Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1373 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 674 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 1:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
You look fantastic. Love your choice of fabric.
4/23/09 1:34 PM
Riesie said...
So cute!
4/23/09 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
I think it's a lovely dress, and I don't think that it looks "too 80's". The dropped waist really elongates your torso!
4/23/09 1:39 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great!! i love your dress and i also love the scalloped waist.
4/23/09 1:42 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Gorgeous! And fifteen gold stars for you for grading up the pattern so much -- was it really difficult?
4/23/09 1:45 PM
Ody said...
Super job!!! That dress is divine! I hate to tell you how old I am, but you and I could have hung out in style in HS! The dress is great, but can you rock and roll???
4/23/09 2:06 PM
nglalala said...
Great job! It looks wonderful!
4/23/09 2:24 PM
KathySews said...
This looks maaaavelous. You are right on the Christmas dress, that would be smashing
4/23/09 2:31 PM
Natalie D. said...
How gorgeous! I just love dresses and you don't see many these days. I have many vintage patterns but was afraid that, with so many in very small sizes, that grading them might be a fool's errand. After reading your review, I feel braver now. Thanks for the good review.
4/23/09 3:03 PM
graustark said...
Your dress looks both classy and comfortable! I love the fabric ... in fact I have four yards of it in my stash. ;D
4/23/09 3:07 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wow Andrea--your dress turned out great!! I really like the color and print of the fabric you used. I too have been thinking about all those cute patterns in smaller sizes and after watching you tackle more than a few I am starting to feel like I might become brave enough to do it as well!!
4/23/09 4:15 PM
MagpieJen said...
Well, if it's 80s, then it's the good part of the 80s ;-) Honestly, I think it looks '50s, flirty and fun! Awesome job on grading the pattern too!
4/23/09 4:17 PM
Christas said...
This looks so great on you! The fit is fantastic!
4/23/09 4:56 PM
cindyintampa said...
Great fit on the dress! That dress looks like the dresses that I wore in the 1960's, back when girls were still required to wear dresses to school.
4/23/09 4:58 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
This dress is just BEAUTIFUL!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the fabric you chose!! It is PERFECT!! You look very pretty in your new dress!!
4/23/09 5:48 PM
Glassgirl said...
Love your dress. Wear it proudly! Who cares if it looks 50's or 80's. It's so pretty and suits you beautifully. I think I'll try to tackle this pattern myself. Thanks for the great review!
4/23/09 6:54 PM
Rebecca D said...
As usual, you look fantastic. I think that dress has a very 50s vibe.
4/23/09 7:32 PM
Andreahg said...
Thanks, everyone!
4/23/09 8:09 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great looking vintage style.
4/23/09 9:41 PM
cathy45 said...
So adorable and gives you such a 50s hourglass figure, too.
4/23/09 11:47 PM
Caroleleah said...
Andrea, You do such a gorgeos job with fitting! Bravo! Perfect!!
4/24/09 1:03 AM
Ann B. said...
Cute and so summery. Enjoy your new dress.
4/24/09 8:26 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E. I love the color!
4/24/09 9:01 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely dress! You did such a fabulous job on this!
4/24/09 2:17 PM
Secretsugar said...
I don't get an 80's feel from this at all. I think it's very retro and fabulous on you!
4/25/09 9:14 AM
maryfrana said...
The fabric is fabulous. I love this design and you look very current and fresh in it. Yes, it would also be a great holiday dress in velvet. Beautiful job.
4/25/09 1:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
You took a retro Lennon Sisters look and made it a la Scarlet Johansson for today. LOVE it on you! Your smile is gorgeous and contagious!
4/25/09 1:44 PM
AnneM said...
What a spectacular job you did on this. It is really a cute style on you, I think. When I read your 80s comment I went and looked at the picture again, and I guess I can see some 80s in it, but it certainly didn't strike me that way when I saw it. You could make this style in a silk or rayon and it would look very different, I think, since the skirt would be much softer. Great job with the grading. And that wasn't a casual grading exercise, going multiple sizes.
4/25/09 8:02 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Really a nice looking dress for a special occassion. You really did a good job on it.
4/29/09 9:12 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
Very cute dress. I love the waist in particular. You really have a way with grading up patterns and getting a good fit.
5/1/09 11:12 AM
colourbynumber said...
I love the scoop neckline. Very attractive! It has the true vintage style!
5/1/09 12:43 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Very pretty dress and the fit is perfect!
5/1/09 8:05 PM
heapha said...
wow that is a fantastic pattern done fantastically
6/9/09 10:08 PM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
Very lovely. The pattern is awesome and I love the fabric choice. Looks great!
6/18/09 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-25
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 10/23/10
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8918 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by beanchor on 8/6/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2562 Pattern
Jalie 2562 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us