Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5800 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 859 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:JoanneM
photo
About JoanneMstar
MN USA
Member since: 12/26/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/09 9:10 PM
Last Updated:4/18/09 9:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Beautiful dress!
4/18/09 9:14 PM
lamstu said...
I often think the zippers are too long in the center back. Lovely dress and good review.
4/18/09 9:47 PM
Mary Nanna said...
I was thinking that you had a great waist for someone who had 4 children! Phew! It's for your daughter .. very cute. Lucky daughter to have a mum who is willing to sew for her (and make muslins, talk about going the extra mile..)
4/19/09 2:02 AM
JoanneM said...
Thanks Mary Nanna but alas (sigh), my waist departed many years ago....... Muslins are essential!!!! I could write a book on how many projects were destroyed because a simple muslin was neglected!!!!
4/19/09 7:20 AM
Jane in MS said...
Super dress! When I purchased this pattern with my D in mind she said it looked 'homemade'. I'm showing her your version - it's fabulous!
4/19/09 8:56 AM
BlossomKyle said...
ooh, I really like how that looks!! Great job!
4/19/09 10:02 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress!
4/19/09 10:12 AM
calminatrix said...
great dress!!! looking through your photos i notice you made the vogue blouse 8557. did you find you had to take it way in???
4/19/09 10:40 AM
JoanneM said...
Hi Calminatrix, Yes I had to take it in quite a bit. I have broad shoulders but EVERY BWOF and Vogue is BIG in the shoulder even though I measure correctly. I know to expect it so I prepare accordingly. MAKE A MUSLIN. It is a cute blouse,I like that it covers the top of my rear end with jeans! Good Luck!
4/19/09 10:51 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the dress. Very Audrey Hepburn!
4/19/09 2:08 PM
pfaffkj said...
Great dress -- daughter will wear it alot I'm sure. She's going to get many compliments.
4/19/09 4:06 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is a lovely dress.
4/19/09 6:03 PM
solosmocker said...
Wonderful LBD!
4/19/09 7:35 PM
Barbara V said...
What a wonderful LBD. Very classy indeed. Your mantra is well taken!
4/20/09 10:31 AM
MagpieJen said...
Wow - a washable Audrey lil' black dress! What a fantastic combination for a lucky daughter.
4/20/09 2:09 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful LBD!
4/20/09 5:39 PM
Stitchcakes said...
I want one, too! If she's going to wash black cotton sateen with towels, better get her a sticky lint roller, tho! lol.
4/21/09 12:15 PM
pittysmom101 said...
That's beautiful and so classic! I can just imagine vaccuming in high heels wearing that...LOL Very pretty...
4/21/09 11:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Other Le Cadran de la Mode
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 10/24/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-9 Perugia Blouse
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 4/21/11
Read Review

Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us