Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6029 (coordinates) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1613 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara J
photo
About Barbara Jstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/03 6:32 PM
Last Updated:12/11/03 11:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a. sHEWAN said...
Thanks for the review, I have this pattern in my pile of things to make. What about a picture?
11/28/03 7:57 AM
Karla Kizer said...
That does look like a nicely designed top. I might not have noticed it if you hadn't reviewed it, and I appreciate your attention to the nice drafting details. Thanks!
11/28/03 8:51 AM
Barbara J said...
Hopefully, I will be able to do a photo, dd's boyfriend will have to take it, and email it to me, so may be a few days.
11/28/03 6:16 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Barbara - to get permission for all to view your pictures you have to go into the folder at yahoo adn change the settings - they are probably at Private now, and you can change the settings so that we all can see them
12/10/03 7:58 AM
Jackie M said...
I have this pattern, and am planning on making all the pieces. I even have the fabric. I will definitely use your suggestions -- I, too, hate packaged bias binding and always make my own. New Look 6149 has a similar wrap top, except with cut-on (kimono) sleeves. I've made the wrap top and v-neck; both were wadders, despite the fact that I used stretch knit fabric, which is very forgiving. More my fault than New Look's, I'm sure. I found the wrap top to be quite short -- was that the case with the sleeveless wrap as well?
12/10/03 8:52 AM
Barbara J said...
I'll try your suggestion Marie, this is the first time I have submitted photos myself. DD boyfriend takes them. Jackie M, No I don't think the top is particularly short, the pants look lowere in the photo than on DD so she made me lower them. The photos I have don't really show the length well, but will use them and DD said they will take more, but in the meantime will use these ones.
12/11/03 3:24 AM
Jackie M said...
Barbara, I can't see the photos, and I've signed into Ofoto ... and I so want to see this top!
12/11/03 6:55 PM
cindyann said...
I am so anxious to see your pics. I've made this top and I had a few problems with the armhole too. I found the tie through fabric to be too bulky for the slot, but perhaps it was just the fabric I used. Overalll, I really like this top and I made the pants pattern into a pair of shorts that were really great. Thanks for the review.
12/11/03 7:00 PM
CatherineN said...
A very informative review. The top does fit nicely.
12/11/03 9:36 PM
Barbara J said...
I wish I knew what to suggest so you can view. Catherine could you see the photos,?ofcourse I can but I cannot find anything to alter it to help you all. Cindyann, Suz armhole problem wasn't with the pattern but her 'c' cup bust was that your problem too?
12/11/03 11:06 PM
Chandra said...
Barbara - I can see the photos and I think it looks great. You did a really nice job with fitting!
12/11/03 11:19 PM
Barbara J said...
Well, I'v fiddled around if anyone can view the photos please let me know as its frustrating to me to.
12/11/03 11:29 PM
Barbara J said...
Thanks Chandra hope my fiddling hasn't made them invisible.
12/11/03 11:32 PM
a. sHEWAN said...
Top looks great, I keep looking at the pattern but i'm thinking of making it in a knit. Do you think it would work.
12/12/03 7:36 AM
cindyann said...
Barbara, I still can't see the photos. Hmmm....wierd. I did not make a bust adjustment, I'm a B cup :(. The armhole gapes a bit in the front. Although, it's certainly wearable. The bigger problem for me was the bulky tie through. I didn't really spend the time to evaluate the problem but I had planned to try this pattern again.
12/12/03 7:48 AM
Barbara J said...
Yes, I do think it would be nice in a knit, I am not sure if you would need to stabilize the tie area though. Cindyann, about the bulky tie, DD was pulling the tie through the gap too far and then had trouble with the bulk, once she loosed it off a bit it was okay, so maybe if the sides of yours were narrowed down next time or you loosed that tie it might help.
12/12/03 6:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 2012-3 large totes
photo
Review by katlew03 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us