Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: 547 (Hollywood 547: 1930s Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 363 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:MagpieJen
photo
Friend of PR
About MagpieJenstar
CANADA
Member since: 2/22/05
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/09 4:01 PM
Last Updated:4/15/09 4:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jatman said...
Wow! Your dress is spectacular! Nice job!
4/15/09 4:12 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review! Oh, my goodness I LOVE this! The shoes, the hat, the buttons ..... you have captured a moment in time! It is just lovely! I have so many vintage patterns, including the Hollywood Patterns. WOW! You have inspired me so much with your wonderful review! I think you should wear this garment proudly with a great big smile. It's just perfect.
4/15/09 4:18 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Simply spectacular! I love it!
4/15/09 5:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous interpretation of a classic! You look dazzling!
4/15/09 5:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
I'm so excited!!!!!!! This is just superb! You really pulled everything together beautifully! I like how you picked up the red in the GORGEOUS glass buttons in the belt buckle. The hat and shoes finish off the look perfectly! Fantastic dress!
4/15/09 5:38 PM
eibhlin said...
Wonderful!!! I Love it!!!!
4/15/09 5:58 PM
Dee Woods said...
Your dress is really, really nice! The way you've styled your photo is perfect. It would be easy to mistake this from an actual photo from that era.
4/15/09 6:40 PM
Florigal said...
Quite smashing! You look so smart in this flattering dress. Love it!
4/15/09 7:04 PM
mrsv83 said...
Fabulous!
4/15/09 7:18 PM
Andreahg said...
This is kamikat from FL: I LOVE this dress!
4/15/09 8:01 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastic job! Your dress is charming! You look wonderful. I love your shoes, too. Excellent review!
4/15/09 8:24 PM
echolalia said...
This is beautiful, evocative of a bygone era but still wearable today. You have done a wonderful job on the construction. Not entering the vintage contest?
4/15/09 9:38 PM
MagpieJen said...
echolalia - I'm entering the contest - I wouldn't miss it! This one I made earlier so it doesn't qualify. Hopefully I'll have another Hollywood pattern done in time! :-) Thank you everybody for your kind words!
4/15/09 9:56 PM
Twinset said...
Greeeaaat dress! Your rendition of this 1930's number is just perfect! Very interesting review and nice pictures!
4/15/09 10:01 PM
Barbara V said...
This is such a pretty vintage style and you wear it so well. Nice job!
4/15/09 10:29 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! The details are amazing! And the shoes and hat totally complete the look.
4/15/09 11:40 PM
milo1000 said...
Breathtaking! You look like you stepped off a screen. Amazing.
4/16/09 2:55 AM
Caroleleah said...
OOOOOOOO!!! I do NOT have words!! This is beyond perfection!!!!! *SIGH!!* WOW!!! Your abilities are astonishing!!
4/16/09 3:30 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Stunnng. Absolutely stunning. There are no other words!
4/16/09 4:19 AM
Byrdie said...
This is adorable! I love the look of vintage clothing!
4/16/09 10:06 AM
piffle said...
I love it! the shoes are great, too. Very well done.
4/16/09 10:17 AM
pterion said...
You look like you stepped out of a 1930's fashion magazine. Very impressive! Bravo!
4/16/09 10:58 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great dress! The look on you is fabulous!
4/16/09 11:13 AM
DoggyGirl said...
This is wonderful. So elegant! And your review was very helpful.
4/16/09 11:36 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, fabulous!!! And I'm totally with the piping instead of all-white bib, it's brilliant.
4/16/09 1:41 PM
edot said...
Don't tell Claudette Colbert I said so, but ... there's no way she looked any better in her version than you do in yours. Stellar! Amazing! Spectacular! Omgoodness! You are fantastic in this lovely 1930s style.
4/16/09 1:54 PM
Beek said...
Absolutely fabulous dress. I wish they still made patterns like this and I wish women would wear them! What a wonderful review.
4/16/09 2:05 PM
waltzqueen said...
You did a WONDERFUL job with this dress and you look FABULOUS with the hat and shoesl!!! I love vintage patterns and have many, but I've only made one evening gown so far - which was much easier.. You are an inspiration!
4/16/09 4:06 PM
Diane333 said...
You and you're dress look fantastic!
4/16/09 10:33 PM
petro said...
Very understated-elegant. It looks so beautifully cool and summery.
4/17/09 2:08 PM
Ariadne said...
rave pn, with that crazy time machine feeling. What an absolutely smashing dress. And an even better review-tutorials! and closeups! the review itself is like a movie star! I hope you wear it out for a wonderful time. ari
4/26/09 4:24 AM
mymichelle said...
words cannot even describe how much i love this dress
5/3/09 11:49 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a beautiful dress - you did wonderful work. The buttons are so unique, and I love the piping to outline the bib and how you picked up the red in the other buttons and belt buckle. A change of shoes and you could be ready for "ladies" tennis back in the day. Lovely, lovely job. A sepia-toned or black and white photo would have fooled us all!
5/1/10 11:02 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
This is perfect! What a great dress :)
8/5/10 1:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 4295OOP
photo
Review by Norsecross on 1/1/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com 1
photo
Review by ltmc on 1/23/12
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6196 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 6196 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us