SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2938 (Trousers/pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 646 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews: 185 (patterns: 135)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/09 5:07 AM
Last Updated:4/18/09 6:25 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by FreyaStark using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
FreyaStark said... (4/18/09 6:10 PM) Reply
Many thanks for all those kind and encouraging remarks. Yes, I was expecting the fabric to be the colour of a healthy camel. Taupe is a difficult colour to pin down. There's no back view. I haven't got a resident personal photographer, and finding someone with aptitude and patience isn't always possible. No, I made no other alterations for fit. I made the size that corresponded with my measurements and, although when trying on after stitching the side seams it looked as if the pants would be too tight, when the zip was in they did fit. One possible future alteration would be to take in the waist a bit; I forgot to mention that the pants feel loose in the waist compared with the hip.
Annette1 said... (4/18/09 1:31 PM) Reply
I think these pants look GREAT on you, and I too am liking that SICKLY ELEPHANT GRAY -- ha! :o)) Actually, I think the "hip-hugging style" is very flattering on you. As a matter of fact, this looks like a TNT to me. :o) Ah, yes, I WELL remember the flared jeans of the '70s with the frayed bottoms, AND the bare feet. My feet were tough as nails! I think my mom saved my favorite pair of jeans from that era (and my favorite platform shoes). :o) On another note, I recently bought three cute cottons prints to make me some pajama bottoms after I saw your Hawaiian print PJs. My prints aren't nearly as pretty as yours (and somewhat subdued, now that I think about it), but you were my inspiration!
Luckylibbet said... (4/18/09 12:25 PM) Reply
I think they're flattering, and seem to have a good fit. It's easy to add pockets... thanks for a helpful review.
Vintage Joan said... (4/18/09 10:47 AM) Reply
Nice! I actually think the "hip-hugging" style suits you very well.
Christas said... (4/18/09 9:47 AM) Reply
I think these look very nice on you. Your sewing is wonderful!
persevering said... (4/18/09 9:42 AM) Reply
What a fab fit! Be nice to see a rear view to see if the fit is great there too. And you didn't make any other alteration except for shortening the length? PS - FYI, I find that having fitted clothes, helps me keep on track (maintaining measurements and weight - with great efforts of course).
fourkid said... (4/18/09 9:11 AM) Reply
Very nicely done. I think they look great - and you can just add a pocket in the sideseam if you decide to go back to this pattern.
renren said... (4/18/09 8:49 AM) Reply
These pants look really nice on you. Look at those sharp creases! And sickly elephant grey--that is very funny. It's probably just because you are used to the healthy camel tan of that camel you ride!!! Glad you came to like the grey in spite of the sickly elephant associations--it's lovely!
Rebecca D said... (4/18/09 7:47 AM) Reply
These pants look great on you and I, for one, think they are very flattering on you. It would be pretty easy to add a pocket, wouldn't it, now that you've got the fit down? I like the fabric, too!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 2311

photo
by: Sew Passio...

Review
Simplicity 1803

photo
by: kathlabath

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details