SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> p.84 Corsets & Crinolines (1901 Straight Front Corset)

Viewed 407 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/09 2:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
This is phenomenal - I would love to make a corset one day, so I'm eating this up :-) Is it essentially flat-lined, then? The lining and exterior are treated as one once they are basted together?
5/5/09 10:13 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
MagpieJen- the exterior and lining are each sewn up separately, then laid wrong sides together so the seams are all on the inside, and then basted and treated as one. When cutting out, I cut each piece's top and lining at the same time so they would match perfectly. I also pressed the seams in opposite directions for the exterior and lining so they would fit. Some corset patterns allow you to flatline each piece, and then assemble if you're using bone casing tape over each of the seam lines. This one's boning does not match the seams.
5/5/09 10:41 AM
kittoness said...
Good luck with the NK Temptress dress. I did the same dress about a year after the movie came out. I hope you have a pattern (I didnt and let me tell you it was a nightmare to build with out one). And yes a great foundation will help you out a lot. If you liked the temptress another one that she wore that was fun to make was the grey "show must go on" Good luck=)
5/5/09 11:27 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
kittoness- no, I don't have a pattern! I'll be making one for the "My Pattern" contest so we'll see how nightmarish it gets...
5/6/09 1:05 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thanks so much for the reply - I can picture it perfectly now! I'm really looking forward to seeing the Temptress dress next too.
5/6/09 2:09 PM
droxy said...
WOW- but I figured this would require advanced abilities. -sighs- One day, one day....
5/14/09 2:04 PM
Dale C said...
I'm looking forward to seeing her wedding pics. The corset looks wonderful!
7/7/09 5:14 PM
LordDorian said...
Really nice! I'm planning on making a corset for a friend of mine as a gift, and I think I'll use this pattern. Just one question: does the pattern include the seam allowance or do I have to add it?
4/27/10 2:17 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
There are no seam allowances on the pattern. I used 1/4" so the curved pieces were easier to sew.
4/30/10 11:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

McCall's 6571

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Vogue Patterns 8543

photo
by: wordchick

Review
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now