Viewed 363 times 
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo

 
 
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/09 4:01 PM
Last Updated:4/15/09 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sickofitcindy said...
This is perfect! What a great dress :)
8/5/10 1:32 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a beautiful dress - you did wonderful work. The buttons are so unique, and I love the piping to outline the bib and how you picked up the red in the other buttons and belt buckle. A change of shoes and you could be ready for "ladies" tennis back in the day. Lovely, lovely job. A sepia-toned or black and white photo would have fooled us all!
5/1/10 11:02 AM
mymichelle said...
words cannot even describe how much i love this dress
5/3/09 11:49 PM
Ariadne said...
rave pn, with that crazy time machine feeling. What an absolutely smashing dress. And an even better review-tutorials! and closeups! the review itself is like a movie star! I hope you wear it out for a wonderful time. ari
4/26/09 4:24 AM
petro said...
Very understated-elegant. It looks so beautifully cool and summery.
4/17/09 2:08 PM
Diane333 said...
You and you're dress look fantastic!
4/16/09 10:33 PM
waltzqueen said...
You did a WONDERFUL job with this dress and you look FABULOUS with the hat and shoesl!!! I love vintage patterns and have many, but I've only made one evening gown so far - which was much easier.. You are an inspiration!
4/16/09 4:06 PM
Beek said...
Absolutely fabulous dress. I wish they still made patterns like this and I wish women would wear them! What a wonderful review.
4/16/09 2:05 PM
edot said...
Don't tell Claudette Colbert I said so, but ... there's no way she looked any better in her version than you do in yours. Stellar! Amazing! Spectacular! Omgoodness! You are fantastic in this lovely 1930s style.
4/16/09 1:54 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, fabulous!!! And I'm totally with the piping instead of all-white bib, it's brilliant.
4/16/09 1:41 PM
DoggyGirl said...
This is wonderful. So elegant! And your review was very helpful.
4/16/09 11:36 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great dress! The look on you is fabulous!
4/16/09 11:13 AM
pterion said...
You look like you stepped out of a 1930's fashion magazine. Very impressive! Bravo!
4/16/09 10:58 AM
piffle said...
I love it! the shoes are great, too. Very well done.
4/16/09 10:17 AM
Byrdie said...
This is adorable! I love the look of vintage clothing!
4/16/09 10:06 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Stunnng. Absolutely stunning. There are no other words!
4/16/09 4:19 AM
Caroleleah said...
OOOOOOOO!!! I do NOT have words!! This is beyond perfection!!!!! *SIGH!!* WOW!!! Your abilities are astonishing!!
4/16/09 3:30 AM
milo1000 said...
Breathtaking! You look like you stepped off a screen. Amazing.
4/16/09 2:55 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! The details are amazing! And the shoes and hat totally complete the look.
4/15/09 11:40 PM
Barbara V said...
This is such a pretty vintage style and you wear it so well. Nice job!
4/15/09 10:29 PM
Twinset said...
Greeeaaat dress! Your rendition of this 1930's number is just perfect! Very interesting review and nice pictures!
4/15/09 10:01 PM
MagpieJen said...
echolalia - I'm entering the contest - I wouldn't miss it! This one I made earlier so it doesn't qualify. Hopefully I'll have another Hollywood pattern done in time! :-) Thank you everybody for your kind words!
4/15/09 9:56 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful, evocative of a bygone era but still wearable today. You have done a wonderful job on the construction. Not entering the vintage contest?
4/15/09 9:38 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastic job! Your dress is charming! You look wonderful. I love your shoes, too. Excellent review!
4/15/09 8:24 PM
Andreahg said...
This is kamikat from FL: I LOVE this dress!
4/15/09 8:01 PM
mrsv83 said...
Fabulous!
4/15/09 7:18 PM
Florigal said...
Quite smashing! You look so smart in this flattering dress. Love it!
4/15/09 7:04 PM
Dee Woods said...
Your dress is really, really nice! The way you've styled your photo is perfect. It would be easy to mistake this from an actual photo from that era.
4/15/09 6:40 PM
eibhlin said...
Wonderful!!! I Love it!!!!
4/15/09 5:58 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so excited!!!!!!! This is just superb! You really pulled everything together beautifully! I like how you picked up the red in the GORGEOUS glass buttons in the belt buckle. The hat and shoes finish off the look perfectly! Fantastic dress!
4/15/09 5:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous interpretation of a classic! You look dazzling!
4/15/09 5:16 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Simply spectacular! I love it!
4/15/09 5:11 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! Oh, my goodness I LOVE this! The shoes, the hat, the buttons ..... you have captured a moment in time! It is just lovely! I have so many vintage patterns, including the Hollywood Patterns. WOW! You have inspired me so much with your wonderful review! I think you should wear this garment proudly with a great big smile. It's just perfect.
4/15/09 4:18 PM
Jatman said...
Wow! Your dress is spectacular! Nice job!
4/15/09 4:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 12246-1000

photo
by: lacroise1

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-138

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now