SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2759 (Anne Klein)

16 more reviews
Viewed 2945 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/03 1:28 AM
Last Updated:1/7/04 1:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna Isler said...
What a beautiful wrap top! Did you do a bust cup alteration or add width to the side seams?
11/27/03 7:20 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Ann, the top looks beautiful on you. Thanks for the tip about the arm. I have this pattern and am thinking of making it up. Knowing the arm is tight will definitely influence my choice of fabric. I love your hair, too! -Ann
11/27/03 8:00 AM
Ann Smith said...
Donna, I did the alteration by the pivot and slide (pivot point at shoulder) method which adds to the seams at armscye and side. This often works well for me.
11/27/03 12:25 PM
VROOM VROOM said...
I really love your creation. This pattern is perfect for the heavy-busted. I wish you lighting were brighter, so that I can really enjoy the detail in the fabric. You have excellent taste in fabric and pattern design selection. I am very picky. This top set against the background pictures is really classy. Thank you for sharing the beautiful photo with us. I also liked your mention of the wide size selection of the pattern. I usually sew a size 24 Butterick. I am viewing a similar pattern by Butterick. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH FOR SHARING!!
11/27/03 2:04 PM
galadriel45 said...
I am so happy that you reviewed this pattern - I've been wanting to try it for a long time. I have a gorgeous piece of soft, drapey silk.... Could you describe about the full bust adjustment in a little more detail?
11/27/03 5:13 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks so much for the review, Ann! I've got this pattern and was thinking the top would make a good candidate for onionskin, too. Yours looks great; love those colors!
11/27/03 5:34 PM
Ann Smith said...
galadrie145: Is your silk a knit? This top needs to be. The technique I used to enlarge is as described by Nancy Zieman in"Fitting Your Figure", a Threads book. You hold the pattern steady at the shoulder and swivel it out to add the amount you need at the side seam. This keeps the armscye the same size. You then swivel back in at the side seam. VroomVroom: I will add another photo.
11/27/03 7:02 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Beautiful as always, Ann! You really know what suits you. :-)
11/28/03 11:18 AM
MissCelie said...
This top is just fantastic. What a graceful line. Beautiful work!
11/28/03 1:28 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I just love the fabric! It really does suit you and is the perfect choice for this pattern. Lovely!
11/28/03 8:02 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very pretty!
11/29/03 1:39 PM
marykuris said...
Ooooh! I like that top! I'm a sucker for wrap tops and I have a full bustline, too. This one looks like a must-sew for me! Thanks, also, for the description of your alteration method. I will have to look for that Nancy Z. book!
11/29/03 1:59 PM
jlg said...
Great job again, Ann. I always love to see what you've made.
11/29/03 3:28 PM
Linda E. said...
Good looking top Ann it looks great on you.
11/30/03 4:35 PM
JDpenelope said...
It looks terrific on you and challenging for even an advanced sewer. Maybe later for me! (Much later.)
12/2/03 9:08 PM
jlg said...
Very sexy, Ann. Goes beautifully with the skirt.
1/7/04 1:42 PM
Penny Carlson said...
I'm getting this one tomorrow at the 75% off sale! Love it, and love the way it looks on you!
1/9/04 2:18 PM
moushka said...
Anne, this is a spectacular combination on you! The top is lovely and compliments the skirt fabric perfectly. I love the Lotus skirt too. One of the benefits of the SW patterns is that they do have great staying power. Thanks for the review.
2/9/05 5:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 5259

photo
by: KandiSEW

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now