SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2727 (Donna Karan Separates)

2 more reviews
Viewed 668 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/09 10:28 PM
Last Updated:4/23/09 10:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
You should be thrilled. That is a lot of work and a very informative review.
4/23/09 10:41 PM
Phasionz by M said...
great job!
4/23/09 11:03 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful jacket and such an informative review, thank you.
4/23/09 11:11 PM
Christas said...
Oh, Janie! I love every single detail! This jacket is totally amazing. Your workmanship is perfect..... I need more adjectives to describe how beautiful your sewing is on this! WOW! WOW! WOW! I just LOVE your new jacket. What a complete joy to read your thorough review of this VERY lovely garment! Again..... WOW!!! I am just at a loss for words! The head scratching and sewing adventure was DEFINITELY worth it!
4/23/09 11:18 PM
Laurasews said...
Absolutely wonderful!!!
4/23/09 11:32 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Catbird, this was an awesome job you did with this review and the jacket. Congrats on a very stunning piece of work.
4/24/09 0:00 AM
Aixoise said...
One of the best, most informative - and witty - reviews I've read. Thank you! Have you sent Vogue your resume? They should hire you.
4/24/09 0:38 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cool jacket! Great Review!
4/24/09 0:48 AM
Annette1 said...
Rarely am I ever satisfied that there's enough details and (mainly) PICTURES in a review, but I can't come up with ONE MEASLY complaint about this one. :o) I LOVED taking this little psychotic journey with you, sans tranquilizers! Maybe it's the Vogue people who were on tranquilizers when they wrote some of those directions. I've always LOVED this pattern. If it was in my size, I'd probably have one in the stash, if not two. Your jacket turned out just PERFECTLY, every little detail! Of course, it's just as nice on the inside as on the outside. I LOVE the silhouette, which looks GREAT on you. So have you started on the next one yet? Heh-heh-heh. :o) FABULOUS JOB!
4/24/09 0:53 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I forgot: I think the Post-It pad idea may have been Karla Kizer's. I've used that too, and wondered why I didn't think of it myself. :o)
4/24/09 0:54 AM
Anniinbc said...
Yes, it's pretty awesome!!
4/24/09 1:08 AM
Natasha B said...
Fabulous jacket. I certainly won't be going andywhere near it, but you have done an inspirational job. Thanks for the photos and the entertaining review. What a journey!
4/24/09 1:51 AM
Caroleleah said...
OMG! I am in awe of your skills! You have FINESSED this jacket!!!!!!!!!! Could not be improved on in even the tiniest way - you have achieved utter perfection! Fit, form, function - WOW!!
4/24/09 2:24 AM
margk said...
What a fabulous review! And a gorgeous Jacket. Congratulations!
4/24/09 6:00 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I haven't read the review yet, just checked all photos right now and oh my god, your jacket is sooooo beautifully done!!! Just fabulous and I am unspeakable and loving it!!!
4/24/09 6:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Amazingly beautiful jacket.
4/24/09 7:53 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Bravo Bravo Bravo ! The crowd is roaring with sounds of appreciation...... PS Excellent outstanding photos of the details.... and I know how difficult it is to do black fabric detail.... well done.. You have mastered this one.
4/24/09 8:37 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful jacket; so sophisticated and cool! Your review? Incredibly complete and detailed! Thanks for all your effort on both!
4/24/09 9:29 AM
Doctor Sister said...
WOW! What else can I say. The jacket is beautiful, and your review is so good. I wouldn't even dream of sewing something this complex but it gives me a high standard to aim at. Thanks,
4/24/09 9:38 AM
Karine said...
Wow - this is a work of art! Beautiful, beautiful job. Thanks for the detailed review and all of the helpful photos.
4/24/09 9:49 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Isn't this a beautiful jacket? I made one when the pattern came out and had it on today!
4/24/09 9:52 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow! This is an amazing jacket. Your fortitude is to be congratulated!
4/24/09 10:05 AM
janet said...
