SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4914 (Maggy London Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 664 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/09 11:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
wow - that looks very pretty and a lovely dress to wear to a wedding. Very flattering shape. We can't get silk jersey here, it sounds not much fun to sew but a lot more fun to wear!
4/26/09 0:16 AM
birdmcfarland said...
That looks lovely on you. Very flattering on your figure. I love the color and fabric - it looks expensive and very well fitted. You'd never know you were on a decades-long knit hiatus!
4/26/09 1:24 AM
dorothyn said...
Your dress looks terrific! What a distinctive piece of fabric, and silk no less. I was thinking recently about how rarely I see a silk knit fabric available. It looks like the perfect choice for you and for an afternoon wedding. Nice work.
4/26/09 2:06 AM
michellep74 said...
Really lovely dress. You did a great job of pairing up fabric/pattern here.
4/26/09 2:20 AM
Yvonski said...
This dress is A++++ and I love the shoes, such a good match.
4/26/09 3:27 AM
F and L said...
That is just elegant and beautiful. You look lovely! I have a wedding to go to at the end of May and can't decide what to sew up!
4/26/09 6:07 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Isn't silk jersey just a dream to wear? Love your dress, and already have this pattern... it just jumped to the front of the line, thanks to you!
4/26/09 8:10 AM
Renren said...
Very pretty. What an especially lovely dress for a wedding. Silk jersey is something I have not heard of before, so thanks for the mention, but it does sound rather like a bear to sew.
4/26/09 9:10 AM
Mahler said...
You have all the reasons to be happy. You look so elegant in that dress ! Wonderful sewing project.
4/26/09 9:31 AM
Christas said...
How very elegant! You look so nice in your new dress!
4/26/09 9:49 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Very soft, elegant, feminine, pretty--the dress, too!! ;)
4/26/09 11:22 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Great dress and I love your fabric.
4/26/09 12:39 PM
persevering said...
Beautiful fit - how elegant you look.
4/26/09 12:47 PM
Lisette said...
Very elegant
4/26/09 2:20 PM
MagpieJen said...
Such beautiful fabric! Good thing you figured out it had been cut randomly down the middle before cutting your pieces, though that must have been a pain to sort out. It's very flattering!
4/26/09 6:48 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern and really want to have it made, but keep putting off making it for some reason. I'm glad to know that it was fairly easy. Jersey knits are a pain to lay out and keep the "grain" straight. Your dress looks great!
4/26/09 11:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
Stunning dress. Although it sounds like it was a challenge to sew, the results are gorgeous.
5/3/09 4:23 PM
Rivkah said...
The dress looks beautiful on you!
5/30/09 7:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8776

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now