Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-106B (Re-fashioned T-Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 442 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:4/17/09 3:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Sting would sing, "Don't wanna be no fuddy duddy. Starting up a brand-new way." Well, Sting said, "day," but the "way" you refashioned this T is brilliant. I like the way the "800" skims along the neckline, and the blue-and-white stripes for the back is artistic and fresh!
4/17/09 3:38 PM
michellep74 said...
Great job on the t-shirt makeover! I have a ton of freebie men's t-shirts (from years of working at software companies), and I've thought about doing something like this but never have.
4/17/09 4:01 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Great job on refashioning the T-shirt!! I also hate standard T-shirts as they always look stupid on me and I feel "manly" also in them, so I love, love, love the way you changed this. Bad me just refuses to wear T-shirts when they give them out...
4/17/09 4:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
I've done this with a lot of oversized freebie Tshirts - I generally use my TNT KS 3338 tshirt, cut the oversize shirt apart at the sides and remove the sleeves, and then lay the KS pieces overtop. Unless I want to change the neckline, I don't open the shoulder seam and therefore get to keep the original neck. Great job on this, and bravo to the male student aware enough to compliment you.
4/17/09 4:28 PM
emo said...
So cute. I love the back. I am sure you did not "look like a man" in the original shirt, but this is adorable.
4/17/09 6:11 PM
librarylady said...
Brilliant!
4/17/09 6:16 PM
Diane E said...
So smart in so many ways!
4/17/09 8:08 PM
gotpeace91 said...
Wow! You did an amazing job on this! There is a great difference between the two. It is so much more flattering now! Was your daughter pleased with the result? Did you shorten the sleeves? They look different.
4/17/09 9:01 PM
Annette1 said...
This turned out SO cute! What an improvement, not only in the neckline, but the sleeves, too. Of course, there's a nice surprise with the striped back, as well. GOOD ANSWER on the "alterations" questions. That's always my answer, too. I don't even do my OWN alterations, much less somebody else's.
4/17/09 9:45 PM
2BSewing said...
Your refashioned T is awesome. Much better neckline and fit. I like the style. :)
4/17/09 11:16 PM
ITAdmin said...
Much cuter than the original! Those institutional T-shirts don't make much of a fashion statement.
4/18/09 6:02 AM
ryan's mom said...
What great "refashioning" :) ! And good for you for with that non-committal "No." comment on alterations. I have several, uh, "beefy" tees that need refashioning. My gym tees could have a second life. I have several of the huge mens' t-shirts that I wear for working out, but they now have those aluminum antipersperant underarm stains. Refashioning the tees would cut that section right out along with nicer armholes and neckline. I'd actually look fashionable when I'm sweating like a pig if I did this. You've given me the nod... ;) .
4/18/09 7:59 AM
angie.a said...
Great save! I seriously thought it said "Got Boob" from the gallery pic though. HAHAHAH!!! Why yes, yes I do. :P
4/18/09 8:57 AM
Sic said...
Very clever make over - those give away t-shirts never fit me well either!
4/18/09 9:18 AM
JEF said...
You are so clever to have done this. I think it looks great!
4/18/09 9:48 AM
Barbara V said...
What a great improvement over the basic t-shirt. You did a great job and it looks wonderful on you.
4/18/09 9:58 AM
becca a said...
What a great refashioning of the generic one size fits nobody tee!
4/18/09 10:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your sweet comments everyone! Anne Marie, you got me humming some Police tunes..GotPeace, I kept the lower hem of the original sleeves and pretty much kept its original length. I edited the modifications section in the review about the sleeves. Angie.A , I agree that there was something strange about how the slogan went across the bodice and could not articulate what it was. You got me giggling! Hee hee hee!!!!
4/18/09 10:44 AM
Christas said...
What a brilliant idea! You look SO nice in your perfectly refashioned t-shirt! Good idea to tell the young man "No".... I can see him loading you up with a whole stack of t-shirt's to refashion!!!
4/18/09 11:18 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! You look fantastic in your re-fashioned T!! I bet the kids just love you!!! No wonder!! Annette
4/18/09 2:36 PM
Heidi Ho said...
So cool!!! I love the way you refashioned this T-shirt!!!
4/18/09 8:10 PM
Kellie R. said...
LOVE it! I'm so glad that you showed everybody and refashioned the unfashionable! I expect no less from you!!! LOL - Fabulous job, you look GREAT!
4/19/09 10:24 AM
bananaoil said...
Good work. I decided that T-shirt crew neck is the least attractive (and often uncomfortable) on most women. I like the v neck much better and the striped back IS cool, your student was right.
4/19/09 7:11 PM
Nancywin said...
Great job. I, too, hate the typical T, but your revisions make this very "cool"
4/19/09 8:09 PM
amy in mpls said...
Great modification! A+ for you!!!
4/20/09 11:21 AM
kim*brown said...
Your creations are always so much fun! Way to go GREEN! Love it!
4/21/09 8:56 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I love your Tee shirt. I think my favorite part is the striped back. Way too cute!
1/5/10 12:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aleah42 on 2/22/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-119 Dress with Bow
photo
Review by mpastinell... on 3/17/11
Read Review

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us