SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Other> p.84 Corsets & Crinolines (1901 Straight Front Corset)

Viewed 409 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/09 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
unfinishedprojects said...
There are no seam allowances on the pattern. I used 1/4" so the curved pieces were easier to sew.
4/30/10 11:47 AM
LordDorian said...
Really nice! I'm planning on making a corset for a friend of mine as a gift, and I think I'll use this pattern. Just one question: does the pattern include the seam allowance or do I have to add it?
4/27/10 2:17 PM
Dale C said...
I'm looking forward to seeing her wedding pics. The corset looks wonderful!
7/7/09 5:14 PM
droxy said...
WOW- but I figured this would require advanced abilities. -sighs- One day, one day....
5/14/09 2:04 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thanks so much for the reply - I can picture it perfectly now! I'm really looking forward to seeing the Temptress dress next too.
5/6/09 2:09 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
kittoness- no, I don't have a pattern! I'll be making one for the "My Pattern" contest so we'll see how nightmarish it gets...
5/6/09 1:05 PM
kittoness said...
Good luck with the NK Temptress dress. I did the same dress about a year after the movie came out. I hope you have a pattern (I didnt and let me tell you it was a nightmare to build with out one). And yes a great foundation will help you out a lot. If you liked the temptress another one that she wore that was fun to make was the grey "show must go on" Good luck=)
5/5/09 11:27 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
MagpieJen- the exterior and lining are each sewn up separately, then laid wrong sides together so the seams are all on the inside, and then basted and treated as one. When cutting out, I cut each piece's top and lining at the same time so they would match perfectly. I also pressed the seams in opposite directions for the exterior and lining so they would fit. Some corset patterns allow you to flatline each piece, and then assemble if you're using bone casing tape over each of the seam lines. This one's boning does not match the seams.
5/5/09 10:41 AM
MagpieJen said...
This is phenomenal - I would love to make a corset one day, so I'm eating this up :-) Is it essentially flat-lined, then? The lining and exterior are treated as one once they are basted together?
5/5/09 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

More Info
McCall's 5214

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review

Pattern