SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2601 (Misses Blouse)

25 more reviews
Viewed 747 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/20/09 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very pretty top!
4/20/09 8:45 PM
marec said...
It's a home run! :-) Your version is sooooo much nicer than the envelope photos/art. Really nice design and impressive workmanship. Love it.
4/20/09 8:48 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful! All those stripes working so well together, symmetrical even on the diagonal. Wow! Maybe this will help you with the loops: I have been watching Palmer/Pletsch Serger videos and in one they make spaghetti straps, and button loops, using their serger. They make a tail twice as long as they will need for straps/loops and then they lay it between a long, skinny piece of fabric (the right sides are together, like a long, flattened straw), and they serge the seam, making certain not to catch the long, long tail they made, which is at the core of this strip they are sewing. When they have sewn this flattened tube, they cut it off the newest tail, and then carefully pull the original long tail out of the tube and it turns the tube inside out. It is remarkable. The tubes/straps were perfect. I hope I have made this clear, but if you want, I will rewatch the videos and see exactly which one it is on. Also, maybe googling "Palmer/Pletsch spaghetti straps serger" will flush something out. Another thing I did when I sewed pajamas with skinny straps was to use a straw. After I sewed the flattened tube, I worked it around a straw, just gathered it on. Then I stuck this long, flexible blue thing through it, and caught the fabric end in it and pulled it through. I though of that while walking my dog because turning the straps was very, very tedious. It worked like a charm, but I would trust Palmer/Pletsch over anything I would do, of course. Good luck, because your work is just so fine!!! (Sorry I've used up so much space here.)
4/20/09 9:19 PM
Barbara V said...
What a cute style. Your version is wonderful with the vertical and diagonal placement of fabric.
4/20/09 9:20 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful! All those stripes working so well together, symmetrical even on the diagonal. Wow! Maybe this will help you with the loops: I have been watching Palmer/Pletsch Serger videos and in one they make spaghetti straps, and button loops, using their serger. They make a tail twice as long as they will need for straps/loops and then they lay it between a long, skinny piece of fabric (the right sides are together, like a long, flattened straw), and they serge the seam, making certain not to catch the long, long tail they made, which is at the core of this strip they are sewing. When they have sewn this flattened tube, they cut it off the newest tail, and then carefully pull the original long tail out of the tube and it turns the tube inside out. It is remarkable. The tubes/straps were perfect. I hope I have made this clear, but if you want, I will rewatch the videos and see exactly which one it is on. Also, maybe googling "Palmer/Pletsch spaghetti straps serger" will flush something out. Another thing I did when I sewed pajamas with skinny straps was to use a straw. After I sewed the flattened tube, I worked it around a straw, just gathered it on. Then I stuck this long, flexible blue thing through it, and caught the fabric end in it and pulled it through. I though of that while walking my dog because turning the straps was very, very tedious. It worked like a charm, but I would trust Palmer/Pletsch over anything I would do, of course. Good luck, because your work is just so fine!!! (Sorry I've used up so much space here.)
4/20/09 9:22 PM
Athene said...
Thank you for the review - your top turned out very nicely - helpful to know that you needed to add length to the upper bodice.
4/20/09 9:36 PM
Kaitlinnegan said...
I had a feeling this pattern had promise..and now I know it does! Yours looks fantastic!
4/20/09 9:43 PM
castout said...
The fabric seems perfect for this shirt. Very pretty!!
4/20/09 10:41 PM
chacha45 said...
You have a good eye. I wouldn't have thought I could get such a cool, elegant-looking garment from that rather frumpy-looking pattern photo.I really like the white button loops, they add zip and are so unexpected. Very arty!
4/20/09 10:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your blouse is really pretty! I love the silhouette and yours looks perfect and I don't think the loops look too thick at all!
4/21/09 8:40 AM
pfaffkj said...
Gorgeous top! Wonderful use of the fabric. This is a pattern I would never have looked at without your review. Thanks!
4/21/09 8:48 AM
persevering said...
Yes, very pretty.
4/21/09 9:05 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Feminine and flattering! Great job, as always.
4/21/09 9:09 AM
mleclair said...
I also looked at this pattern and wasn't sure about it. Yours is lovely. The pattern matching on the stripes is excellent. Thanks for a helpful review.
4/21/09 11:39 AM
Beek said...
Wow, this is a beautiful top. You've manipulated the fabric like a true expert! Bravo!
4/21/09 12:13 PM
JeanEsther said...
Wow--I didn't even consider this pattern because the photo was so unflattering, but now I'm putting it on my list.
4/21/09 5:14 PM
carolynw said...
Karen I love the top and it's recycled material - how "green" is that!! The fabric really gives it a big WOW factor!!
4/21/09 6:48 PM
Judy Wentz said...
I love this. Great job.
4/21/09 7:53 PM
MagpieJen said...
You're so right - this is much nicer than the envelope suggests! Such a flirty top!
4/22/09 12:37 PM
truebias said...
this is super helpful. i also thought that this pattern had a ton of potential. it reminds me of a shirt that would be at anthropologie with its 1950's cut. i am about to cut out my pattern tonight and i am also going to add to the bodice and skirt. thanks!
4/27/09 3:54 PM
Kelly D. said...
Very cute top. I can see the need for the alterations you did even on the model on the pattern envelope! You made this into a very chic and fresh spring top. On the loops, have you ever tried Fasturn tubes? I've made some pretty narrow loops with the smallest one and they turn like a dream as long as you cut your fabric on the bias and it isn't bulky, which would be unlikely for a blouse of this type.
5/8/09 9:50 AM
taffee said...
Very, very nice work. Good detail.
5/29/09 10:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
No Pattern Used Infinity Dress

photo
by: emr

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now