SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> BV6859 (1954 Gypsy Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 696 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/09 8:24 PM
Last Updated:5/2/09 2:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A lovely skirt. Well done.
4/24/09 7:43 PM
nancy2001 said...
Looks like a great pattern.
4/24/09 9:21 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Freya and Nancy. Will be off the computer until I'm finished with my skirt this weekend.....
4/25/09 2:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for the very detailed information, Peggy! This looks exciting!
4/25/09 1:23 PM
nancy2001 said...
Peggy, I love the fabric you've chosen.
4/25/09 4:00 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Had to make a change in the fabric because I didn't have enough of the black fabric. Kept the Gypsy Song fabric, the center tier/pannel. Just about done with the skirt. Will most likely finish it up later on today, Tuesday, it's like a little after 2 AM here right now. Just checking my incoming e-mail messages.
4/28/09 2:14 AM
kellymailinglist said...
I appreciate your outlining how you graded your pattern up... this is something I hope to do myself, very soon!
4/29/09 11:03 AM
christea said...
Did you sew some of those super cute tops as well?
4/29/09 7:39 PM
MagpieJen said...
What a fun skirt! I'm sure you will enjoy it!
4/29/09 8:11 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Christea: Yes and no. I made some changes on the Western style shirts. The one solid black one with the red belt has a ruffle going around the neckline and hanging down the front of it, sorta like a peasant style blouse. Have loads more of tops/blouses that match this skirt, both dressy and plain.
4/29/09 8:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely skirt. Your project turned out beautifully.
4/29/09 9:23 PM
Em's Summer said...
CUTE!!! CUTE!!! CUTE!!!
4/29/09 10:53 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Nancy and everyone else.
4/29/09 11:08 PM
Sharon1952 said...
You'll be the hit of the dances in those outfits!
4/30/09 6:59 AM
marec said...
This is a wonderful skirt! I am in awe of your attention to detail and how much work went into the hand pleating. It's really cool.
4/30/09 9:07 AM
Kellie R. said...
Great skirt! I think it's great that you have memories of this style from your teenage years. Enjoy!
4/30/09 10:01 AM
Dee2 said...
What a wonderful skirt & a great review too!
4/30/09 9:44 PM
fourkid said...
Great skirt - and review. *One caution - in going to one of the fabric websites (labeled "craft website") it brought up a trojan virus.
5/1/09 9:24 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, Peggy! Your skirt turned out delectably mesmerizing! Great skirt that can enhance any wardrobe - admirable versatility! 20 hours? I am in awe of the time you put in to make the skirt, but all that hard work paid off. Cats are amazing. I used to have a tuxedo cat named "Snowflake" (had to give her away when my daughter was a baby) who would hang around when I was doing some major projects. Yes, they are supportive of what we do.
5/1/09 8:43 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Sorry about that. I removed the link to Alma Lynne's website so no one else gets that Trojan Horse from her. Also uploaded more photos to one of my Flickr photostreams. That's the last link near the end of the PR. Did have something come up on my screen that someone wanted to track where I went. Told my son about it and he took care of it on my computer. That was probably her Trojan Horse that was attempting to do that. My son can link his computer to my computer from his house to my house when I have problems like that. I just give him permission to do so whenever I have any problems like that. He does it just like those technicians do from various places whenever you ask for help from someone on the internet. He literaly knows my computer inside-out, mainly because he built it from a kit. Comes in handy having a computer-lit/Mr.FixIt son.....
5/2/09 2:35 PM
mary in FL said...
I like your cool, goes-with everything skirt. I also liked your picture tutorial on the buttonhole elastic.
5/2/09 3:54 PM
ggf2005 said...
Perhaps the length given includes the petticoats under the skirt, that we no longer wear, that would fluff it out and decrease the length
5/4/09 1:15 PM
Oceanpeg said...
The 20 hours included seperating the 12 Winget fabric squares and rejoining them together and running the rick rack down across the seams side on the right side of the fabric. They were on 2 pannels that had only 2 across and were in 3 rows down for the total of the 6 squares which I put into one running horizontal row. Sorta like quilting one long row lengthwise. Didn't have to do that to the Lynne fabric because her pannels of 8 squares were in two rows of 4 and just had to join her pannels together at the ends of each one. Winget's just required a little more attention. Didn't work 20 hours straight on it, which took to 4 days to complete it, averaging 5 hours per day. I measured and put dots on the fabric inbetween pannels and another row of dots below them for cutting lines so the squares would all be the same before sewing them together.
5/5/09 10:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: Sew4Fun

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 113

photo
by: Westy85

Review