SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/09 10:29 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goodworks1 said...
"including amortization of magazine subscription" lol. I thought only family economics majors talked like that....rofl. I still like this dress and think your fitting and underlining decisions were just right.
5/22/11 3:30 PM
ryan's mom said...
You are right--super cute! And that's a great assessment on fit. You wear this style VERY well, girlfriend!
4/22/09 12:19 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, what a great review! The dress is really flattering and I would never guess there even *are* any lumps or bumps under there!
4/22/09 7:12 AM
Caroleleah said...
Excellent choice for flattering your figure type! The yoke and pouf sleeves create the perfect balance!!
4/22/09 1:14 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very flattering on you, but your sewn garments always are! Great job and excellent review!
4/21/09 11:05 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such an eyecatchingly gorgeous dress! You look so fun and chic!
4/21/09 10:50 PM
Elke said...
Great looking dress ... pretty fabric choice!
4/21/09 10:15 PM
JoanneM said...
This looks lovely. How about that pattern eh? What a debacle but worth the persistence! Well done,you tackled the Latin T/dress!
4/21/09 9:21 PM
Nancy K said...
It looks great on you and I love how you styled it. Sometimes the translation leaves a great deal to be desired at BWOF. The print is perfect for this dress.
4/21/09 7:51 PM
yoshimi said...
Very pretty dress! Thanks for the great review.
4/21/09 6:57 PM
velosewer said...
Your instructions are really helpful. The dress looks great and fits you well too.
4/21/09 6:33 PM
Christas said...
I love this as a dress! It looks super cute!
4/21/09 4:10 PM
Kellie R. said...
Cute dress! I had to chuckle when you described how the instructions wrote out understitching! LOL You look great in this!
4/21/09 2:44 PM
Sic said...
Very cute dress!
4/21/09 2:39 PM
Leora said...
Comfy yet stylish outfit, the print is so pretty!
4/21/09 2:12 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This dress is so cute! It looks great on you. :) (Pleading ignorance: what exactly is a "stay"?)
4/21/09 1:32 PM
Izzie said...
Adorable! I love your fabric choice, and the lacey leggings are perfect!
4/21/09 1:29 PM
Beek said...
Thanks for such a great review. I have to psyche myself up to make/wear a knit T-shirt dress, but yours is adorable. It is very flattering without looking cheap.
4/21/09 12:10 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute! Thanks for the tip about the underlining--I've wondered if this would work for some of my clingier jerseys.
4/21/09 12:06 PM
QuickFade said...
That's adorable. I had seen this photo in your online photos and looked forward to the review. Now, does the lining make it hot? In Texas, it seems it would be too hot, but I totally get the part about smoothing out the bumps too!
4/21/09 11:43 AM
pterion said...
Very cute dress! The leggings look perfect with it.
4/21/09 11:18 AM
Kay Y said...
I can see why you totally love this dress! It is gorgeous on you. Slow to the party as usual, I'm now working on my version of this (the top, not the dress).
4/21/09 11:16 AM
carolineG said...
I love your styling in the photo. the dress is beautiful and the leggings are great!
4/21/09 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

No Pattern Used iPad Case

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Simplicity 2057

photo
by: divabuddha

Review
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now