Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2008-109 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 342 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Wagtail
photo
About Wagtailstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/15/06
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/09 3:37 AM
Last Updated:5/12/09 4:41 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the review - I think your version worked really well!
5/12/09 6:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Your dress suits you nicely and looks fabulous. Perhaps a few trips through the wash will soften the denim too.
5/12/09 7:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is a really great style for you. You look great and did a nice job on it!
5/12/09 8:16 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jumper looks quite good, despite your disappointment over the collar. Your comment about taking the directions one sentence at a time is just the ticket. Thanks!
5/12/09 9:18 AM
EleanorSews said...
Sorry you aren't 1005 happy with your results. It's such a smart looking style and the fit is so nice. Maybe if you were to make it again, you could find a better collar from another pattern and subsitute that for a more satisfactory result?
5/12/09 9:52 AM
greenandlilac said...
As someone objective I can honestly say it looks stylish and flattering.
5/12/09 10:59 AM
Vintage Joan said...
That's a very nice jumper -- thanks for reviewing it. It looks great on you, IMO. :) Perhaps this one will grow on you.
5/12/09 11:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh, I hope you *do* wear this dress/tunic often, as it's very striking on you. Take a second look at your photos before rejecting it; very slimming and chic. Also, a flattering color for you. I like it a great deal, and particularly like how the collar stands up in the back, but spreads gracefully in the front. Lovely, Lily
5/12/09 3:56 PM
RLL said...
When I first saw the photo I thought 'oh how cool, I like that'. After reading your review, I am sorry it didn't turn out how you expected, but I agree with Lily that you need to take a second look at your photo's before rejecting this. You look great in it.
5/12/09 5:10 PM
Kbenco said...
It is so frustrating when the photo/ illustration for a pattern is a big fat lie! However, your tunic looks terrific, and could be a very useful multi season garment. I am quite tempted by your version.
5/12/09 10:54 PM
kerrynw said...
I think your dress looks great and would be perfect for the aussie winter.
5/13/09 9:54 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice dress. It's flattering and stylish
5/13/09 9:56 AM
crisford said...
This looks like a very stylish dress, and suits you well! I agree with all of the previous comments, and also I love how the collar stands up when open.
5/13/09 11:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

HotPatterns Classix Nouveau Razor-Sha
photo
Review by Nancy K on 7/24/07
Read Review

McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6154 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2957 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com Making Vintage Accessorie
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 3/2/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us