SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-112 

15 more reviews
Viewed 655 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/09 6:42 PM
Last Updated:4/22/09 6:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Thanks for the review. It does look much nicer with a neckline binding. I appreciate you mentioning how you did it.
5/19/09 2:50 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cute top!! I love that fabric!!!
4/24/09 3:43 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your comments -- I really appreciate them. Renren, my altered pattern piece looks like this, exactly as you described. I like to take out the inch in two whacks. Mary Nanna, thanks for the heads-up on the BurdaStyle neckband tip. I think it's safe to make the binding 1/3 the length of the neckline IF your binding fabric is as stretchy as ribbing. Since every fabric's stretch is different, one has to experiment with a seam ripper closeby, every time one sews a new knit fabric.
4/24/09 12:13 PM
cindyann said...
That is lovely! Beautiful work on the neckline.
4/23/09 12:07 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful top! I really like the neckline binding.
4/23/09 10:42 AM
cabinbaby said...
I love this top. I may have to make this one too . . .
4/23/09 10:17 AM
Kellie R. said...
I LOVE this fabric! It turned a basic T into a very pretty and feminine top. Great job!
4/23/09 8:48 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful top. I am inspired to add it to my to do list.
4/23/09 7:53 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful tee! I love this and I like your idea of adding a neckband. I never seem to have enough knit tops no matter how many I sew, so keep making them I say. :)
4/23/09 0:16 AM
Mary Nanna said...
It looks really cute. I saw a tip on Burdastyle, about attaching binding to a neck edge. They used rib, but they recommended making the binding 1/3 smaller than the neck circumference as the right ratio to make it sit flat. Might be worth an experiment?
4/22/09 10:17 PM
Twinset said...
Your version of this pattern looks really nice!
4/22/09 9:44 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic top, the fabric is gorgeous.
4/22/09 9:37 PM
Kay Y said...
I really like your latest top Diane - what gorgeous fabric! Nice job on the neck binding too.
4/22/09 9:32 PM
JoanneM said...
Super cute!
4/22/09 9:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Diane, wowwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!! Such an elegant looking knit top......Beautiful work!
4/22/09 8:51 PM
Christas said...
This is such a cute knit top .... love your fabric choice!
4/22/09 8:38 PM
Renren said...
Well, I don't think you are a one-trick pony; you put on quite a fine show! Also, those wedges you excise to get rid of the wrinkle at the back--do they look like darts coming off the CB seam with the widest part of the wedge at the CB seam and then blending into nothing? I'm kind of curious about them if you could easily elaborate.
4/22/09 8:34 PM
Elke said...
Terrific looking tee! I like your fabric choice and the fit.
4/22/09 8:02 PM
Diane E said...
Hi homejewel, thanks! I am lazy and I added 5/8" SAs to all edges (excluding hems) without thinking about it ;)
4/22/09 7:01 PM
RuthieSews said...
That's lovely and so much nicer than the magazine version.
4/22/09 6:59 PM
homejewel said...
I love everything about this top. I don't think you can have too many basic tees. I was surprised to read that you sewed the neckline with 5/8-in. seam allowance as opposed to 3/8 or even 1/4-in.. Was this the suggested SA in the pattern? Great job!
4/22/09 6:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

New Look 6723

photo
by: Erinnb

Review
Simplicity 2176

photo
by: jorth

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

More Info