SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7854 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE TUNIC)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1065 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/09 0:37 AM
Last Updated:4/18/09 6:16 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
I forgot, I just bought the pattern. I will call it the Annette tunic wonder pattern ;-)
4/20/09 1:28 PM
Mahler said...
Bonjour Annette ! Another wonderful version of this tunic. I remember the red one ... and I still have plans for the fabric ;-) Just no time at the moment. What a wonderful fabric and a clever use of your new serger !!!!!!!!!!!!! What skills ;-) Thank you for the Easter confidence. A little question is crap a bad word ? Also, I apologize for always being so late to comment your creations, I am overloaded of "homeworks" with my management courses. P.S. Christas and Meggie Lulu look like sisters... amazing family !
4/20/09 1:27 PM
Nana39 said...
Great top! I'm sure Aunt Ruth loves it. It is so nice of you to sew for her and drive half way across the world to deliver them and then stop and see the such cute little girls on the way home. I heard you had a great visit even if you didn't get any sleep and you and Christa are too old to be having slumber parties. LOL
4/19/09 7:56 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket, and I loved the story of your visit.
4/19/09 1:47 PM
cmarie12 said...
First you buy the same fabric I have...then you show me a new way to use a pattern I've had since forever...then you show pictures of a wonderful visit you had with sewing friends! Are you trying to make me green with envy!?! *LOL* Great review and great jacket btw!
4/19/09 1:39 PM
Ody said...
Great jacket and a wonderful read as usual!
4/19/09 1:24 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your success with this pattern. Enjoyed your review a lot (as always). I now see more possibilities in this pattern and want it too.
4/19/09 12:36 PM
Riesie said...
I have had this pattern in my stash for a long time - think I will have to move it closer to the top of the pile. I would never have thought of using eyelet - terrific. And I LOVED the travelogue - sounds like you had a great time.
4/19/09 12:08 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! I love the fabric and color - I'm digging the SERGED seams too!
4/19/09 10:14 AM
Catbird said...
Thanks for adding photos of those beautiful booties! I love all the colors and that fuzzy yarn on the pink ones. Meggie is a sweetheart to give those babies something to make them feel warm and cared for.
4/19/09 9:24 AM
kerrynw said...
Great jacket! Fantastic review!
4/19/09 7:41 AM
2BSewing said...
Gorgeous! The eyelet fabric is beautiful. Thank you for writing such an entertaining review, complete with pictures. I enjoyed reading about your trip and spending time with your sewing sisters. I don't think I've laughed so much while reading a review. :)
4/18/09 11:29 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the eyelet fabric! Your serged seams are perfect. Anna Ruth must be a popular name for aunts because my DH has one by that name, too. Great photos of your visit! I am sorry about your computer. That's just awful.
4/18/09 8:26 PM
Birgitte said...
What a fun review to read! The jacket looks beautiful and your serged seams are worthy of pictures :)) Like others have said; it's heartwarming to see friendships like yours, Christa, and Meggie Lulu. PR is a wonderful place.
4/18/09 3:53 PM
Catbird said...
Well this started my day with a smile! This review reminds me of those Russian nesting dolls, where you open them up and keep finding more beautiful surprises the deeper you go. Your top for Aunt Anna Ruth is so pretty, and I wish the photos you took of her wearing it hadn't evaporated. The pictures and commentary from your visit with Christa and Meggie LuLu are priceless! I agree with Lily that a photo of you playing kickball in your slides would have been even more priceless, but who knows, maybe Christa or Meggie took some good blackmail shots. Oh that's right, Meggie was making delicious cookies.... Thank you for sharing your trip and for a GREAT review. What a funny, talented and generous bunch you are!
4/18/09 3:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette, Absolutely gorgeous cover-up jacket for Aunt Anna Ruth, with the Galveston heat approaching, and a perfect seam finish with your new serger. What endearing photos of Christa/Meggie's loving, beautiful family, but I sure wish I had a photo of you playing kickball; that would have been worth gold and provided ample fuel for future extortion. How busy you've been! All around lovely, Lily
4/18/09 2:48 PM
Karendee said...