Your jacket is absolutely fabulous and fits you to a T. Your tailoring is perfection. Congratulations on an "Award Winning" job. P.S. You must have the patience of "Adam" to perservere through all the detail nightmares of this pattern. Thank you for an excellent, informative, and entertaining review.
4/24/09 11:42 AM
persevering said...
What panache! Catbird: obviously this was quite a challenge and your success is amazing. Thanks for sharing details of how you got there. Oh yes, very attractive, well-fitted and timeless garment too! Congratulations!
4/24/09 11:54 AM
busymomof3 said...
LOVE it!!! I can't even imagine sewing that! You did awesome and it looks very nice!
4/24/09 2:04 PM
Lisette said...
Gorgeous jacket! Glad you persevered
4/24/09 3:44 PM
Mary M. Mohr said...
I have been tiptoeing around this pattern for years, and seeing yours is pushing me over the edge. Yours is perfection. Your workmanship is superb, and your trim, athletic physique makes you look like a beautiful Parisian woman fluttering through the Passages in Paris. Magnifique.
4/24/09 4:48 PM
Catbird said...
You guys amaze me! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I enjoyed them all. Annette, thank you for helping me give credit where credit is due! You are a wonder woman. Sue, I'm glad to hear you're still enjoying your excellent version of this jacket. And Mary M. Mohr, you touched my heart. I was born in Paris, so your comment was especially touching for me. Thank you all so much.
4/24/09 5:06 PM
jaeng said...
Janie, there're so much details on this jacket and you made them look so neat and perfect. Bravo! I give this 5 stars.
4/24/09 7:32 PM
Annette1 said...
How come nobody ever tells ME I look like a "beautiful Parisian woman fluttering through the Passages in Paris"? I can flutter! :o)
4/24/09 9:37 PM
lamstu said...
great review, lots of useful details. Really fabulous jacket. Congratulations!
4/24/09 11:17 PM
carnelian said...
Wonderful and more wonderful!
4/25/09 1:32 AM
Catbird said...
Annette, you're priceless!
4/25/09 11:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Your new jacket is not only beautifully made, but fits you soooooooooo nicely! Very nice review of your amazing sewing journey. Thanks for the pics showing the superb details!
4/25/09 11:35 AM
Betsybobbin said...
Amazing! Inspiring! Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review!
4/25/09 11:57 AM
stsimon said...
Your should rate this one as "Difficult, but great for Advanced INSANE BUT ADVENTUROUS Sewers!" Thanks for all the pictures--you put ALMOST as much work into the review as you did into the jacket! The finished jacket is so attractive that I wish I had the stamina to make one, too. BTW, I think the pattern instrux are right about the position of the snaps. The socket is usually on the bottom (jacket left), ready to receive the socket, which is pressed down into it from the top (jacket right),
4/25/09 2:32 PM
Catbird said...
Thanks stsimon! I'll admit to INSANE BUT ADVENTUROUS! I'm still confused, though. How can the socket (left) receive the socket (right)? One of them has to be the ball, no? On these Dritz snaps, the upper decorative part (the part that shows when the jacket is closed) has the socket attached to the the underside of it, so there is only one position it can go on the jacket -- the right front lapel. Maybe I'l try to dig up some RTW garments with snaps to try to settle this once and for all!
4/25/09 8:12 PM
Birgitte said...
I'm not sure what's more impressive; the jacket or the review. I first started reading it days ago on my iPhone, but as much as I love my gadgets they're not up to par when something like this comes along. THIS was worthy of my full-screen Mac and all of my attention. Every detail is exactly how it should be and the design looks as if Ms. Karan designed it with you in mind (including your intuitive smarts). I love how you wear this, you look glorious. It was most certainly worth all your hard work and frustrations; a big and heartfelt congratulations, I am truly impressed. And, as a side note; how anyone could rate this review other than "very helpful" boggles my mind. If only there was an "Outstanding" option!!
4/30/09 2:32 PM
HeyJane said...
Wow, an amazing amount of effort for this garment. Enjoy your custom jacket!
5/5/09 11:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8791

photo
by: KatC83

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now