Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1623 (60's Nina Ricci Dress) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 643 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 0:10 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
busymomof3 said...
Wow! The dress looks great on you and you did a super job sewing it! I like the collar on you :)
4/23/09 0:21 AM
Annette1 said...
Such a wonderful interpretation of a vintage, yet modern, designer dress. That neckline has always been one of my favorites, and you wear it SO WELL. :o)
4/23/09 0:55 AM
morzel said...
Well done, Heather! This looks great, also the fabric is a fun choice.
4/23/09 1:16 AM
Terri A said...
Fab on you! Hey I love the link you included for Paperpast Yearbook!
4/23/09 2:49 AM
Terri A said...
OOPS! Double post sorry:-)
4/23/09 2:51 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. It looks great - including the collar. The print makes the dress more interesting than it would be in a plain fabric, such as in the rather drab version on the envelope.
4/23/09 5:51 AM
shesflipped said...
So chic! Love your dress~the style looks great on you, love the fabric choice, too!
4/23/09 6:04 AM
Renren said...
Everything about this dress suits you! Beautiful.
4/23/09 6:52 AM
marjenann said...
Wow, you are such a skilled couture!! Everything about this dress is flattering on you!!! Another winner!!!!
4/23/09 8:00 AM
sewdreaming said...
Great review for a great dress. Thanks!
4/23/09 8:06 AM
Re Becca said...
That is so ADORABLE!
4/23/09 8:06 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous dress! You always do such a fabulous job of marrying fabric with pattern. You look superb in your dress! Great job!
4/23/09 8:42 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
A timeless style that's very flattering on you. I adore your fabric choice! An excellent review packed with interesting and useful information. Bravo!
4/23/09 8:54 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - love this on you and the fabric is really eye catching
4/23/09 8:55 AM
Christas said...
This dress looks fantastic on you! The fabric could not be more perfect. Love your review!
4/23/09 9:04 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Vintage, but yet so current. I love that neckline, it looks fabulous on you. Another great review!
4/23/09 9:38 AM
pterion said...
You are one groovy chick in that Ricci dress! And the floral fabric really suits the style.
4/23/09 9:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is fabulous in style, fabric, color and workmanship...all of this makes it totally complimentary on you! You look great.
4/23/09 9:57 AM
Jali said...
Retro, modern chic! You have made one very fashionable dress. Thank you for the review. I wasn't very familiar with Nina Ricci before this. It's difficult to believe these styles are from decades ago. I think they are really timeless.
4/23/09 11:21 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a great dress! You look wonderful in this dress!
4/23/09 11:57 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fabulous! You're becoming quite the fashion guru around here. :D Oh, and thanks for sharing the link to that Paperpast Yearbook website!
4/23/09 12:02 PM
Amanda S. said...
WOW! I love it. You did a great job and the fabric is wonderful. I don't usually like the look of rolled collar clothing. It usually looks alien to me for some reason. But this one rocks! I think it's because the collar drapes forward slightly and we can see your neck.
4/23/09 2:39 PM
persevering said...
Pretty dress on you - the fabric is delightful. Thanks for you educational review.
4/23/09 3:22 PM
MagpieJen said...
Fab! A chic, beautifully made classic! That Paperpast link is cool! Though too bad the information gets sketchier on either end (they didn't have much for the early 40s either). I so agree about the vintage Vogue designer patterns, they are gorgeous - just like your dress!
4/23/09 4:05 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely dress -- classic yet contemporary.
4/23/09 9:43 PM
RobinMCPA said...
This turned out great! I like the print. I've heard that the vintage Vogue designers series is good from one of my sewing friends who sewed them the first time around. Cool how everything eventually comes back!
4/24/09 5:34 AM
Karine said...
Love the dress, and I think the collar style absolutely suits you. Thanks for the informative review.
4/24/09 9:39 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow that is a beautiful version of such a classic style. It looks great on you in that wonderful print!!!
4/24/09 3:56 PM
maryfrana said...
Oh, just love this! So fresh looking and such a great design.
4/25/09 1:25 PM
Mahler said...
This is a wonderful dress. I agree with you, the silhouette is wonderful. It is a great style for you. Woaw! Wonderful.
4/26/09 9:49 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful dress- It's very flattering on your figure. And while you say the collar style may not suit you, I thought it was the very thing that made it look uniquely yours.
4/27/09 10:56 AM
Oceanpeg said...
I like the fabric you used on the dress. Also like the simplicity of the style of the dress. Also like the neckline. Great job on making the dress.
4/30/09 1:11 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful dress - it looks fantastic on you. The print suits the pattern very nicely.
5/1/09 9:31 AM
HeyJane said...
Move over, Barrie Pace! You are saving yourself some serious cash flow. A beautiful creation. I really love that collar, it frames your face so nicely. Thanks for the great links, too.
5/4/09 4:07 PM
Athene said...
Oh my - what a fabulous foxy looking blast from the past you are in this dress. The style is fabulous on you and I love the print, as well as the great fit you achieved.
5/5/09 2:01 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Heather this is remarkable. I never gave a hoot to vintage anything, now you have me online trying to snatch up vintage patterns!! thank you!
5/5/09 11:50 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I am gearing up to make this for the Vintage contest, and grateful to see your review (saw your pic on Flickr) here. Thanks, and you look swelligant!
11/10/13 1:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us