What a treat to read such a fun review. I loved hearing about the visit with Meggie, Christa, and the family.
4/18/09 2:41 PM
marjenann said...
OMG!! Another fabulous garment, a heartwarming story and a great pattern review. You are spoiling all of your fans, and we are thoroughly enjoying all of it!! Annette too!
4/18/09 2:29 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Love the tunic AND the tale about your trip to visit the "girls"! The pictures you have are very "special" ... I know that you will now save them in a special place to keep SAFE!!! They are all so LUCKY to be living where they are!!! & NOT near Philly! I bet Aunt Anna Ruth was just thrilled over her new outfit.... you are a very special person..to relatives, friends & fellow PR members!! I also am glad that you were talked into the serger! You really deserved one.
4/18/09 1:27 PM
Kay Y said...
Love your pictures, including the off-topic ones. I'm so glad we talked you into buying that serger! The jacket is wonderful - if it had been me I would have been tempted to keep it...
4/18/09 12:16 PM
moushka said...
Lovely jacket, lovely to hear about your visit to the adorable Meggie Lulu and family. What a pleasure to read all the good news on PR. Thank you. Sue
4/18/09 12:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Lovely eyelet fabric + serger + chic style + talented fashion artist = one BEAUTIFUL jacket for Aunt Anna Ruth! I'm so glad that you got to use your new handy-dandy serger and I am very proud of your serged seams.....very cool! Thank you also for sharing such priceless pics of our cuties of Oklahoma...You all seem, seam like you are nearby....Yes, thanks to Deepika, PR does bring great people together......
4/18/09 10:17 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, I LOVE Anna Ruth's jacket!! It is SOOOOO PRETTY!! You are so SNEAKY!! What a SURPRISE to wake up to this morning!!! Next visit you won't BELIEVE how many photos I am going to take of you!!! You won't be killed for posting these photos!! LOL!!
4/18/09 10:00 AM
Christas said...
DEAREST Annette! The jacket is wonderful! I was sure Anna Ruth would have a fit over it! The fabric is amazing ..... ask me how I know! Hmmm, I spy some lovely navy eyelet in the stash (which, by the way, has grown and grown to be quite a large stash since meeting you)! Now.... I was told I would be killed for posting ONE picture of you with the girls in my review and HOW MANY did you post??? SO.... you won't be killed and I must say it was wonderful to relive your visit through looking at the pics. What a very dear friend you are. Deepika has blessed people far more than she knows by putting PR together!
4/18/09 9:24 AM
Renren said...
Well, I'm glad you accidentally topped this because I missed it when originally posted. I love the dark blue eyelet and the styling of this top/jacket. I hope Aunt Anna Ruth was delighted with it. And I'm amazed at your serger prowess for such a new owner.
4/18/09 9:02 AM
Re Becca said...
What a stunning use for eyelet! it looks like you had a great weekend!
4/18/09 8:54 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Once again a very interesting review. I am in awe of your skills sewing, serging and creativity. Love this jacket. BTW, I am so glad you got that serger.
4/18/09 8:26 AM
carolynw said...
Beuatiful jacket Annette adn I love reading about your visit with Meggie LuLu and her family - am I right inthinkign this lovely relationship was born from PR - Deepika should take note - it is so heart warming should be told often. Now I guess I have to salute you as "Mistress of the Serger" way to go
4/18/09 8:20 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket and lovely serged seams. It will be perfect for Galveston weather this summer. I enjoyed reading about your visit with the lovely Christa and Meggie Lulu and family. Sounds like fun!
4/18/09 7:36 AM
Athene said...
Awsome jacket - so unique and pretty in the eyelet and very neat serged seams. Also great pictures of your visit - the cookies look especially yummy.
4/18/09 3:55 AM
michellep74 said...
Lovely jacket! Thanks for the very entertaining review!
4/18/09 1:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1257

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 249743-1000

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review