SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> B5155 (Classic Shift Dress)

Viewed 518 times 
Reviewed by:gaginny
photo

 
 
About gaginnystar
GA USA
Member since: 2/23/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/09 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
Very flattering!
4/17/09 8:33 AM
Mary W said...
Great dress.
4/17/09 8:44 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful dress! You look so pretty wearing it!
4/17/09 9:00 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful. The lace detailed yoke really makes the dress.
4/17/09 9:27 AM
Diane E said...
Wonderful dress -- beautiful choice of fabric and lace!
4/17/09 11:44 AM
jonnie664 said...
Beautiful! Very chic and outstanding workmanship. I love the sparkly lace!!
4/17/09 12:11 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful dress - such nice colors on you, too! I have been looking at this pattern line and may give it a try now that yours looks so great!
4/17/09 12:14 PM
pfaffkj said...
Lovely dress -- great combo of fabric and lace. And it looks super on you!
4/17/09 12:33 PM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful interpretation of a classic pattern. Such an elegant look! You have found a perfect dress pattern ~ it does fit you enviably well.
4/17/09 12:38 PM
Karendee said...
Lovely dress!
4/17/09 1:10 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your fabric choices are perfect for the style! Beautiful dress!
4/17/09 3:53 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful you - now that I have seen this made up I may buy it but before - well the drawing on the envelope is not encouraging to say the least!! Thanks for the review
4/17/09 5:25 PM
sideseams said...
Wow! Another beautiful dress!
4/17/09 9:20 PM
Ody said...
You have been sewing your fingers to the bone girl. Wow! Another wonderful dress! OK, I will split the difference---you keep this one even though I love it, and I will take the flower print one. I don't want to be too piggy after all your hard work!
4/17/09 9:35 PM
Denise L Perry said...
Thanks for the review! I was wondering if this would be sack-like, but it looks wonderful! I love that the zipper is unnecessary. Thanks again!
4/18/09 6:33 AM
gaginny said...
Thanks to you all for you kind remarks. Do give Connie's patterns a try...i think that you will love them as I do. btw..... I didn't do all this in a weekend.....more like over the past year....just never quite got around to getting them photographed and doing the reviews. When I get caught up I will try to stay more current.
4/18/09 8:37 AM
Kellie R. said...
Your dress is very pretty and feminine. Great job - you look fabulous!
4/19/09 10:26 AM
marycds said...
You have the most wonderful taste in fabrics and combinations. I've looked at this and some of Coni's other patterns but worry because there is no bust dart. Do you find that a problem for fit?
4/19/09 10:47 PM
gaginny said...
Thanks for you kind comments....For me the lack of a bust dart is not a problem. I am only a B cup, carrying my weight below the waist, but she designs for the larger woman so I am sure that she takes all shapes into consideration. She actually drapes on real large size women rather than just grading up from a smaller size. I get the best fit of my life with her patterns. Give her a try....I think you will be pleasantly surprise.
4/20/09 7:01 AM
MagpieJen said...
This is so classic - just beautiful on you!
4/20/09 2:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-111

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
No Pattern Used Mimi G\'s self drafted pat

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now