Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-112 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 654 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/09 6:42 PM
Last Updated:4/22/09 6:44 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I love everything about this top. I don't think you can have too many basic tees. I was surprised to read that you sewed the neckline with 5/8-in. seam allowance as opposed to 3/8 or even 1/4-in.. Was this the suggested SA in the pattern? Great job!
4/22/09 6:54 PM
RuthieSews said...
That's lovely and so much nicer than the magazine version.
4/22/09 6:59 PM
Diane E said...
Hi homejewel, thanks! I am lazy and I added 5/8" SAs to all edges (excluding hems) without thinking about it ;)
4/22/09 7:01 PM
Elke said...
Terrific looking tee! I like your fabric choice and the fit.
4/22/09 8:02 PM
Renren said...
Well, I don't think you are a one-trick pony; you put on quite a fine show! Also, those wedges you excise to get rid of the wrinkle at the back--do they look like darts coming off the CB seam with the widest part of the wedge at the CB seam and then blending into nothing? I'm kind of curious about them if you could easily elaborate.
4/22/09 8:34 PM
Christas said...
This is such a cute knit top .... love your fabric choice!
4/22/09 8:38 PM
Heatherrique said...
Diane, wowwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!! Such an elegant looking knit top......Beautiful work!
4/22/09 8:51 PM
JoanneM said...
Super cute!
4/22/09 9:13 PM
Kay Y said...
I really like your latest top Diane - what gorgeous fabric! Nice job on the neck binding too.
4/22/09 9:32 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic top, the fabric is gorgeous.
4/22/09 9:37 PM
Twinset said...
Your version of this pattern looks really nice!
4/22/09 9:44 PM
Mary Nanna said...
It looks really cute. I saw a tip on Burdastyle, about attaching binding to a neck edge. They used rib, but they recommended making the binding 1/3 smaller than the neck circumference as the right ratio to make it sit flat. Might be worth an experiment?
4/22/09 10:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful tee! I love this and I like your idea of adding a neckband. I never seem to have enough knit tops no matter how many I sew, so keep making them I say. :)
4/23/09 0:16 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful top. I am inspired to add it to my to do list.
4/23/09 7:53 AM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE this fabric! It turned a basic T into a very pretty and feminine top. Great job!
4/23/09 8:48 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love this top. I may have to make this one too . . .
4/23/09 10:17 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful top! I really like the neckline binding.
4/23/09 10:42 AM
cindyann said...
That is lovely! Beautiful work on the neckline.
4/23/09 12:07 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your comments -- I really appreciate them. Renren, my altered pattern piece looks like this, exactly as you described. I like to take out the inch in two whacks. Mary Nanna, thanks for the heads-up on the BurdaStyle neckband tip. I think it's safe to make the binding 1/3 the length of the neckline IF your binding fabric is as stretchy as ribbing. Since every fabric's stretch is different, one has to experiment with a seam ripper closeby, every time one sews a new knit fabric.
4/24/09 12:13 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute top!! I love that fabric!!!
4/24/09 3:43 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the review. It does look much nicer with a neckline binding. I appreciate you mentioning how you did it.
5/19/09 2:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Burda 7384 SKIRT
photo
Review by Sandi S on 5/1/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-124C 60s dress
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 7/4/07
Read Review

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3809 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us