Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 517 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/09 10:29 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolineG said...
I love your styling in the photo. the dress is beautiful and the leggings are great!
4/21/09 10:33 AM
Kay Y said...
I can see why you totally love this dress! It is gorgeous on you. Slow to the party as usual, I'm now working on my version of this (the top, not the dress).
4/21/09 11:16 AM
pterion said...
Very cute dress! The leggings look perfect with it.
4/21/09 11:18 AM
QuickFade said...
That's adorable. I had seen this photo in your online photos and looked forward to the review. Now, does the lining make it hot? In Texas, it seems it would be too hot, but I totally get the part about smoothing out the bumps too!
4/21/09 11:43 AM
michellep74 said...
Really cute! Thanks for the tip about the underlining--I've wondered if this would work for some of my clingier jerseys.
4/21/09 12:06 PM
Beek said...
Thanks for such a great review. I have to psyche myself up to make/wear a knit T-shirt dress, but yours is adorable. It is very flattering without looking cheap.
4/21/09 12:10 PM
Izzie said...
Adorable! I love your fabric choice, and the lacey leggings are perfect!
4/21/09 1:29 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This dress is so cute! It looks great on you. :) (Pleading ignorance: what exactly is a "stay"?)
4/21/09 1:32 PM
Leora said...
Comfy yet stylish outfit, the print is so pretty!
4/21/09 2:12 PM
Sic said...
Very cute dress!
4/21/09 2:39 PM
Kellie R. said...
Cute dress! I had to chuckle when you described how the instructions wrote out understitching! LOL You look great in this!
4/21/09 2:44 PM
Christas said...
I love this as a dress! It looks super cute!
4/21/09 4:10 PM
velosewer said...
Your instructions are really helpful. The dress looks great and fits you well too.
4/21/09 6:33 PM
yoshimi said...
Very pretty dress! Thanks for the great review.
4/21/09 6:57 PM
Nancy K said...
It looks great on you and I love how you styled it. Sometimes the translation leaves a great deal to be desired at BWOF. The print is perfect for this dress.
4/21/09 7:51 PM
JoanneM said...
This looks lovely. How about that pattern eh? What a debacle but worth the persistence! Well done,you tackled the Latin T/dress!
4/21/09 9:21 PM
Elke said...
Great looking dress ... pretty fabric choice!
4/21/09 10:15 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an eyecatchingly gorgeous dress! You look so fun and chic!
4/21/09 10:50 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very flattering on you, but your sewn garments always are! Great job and excellent review!
4/21/09 11:05 PM
Caroleleah said...
Excellent choice for flattering your figure type! The yoke and pouf sleeves create the perfect balance!!
4/22/09 1:14 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, what a great review! The dress is really flattering and I would never guess there even *are* any lumps or bumps under there!
4/22/09 7:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
You are right--super cute! And that's a great assessment on fit. You wear this style VERY well, girlfriend!
4/22/09 12:19 PM
goodworks1 said...
"including amortization of magazine subscription" lol. I thought only family economics majors talked like that....rofl. I still like this dress and think your fitting and underlining decisions were just right.
5/22/11 3:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-6 Dolly Dress
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/30/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1650
photo
Review by BiKe on 2/23/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us