SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-118 (Jersey Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/09 11:13 PM
Last Updated:4/24/09 11:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angie.a said...
Cute! I love the print. I just saw your review (late to the party, haha!) while looking for another one. I constructed my sleeves exactly as you did. I don't think the "donut" sewing was their intended construction method, but I can see how someone might construe that from BWOFs very bad instructions for this!
7/16/09 11:25 AM
Sigrid. said...
A big thanks to you, Kay, for providing the detailed instructions on how to make this top. I've completed it this week, and without your instructions it would have been a wadder.
6/3/09 5:23 PM
enniejo said...
I read several reviews and the light bulb did not come on until I got to this one. Now I can breathe a sigh of relief and finish the dress. i will make it again.
5/6/09 5:35 PM
Sigrid. said...
Kay, you did it again. This is on my to sew list for this month! So very timely that you already made it and provide such great information on how to sew it. Thanks for the very helpful review. And this top in this fabric looks fabulous on you! Awesome indeed.
5/4/09 3:13 PM
missytexas said...
Gee, you are SO talented! I was just drooling over your reviews and am so inspired and motived to improve my sewing skills. And I have decided that you must henceforth share your wisdom with us in a blog for me to subscribe to... ;o) -just kidding! (no, ...really)
4/28/09 8:43 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
Great top - I love the fabric ! I'll keep yours and cabinbaby's detailed instructions handy as I'd like to make one too and the instructions in the BWOF mag are greek to me !
4/26/09 6:51 PM
persevering said...
Kay, Thanks for your informative review. You are looking so pretty tooĦ
4/26/09 12:26 PM
jkaori said...
Very beautiful top --- the fit is perfect. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review --- very helpful!
4/26/09 10:48 AM
2BSewing said...
Wow! This knit top looks fantastic on you! Perfect fit. Your fabric is sooo beautiful. You did an excellent job with this pattern. :)
4/26/09 9:57 AM
Mahler said...
It is incredible how a simple top can be so complex to sew. The final result is excellent. I love those pictures of you. You look happy and relaxed. The fabric you chose is great, great, great. It is such a feminine top. Is it for work or casual... well it could fit for both I think.
4/26/09 9:46 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful job on this top. I think it is a cute style but all the comments about it's construction has scared me to death. I may have to try it and follow your instructions. Yours turned out great!!!
4/25/09 7:12 PM
tanroc75 said...
Very nice top, I love the sleeves!
4/25/09 3:03 PM
Liana said...
Kay, I love this. You're right, it's very elegant, and it looks just wonderful on you. Great job on explaining what WOF meant when they "mis-wrote". :)
4/25/09 1:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look groovy-licious, Kay! Thanks for your very helpful review! Burda WOF can use your assistance in writing better directions...
4/25/09 11:19 AM
Christas said...
Wonderful review! Where were you when I was scratching my head and wanting to downgrade my rating?! I remember being so happy this was a TWO dot Burda. Then, when I started the adventure of making it I began to think the instructions were possibly written in a different language. Your version is wonderful. I really love your fabric choice. This is such a wonderfully styled top. You should definitely make it again!
4/25/09 10:02 AM
cindyann said...
I love your top! You always pair pattern and fabric so well. A skill I wish I had.
4/25/09 9:54 AM
Re Becca said...
You really make this look cute, perfect match of fabric and pattern. I really like your instructions too.
4/25/09 9:48 AM
angie.a said...
Very pretty top! I didn't have trouble with the directions for the sleeve, but I know I was in the minority.
4/25/09 9:36 AM
kerrynw said...
Lovely top, fantastic review!
4/25/09 9:19 AM
digs57 said...
Very flattering!
4/25/09 9:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Most helpful. I like this pattern more and more after each sewist review.
4/25/09 8:02 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice, indeed. This top is almost enough to make subscribe to BWOF.
4/25/09 6:39 AM
sewing for fun said...
Top looks great on you - excellent fabric choice, very flattering. And thanks for the technique suggestions- I might brave this top yet :)
4/25/09 2:18 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fantasti Review!
4/25/09 1:38 AM
CynthiaSue said...
excellent, excellent review Kate. I will use your's when I make the shirt version-i already made the dress version. You fit looks great!!
4/25/09 0:59 AM
Annette1 said...
Wow, what a GREAT and thorough review. You are just SO cute in this top. If you wear it to court, you may have to tell them, "LOOK, I may be CUTE, but I'm by-God RUTHLESS, too, and don't you forget it!" I too really like that neckline and the dropped PUFFED SLEEVES (as Anne of Green Gables would say).
4/25/09 0:50 AM
Ann Smith said...
Terrific top on you. Love the fabric and great explanation of the tricky construction.
4/25/09 0:49 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow Kay. This looks fantastic on you! A perfect combination of fabric, colour, fit and style.
4/25/09 0:13 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, this top is great. I love the fit, the color, everything!!
4/24/09 11:48 PM
Kellie R. said...
Kay, you make the loveliest things! This is an exquisite top. Great job!
4/24/09 11:45 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty ...I especially like the sleeves. Thanks for the detailed review and tutorial. I plan to give this a try.
4/24/09 11:44 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
AWESOME top!! I just LOVE the fabric you chose!!
4/24/09 11:41 PM
candyo said...
Wow, you really put a lot of work into this top and the review!
4/24/09 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now