SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-106B (Re-fashioned T-Shirt)

14 more reviews
Viewed 443 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/17/09 3:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your Tee shirt. I think my favorite part is the striped back. Way too cute!
1/5/10 12:22 PM
kim*brown said...
Your creations are always so much fun! Way to go GREEN! Love it!
4/21/09 8:56 AM
amy in mpls said...
Great modification! A+ for you!!!
4/20/09 11:21 AM
Nancywin said...
Great job. I, too, hate the typical T, but your revisions make this very "cool"
4/19/09 8:09 PM
bananaoil said...
Good work. I decided that T-shirt crew neck is the least attractive (and often uncomfortable) on most women. I like the v neck much better and the striped back IS cool, your student was right.
4/19/09 7:11 PM
Kellie R. said...
LOVE it! I'm so glad that you showed everybody and refashioned the unfashionable! I expect no less from you!!! LOL - Fabulous job, you look GREAT!
4/19/09 10:24 AM
Heidi Ho said...
So cool!!! I love the way you refashioned this T-shirt!!!
4/18/09 8:10 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! You look fantastic in your re-fashioned T!! I bet the kids just love you!!! No wonder!! Annette
4/18/09 2:36 PM
Christas said...
What a brilliant idea! You look SO nice in your perfectly refashioned t-shirt! Good idea to tell the young man "No".... I can see him loading you up with a whole stack of t-shirt's to refashion!!!
4/18/09 11:18 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your sweet comments everyone! Anne Marie, you got me humming some Police tunes..GotPeace, I kept the lower hem of the original sleeves and pretty much kept its original length. I edited the modifications section in the review about the sleeves. Angie.A , I agree that there was something strange about how the slogan went across the bodice and could not articulate what it was. You got me giggling! Hee hee hee!!!!
4/18/09 10:44 AM
becca a said...
What a great refashioning of the generic one size fits nobody tee!
4/18/09 10:07 AM
Barbara V said...
What a great improvement over the basic t-shirt. You did a great job and it looks wonderful on you.
4/18/09 9:58 AM
JEF said...
You are so clever to have done this. I think it looks great!
4/18/09 9:48 AM
Sic said...
Very clever make over - those give away t-shirts never fit me well either!
4/18/09 9:18 AM
angie.a said...
Great save! I seriously thought it said "Got Boob" from the gallery pic though. HAHAHAH!!! Why yes, yes I do. :P
4/18/09 8:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
What great "refashioning" :) ! And good for you for with that non-committal "No." comment on alterations. I have several, uh, "beefy" tees that need refashioning. My gym tees could have a second life. I have several of the huge mens' t-shirts that I wear for working out, but they now have those aluminum antipersperant underarm stains. Refashioning the tees would cut that section right out along with nicer armholes and neckline. I'd actually look fashionable when I'm sweating like a pig if I did this. You've given me the nod... ;) .
4/18/09 7:59 AM
ITAdmin said...
Much cuter than the original! Those institutional T-shirts don't make much of a fashion statement.
4/18/09 6:02 AM
2BSewing said...
Your refashioned T is awesome. Much better neckline and fit. I like the style. :)
4/17/09 11:16 PM
Annette1 said...
This turned out SO cute! What an improvement, not only in the neckline, but the sleeves, too. Of course, there's a nice surprise with the striped back, as well. GOOD ANSWER on the "alterations" questions. That's always my answer, too. I don't even do my OWN alterations, much less somebody else's.
4/17/09 9:45 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Wow! You did an amazing job on this! There is a great difference between the two. It is so much more flattering now! Was your daughter pleased with the result? Did you shorten the sleeves? They look different.
4/17/09 9:01 PM
Diane E said...
So smart in so many ways!
4/17/09 8:08 PM
librarylady said...
Brilliant!
4/17/09 6:16 PM
emo said...
So cute. I love the back. I am sure you did not "look like a man" in the original shirt, but this is adorable.
4/17/09 6:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've done this with a lot of oversized freebie Tshirts - I generally use my TNT KS 3338 tshirt, cut the oversize shirt apart at the sides and remove the sleeves, and then lay the KS pieces overtop. Unless I want to change the neckline, I don't open the shoulder seam and therefore get to keep the original neck. Great job on this, and bravo to the male student aware enough to compliment you.
4/17/09 4:28 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Great job on refashioning the T-shirt!! I also hate standard T-shirts as they always look stupid on me and I feel "manly" also in them, so I love, love, love the way you changed this. Bad me just refuses to wear T-shirts when they give them out...
4/17/09 4:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Great job on the t-shirt makeover! I have a ton of freebie men's t-shirts (from years of working at software companies), and I've thought about doing something like this but never have.
4/17/09 4:01 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Sting would sing, "Don't wanna be no fuddy duddy. Starting up a brand-new way." Well, Sting said, "day," but the "way" you refashioned this T is brilliant. I like the way the "800" skims along the neckline, and the blue-and-white stripes for the back is artistic and fresh!
4/17/09 3:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: gsp1066

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now