Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: p.84 Corsets & Crinolines (1901 Straight Front Corset) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 406 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/09 2:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagpieJen said...
This is phenomenal - I would love to make a corset one day, so I'm eating this up :-) Is it essentially flat-lined, then? The lining and exterior are treated as one once they are basted together?
5/5/09 10:13 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
MagpieJen- the exterior and lining are each sewn up separately, then laid wrong sides together so the seams are all on the inside, and then basted and treated as one. When cutting out, I cut each piece's top and lining at the same time so they would match perfectly. I also pressed the seams in opposite directions for the exterior and lining so they would fit. Some corset patterns allow you to flatline each piece, and then assemble if you're using bone casing tape over each of the seam lines. This one's boning does not match the seams.
5/5/09 10:41 AM
kittoness said...
Good luck with the NK Temptress dress. I did the same dress about a year after the movie came out. I hope you have a pattern (I didnt and let me tell you it was a nightmare to build with out one). And yes a great foundation will help you out a lot. If you liked the temptress another one that she wore that was fun to make was the grey "show must go on" Good luck=)
5/5/09 11:27 AM
unfinishedprojects said...
kittoness- no, I don't have a pattern! I'll be making one for the "My Pattern" contest so we'll see how nightmarish it gets...
5/6/09 1:05 PM
MagpieJen said...
Thanks so much for the reply - I can picture it perfectly now! I'm really looking forward to seeing the Temptress dress next too.
5/6/09 2:09 PM
droxy said...
WOW- but I figured this would require advanced abilities. -sighs- One day, one day....
5/14/09 2:04 PM
Dale C said...
I'm looking forward to seeing her wedding pics. The corset looks wonderful!
7/7/09 5:14 PM
LordDorian said...
Really nice! I'm planning on making a corset for a friend of mine as a gift, and I think I'll use this pattern. Just one question: does the pattern include the seam allowance or do I have to add it?
4/27/10 2:17 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
There are no seam allowances on the pattern. I used 1/4" so the curved pieces were easier to sew.
4/30/10 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Bapower57 on 9/6/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2734
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 10/26/10
Read Review

Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8955 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5446 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us