SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1373 

Viewed 695 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 1:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
You look fantastic. Love your choice of fabric.
4/23/09 1:34 PM
Riesie said...
So cute!
4/23/09 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a lovely dress, and I don't think that it looks "too 80's". The dropped waist really elongates your torso!
4/23/09 1:39 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great!! i love your dress and i also love the scalloped waist.
4/23/09 1:42 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Gorgeous! And fifteen gold stars for you for grading up the pattern so much -- was it really difficult?
4/23/09 1:45 PM
Ody said...
Super job!!! That dress is divine! I hate to tell you how old I am, but you and I could have hung out in style in HS! The dress is great, but can you rock and roll???
4/23/09 2:06 PM
nglalala said...
Great job! It looks wonderful!
4/23/09 2:24 PM
KathySews said...
This looks maaaavelous. You are right on the Christmas dress, that would be smashing
4/23/09 2:31 PM
Natalie D. said...
How gorgeous! I just love dresses and you don't see many these days. I have many vintage patterns but was afraid that, with so many in very small sizes, that grading them might be a fool's errand. After reading your review, I feel braver now. Thanks for the good review.
4/23/09 3:03 PM
graustark said...
Your dress looks both classy and comfortable! I love the fabric ... in fact I have four yards of it in my stash. ;D
4/23/09 3:07 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow Andrea--your dress turned out great!! I really like the color and print of the fabric you used. I too have been thinking about all those cute patterns in smaller sizes and after watching you tackle more than a few I am starting to feel like I might become brave enough to do it as well!!
4/23/09 4:15 PM
MagpieJen said...
Well, if it's 80s, then it's the good part of the 80s ;-) Honestly, I think it looks '50s, flirty and fun! Awesome job on grading the pattern too!
4/23/09 4:17 PM
Christas said...
This looks so great on you! The fit is fantastic!
4/23/09 4:56 PM
cindyintampa said...
Great fit on the dress! That dress looks like the dresses that I wore in the 1960's, back when girls were still required to wear dresses to school.
4/23/09 4:58 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This dress is just BEAUTIFUL!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the fabric you chose!! It is PERFECT!! You look very pretty in your new dress!!
4/23/09 5:48 PM
Glassgirl said...
Love your dress. Wear it proudly! Who cares if it looks 50's or 80's. It's so pretty and suits you beautifully. I think I'll try to tackle this pattern myself. Thanks for the great review!
4/23/09 6:54 PM
Rebecca D said...
As usual, you look fantastic. I think that dress has a very 50s vibe.
4/23/09 7:32 PM
Andreahg said...
Thanks, everyone!
4/23/09 8:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking vintage style.
4/23/09 9:41 PM
cathy45 said...
So adorable and gives you such a 50s hourglass figure, too.
4/23/09 11:47 PM
Caroleleah said...
Andrea, You do such a gorgeos job with fitting! Bravo! Perfect!!
4/24/09 1:03 AM
Ann B. said...
Cute and so summery. Enjoy your new dress.
4/24/09 8:26 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E. I love the color!
4/24/09 9:01 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress! You did such a fabulous job on this!
4/24/09 2:17 PM
Secretsugar said...
I don't get an 80's feel from this at all. I think it's very retro and fabulous on you!
4/25/09 9:14 AM
maryfrana said...
The fabric is fabulous. I love this design and you look very current and fresh in it. Yes, it would also be a great holiday dress in velvet. Beautiful job.
4/25/09 1:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
You took a retro Lennon Sisters look and made it a la Scarlet Johansson for today. LOVE it on you! Your smile is gorgeous and contagious!
4/25/09 1:44 PM
AnneM said...
What a spectacular job you did on this. It is really a cute style on you, I think. When I read your 80s comment I went and looked at the picture again, and I guess I can see some 80s in it, but it certainly didn't strike me that way when I saw it. You could make this style in a silk or rayon and it would look very different, I think, since the skirt would be much softer. Great job with the grading. And that wasn't a casual grading exercise, going multiple sizes.
4/25/09 8:02 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Really a nice looking dress for a special occassion. You really did a good job on it.
4/29/09 9:12 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
Very cute dress. I love the waist in particular. You really have a way with grading up patterns and getting a good fit.
5/1/09 11:12 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the scoop neckline. Very attractive! It has the true vintage style!
5/1/09 12:43 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Very pretty dress and the fit is perfect!
5/1/09 8:05 PM
heapha said...
wow that is a fantastic pattern done fantastically
6/9/09 10:08 PM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
Very lovely. The pattern is awesome and I love the fabric choice. Looks great!
6/18/09 2:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now