SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8353 (MISSES' DRESS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1333 times 
Reviewed by:piffle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About pifflestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/09 12:38 PM
Last Updated:5/17/09 5:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ladybegood said...
I'm looking forward to seeing the final product. Where did you find the 100% cotton checks? I loved this pattern when it came out, but I can only find the gingham checks in a cotton poly blend.
4/17/09 1:24 PM
amy in mpls said...
Wow. I love what the checks are doing here. SOO cool, cant wait to see the finished product too!
4/20/09 11:26 AM
papago said...
Love it! Great job. Laura
4/20/09 1:00 PM
MagpieJen said...
Wow! This is such an inspirational design. Thanks for the heads-up on what washing might do, and to beware of the cutting. Looking forward to the finished dress!
4/20/09 1:36 PM
AquariJenn said...
For some reason I was thinking about this pattern the other night. I'm glad to see someone working on it. Looks great!
4/21/09 5:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely PERFECT! Your hand basting paid off big time. Great job! :o)
4/21/09 9:33 PM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Can't wait to see if finished.
4/21/09 11:00 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
I give you extra points for even attempting that effect with the checks- and it came out perfectly!
5/16/09 12:48 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Awesome! wish I could see the picture on the review bigger... Looks great in the inprogress photo that pops up when I click the review photo. All that hand-work paid off-- Success was your! Hope you got gobs of complements.
5/16/09 1:07 PM
EleanorSews said...
Perfection! You really put in the time on this one and it shows ~ truly a work of art.
5/16/09 1:33 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great job on your dress. This is on my to-do list as well and I'm hoping to get to it sometime this summer. It's such a great design.
5/16/09 3:02 PM
sixcatsterry said...
Just think if you put all that work into this dress and then when you washed it it no longer fit!!! One of the first things I ever learned was pre-wash (if it is to be washed) or pre-steam if it is to be dry cleaned. A lot of work and the basting paid off beautifully.
5/16/09 6:41 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I definitely think prewashing is the way to go. What if you'd done all this work and after you washed it the first time you could never wear it again? Many times with tucks, or quilting, or anything with many seams, being off 1mm each seam will cause significant changes in size. Much better be safe than sorry, and if possible cut your pattern pieces out after you're done with the decorating part. In this case it'd be ankward to cut that shape, but you could trace the pattern onto the fabric, and then check the waist width with the pattern before cutting afterwards. At the very least you should leave 2" seam allowances in the direction where seams will be sewn. And I won't take up space telling you how I found out that one :-)..
5/17/09 4:00 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your tucks are perfect. Great idea to hand baste them.
5/17/09 8:03 AM
Mahler said...
Wonderful dress! Perfet and gorgeous on you !!!!
5/17/09 4:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
GREAT dress and you both look SUPER!
5/18/09 10:51 AM
fourkid said...
This is adorable!! I love it. And you did such a GREAT job! One trick I learned (that may or may not work here) is when there is no room for letting out, but you need just another inch or two - I have added a small panel insert down along each side seam. Once on a striped seersucker I did that for my Dgd, but turned the stripe on the crossgrain - I actually liked it better with that interest detail. Just another option as an "in case" scenario.
5/21/09 3:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Burda 7207

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now