Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8353 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1331 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:piffle
photo
Friend of PR
About pifflestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/09 12:38 PM
Last Updated:5/17/09 5:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
I'm looking forward to seeing the final product. Where did you find the 100% cotton checks? I loved this pattern when it came out, but I can only find the gingham checks in a cotton poly blend.
4/17/09 1:24 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow. I love what the checks are doing here. SOO cool, cant wait to see the finished product too!
4/20/09 11:26 AM
papago said...
Love it! Great job. Laura
4/20/09 1:00 PM
MagpieJen said...
Wow! This is such an inspirational design. Thanks for the heads-up on what washing might do, and to beware of the cutting. Looking forward to the finished dress!
4/20/09 1:36 PM
AquariJenn said...
For some reason I was thinking about this pattern the other night. I'm glad to see someone working on it. Looks great!
4/21/09 5:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely PERFECT! Your hand basting paid off big time. Great job! :o)
4/21/09 9:33 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Can't wait to see if finished.
4/21/09 11:00 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
I give you extra points for even attempting that effect with the checks- and it came out perfectly!
5/16/09 12:48 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome! wish I could see the picture on the review bigger... Looks great in the inprogress photo that pops up when I click the review photo. All that hand-work paid off-- Success was your! Hope you got gobs of complements.
5/16/09 1:07 PM
EleanorSews said...
Perfection! You really put in the time on this one and it shows ~ truly a work of art.
5/16/09 1:33 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great job on your dress. This is on my to-do list as well and I'm hoping to get to it sometime this summer. It's such a great design.
5/16/09 3:02 PM
sixcatsterry said...
Just think if you put all that work into this dress and then when you washed it it no longer fit!!! One of the first things I ever learned was pre-wash (if it is to be washed) or pre-steam if it is to be dry cleaned. A lot of work and the basting paid off beautifully.
5/16/09 6:41 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I definitely think prewashing is the way to go. What if you'd done all this work and after you washed it the first time you could never wear it again? Many times with tucks, or quilting, or anything with many seams, being off 1mm each seam will cause significant changes in size. Much better be safe than sorry, and if possible cut your pattern pieces out after you're done with the decorating part. In this case it'd be ankward to cut that shape, but you could trace the pattern onto the fabric, and then check the waist width with the pattern before cutting afterwards. At the very least you should leave 2" seam allowances in the direction where seams will be sewn. And I won't take up space telling you how I found out that one :-)..
5/17/09 4:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your tucks are perfect. Great idea to hand baste them.
5/17/09 8:03 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful dress! Perfet and gorgeous on you !!!!
5/17/09 4:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
GREAT dress and you both look SUPER!
5/18/09 10:51 AM
fourkid said...
This is adorable!! I love it. And you did such a GREAT job! One trick I learned (that may or may not work here) is when there is no room for letting out, but you need just another inch or two - I have added a small panel insert down along each side seam. Once on a striped seersucker I did that for my Dgd, but turned the stripe on the crossgrain - I actually liked it better with that interest detail. Just another option as an "in case" scenario.
5/21/09 3:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book Bloom dress
photo
Review by KLK7 on 2/14/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 2/8/09
Read Review

McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us