SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1373 

Viewed 709 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 1:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda at Living Water said...
Very lovely. The pattern is awesome and I love the fabric choice. Looks great!
6/18/09 2:24 PM
heapha said...
wow that is a fantastic pattern done fantastically
6/9/09 10:08 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Very pretty dress and the fit is perfect!
5/1/09 8:05 PM
colourbynumber said...
I love the scoop neckline. Very attractive! It has the true vintage style!
5/1/09 12:43 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
Very cute dress. I love the waist in particular. You really have a way with grading up patterns and getting a good fit.
5/1/09 11:12 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Really a nice looking dress for a special occassion. You really did a good job on it.
4/29/09 9:12 PM
AnneM said...
What a spectacular job you did on this. It is really a cute style on you, I think. When I read your 80s comment I went and looked at the picture again, and I guess I can see some 80s in it, but it certainly didn't strike me that way when I saw it. You could make this style in a silk or rayon and it would look very different, I think, since the skirt would be much softer. Great job with the grading. And that wasn't a casual grading exercise, going multiple sizes.
4/25/09 8:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
You took a retro Lennon Sisters look and made it a la Scarlet Johansson for today. LOVE it on you! Your smile is gorgeous and contagious!
4/25/09 1:44 PM
maryfrana said...
The fabric is fabulous. I love this design and you look very current and fresh in it. Yes, it would also be a great holiday dress in velvet. Beautiful job.
4/25/09 1:29 PM
Secretsugar said...
I don't get an 80's feel from this at all. I think it's very retro and fabulous on you!
4/25/09 9:14 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress! You did such a fabulous job on this!
4/24/09 2:17 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E. I love the color!
4/24/09 9:01 AM
Ann B. said...
Cute and so summery. Enjoy your new dress.
4/24/09 8:26 AM
Caroleleah said...
Andrea, You do such a gorgeos job with fitting! Bravo! Perfect!!
4/24/09 1:03 AM
cathy45 said...
So adorable and gives you such a 50s hourglass figure, too.
4/23/09 11:47 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking vintage style.
4/23/09 9:41 PM
Andreahg said...
Thanks, everyone!
4/23/09 8:09 PM
Rebecca D said...
As usual, you look fantastic. I think that dress has a very 50s vibe.
4/23/09 7:32 PM
Glassgirl said...
Love your dress. Wear it proudly! Who cares if it looks 50's or 80's. It's so pretty and suits you beautifully. I think I'll try to tackle this pattern myself. Thanks for the great review!
4/23/09 6:54 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This dress is just BEAUTIFUL!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the fabric you chose!! It is PERFECT!! You look very pretty in your new dress!!
4/23/09 5:48 PM
cindyintampa said...
Great fit on the dress! That dress looks like the dresses that I wore in the 1960's, back when girls were still required to wear dresses to school.
4/23/09 4:58 PM
Christas said...
This looks so great on you! The fit is fantastic!
4/23/09 4:56 PM
MagpieJen said...
Well, if it's 80s, then it's the good part of the 80s ;-) Honestly, I think it looks '50s, flirty and fun! Awesome job on grading the pattern too!
4/23/09 4:17 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow Andrea--your dress turned out great!! I really like the color and print of the fabric you used. I too have been thinking about all those cute patterns in smaller sizes and after watching you tackle more than a few I am starting to feel like I might become brave enough to do it as well!!
4/23/09 4:15 PM
graustark said...
Your dress looks both classy and comfortable! I love the fabric ... in fact I have four yards of it in my stash. ;D
4/23/09 3:07 PM
Natalie D. said...
How gorgeous! I just love dresses and you don't see many these days. I have many vintage patterns but was afraid that, with so many in very small sizes, that grading them might be a fool's errand. After reading your review, I feel braver now. Thanks for the good review.
4/23/09 3:03 PM
KathySews said...
This looks maaaavelous. You are right on the Christmas dress, that would be smashing
4/23/09 2:31 PM
nglalala said...
Great job! It looks wonderful!
4/23/09 2:24 PM
Ody said...
Super job!!! That dress is divine! I hate to tell you how old I am, but you and I could have hung out in style in HS! The dress is great, but can you rock and roll???
4/23/09 2:06 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Gorgeous! And fifteen gold stars for you for grading up the pattern so much -- was it really difficult?
4/23/09 1:45 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great!! i love your dress and i also love the scalloped waist.
4/23/09 1:42 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a lovely dress, and I don't think that it looks "too 80's". The dropped waist really elongates your torso!
4/23/09 1:39 PM
Riesie said...
So cute!
4/23/09 1:35 PM
Sweetiebop said...
You look fantastic. Love your choice of fabric.
4/23/09 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 4745

photo
by: JTink

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6613

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review

Pattern