SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-116 (Sporty yoked jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 671 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/09 11:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Re Becca said...
Great way to stick to it! The final result is great. I love the color, I love the button, I love everything really. Thanks for the heads up on the fitting issues. I began tracing this myself, I will go back and double check those shoulders before I touch the fabric.
4/26/09 11:28 PM
birdmcfarland said...
this is beautiful. Outstanding workmanship
4/26/09 11:30 PM
Nancywin said...
I've found that BWOF jackets are usually a bigger project than I usually expect them to be - but always worth it! And how pretty is this? Perfect for spring! Thanks for such a helpful review.
4/26/09 11:36 PM
lmg said...
wow. Beautiful jacket, and a very informative review. This was on my to-do list so very timely as well.
4/26/09 11:39 PM
N_Vogue said...
Ooh la la! Great jacket. I have traced this pattern and noticed some of the problems you mentioned after doing a flat pattern measurement. Thanks for the excellent review. BTW, that colour looks wonderful on you. I also loved the dress in the colour. Nice fabric and buttons!! Thanks again!
4/27/09 0:14 AM
morzel said...
That steam and sweat certainly was worth it!! This is a stunning and beautiful jacket. Good review, and how weird about the draft, usally Burda does rather good drafts...
4/27/09 1:23 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love this jacket! You did a marvelous job and I love the color on you!
4/27/09 7:00 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a beautiful jacket, wonderful job.
4/27/09 7:11 AM
dorothyn said...
Wow, for something that gave you so much trouble, it turned out gorgeous!
4/27/09 7:21 AM
eugenia123 said...
Gorgeous jacket and it looks beautifully made.
4/27/09 7:36 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Stunning jacket! You are a very talented seamstress. I don't think I will be making this, based on your review, but I wish it were mine!
4/27/09 7:48 AM
becca a said...
Your jacket is beautiful! Thank you for this informative review. I have been looking at this design and thinking about making this jacket as I love the lines; now I'm not so sure.
4/27/09 8:07 AM
Amanda S. said...
Well, it turned out beautifully in the end. This is on my must-sew list for fall, so thanks for the informative review and heads up on fitting issues. That does give me pause, but the jacket design is so darn cute, I know I'll be making it anyway. Enjoy wearing it!
4/27/09 8:36 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a pretty and well thought out jacket!
4/27/09 8:36 AM
Gold said...
Great job!
4/27/09 8:51 AM
Woolygal said...
We've all been through sewing days like you had so we understand, but you have a beautiful jacket to show for your work.
4/27/09 8:54 AM
Lalena said...
The color and fabric are beautiful, but what is most stunning is the qualilty of your sewing--this jacket is of exceptional quality. (You're my role model!)
4/27/09 9:26 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful jacket! The color of the jacket and your sewing are so perfect!
4/27/09 9:32 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! I just LOVE the fabric, it is perfect for this very sharp looking style. I'm glad that you interfaced it and used it for the jacket. GREAT job!
4/27/09 10:16 AM
patsijean said...
Your's is quite a nice jacket in a great color. I had looked at this pattern more than once, and like you thought it looked a bit short and snug for my body type. I have considered making it without the pockets for a different look. Thanks for the review.
4/27/09 10:18 AM
Karendee said...
I always admire your work, and this jacket is no exception. The workmanship, color and style are all perfect!
4/27/09 12:43 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket, impeccably sewn.
4/27/09 1:56 PM
nglalala said...
it looks great! Very clean and professional lines~!
4/27/09 2:31 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket. Your patience and perseverance paid off in the end. I just love that color!
4/27/09 3:55 PM
Nancy K said...
It's gorgeous! The color is one of my favorites.
4/27/09 4:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great jacket!
4/27/09 5:38 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Great jacket, in fact it's gorgeous. I love the color! Great job.
4/27/09 11:13 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I really like this jacket. I want to make this and your review will be very helpful.
4/28/09 3:30 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Wonderful job on this jacket. All of your hard work and stick-to-it-ness paid off. The fabric is beautiful and your excellent sewing skills made it all work, despite the problems you encountered. Nice, nice job!
4/28/09 7:35 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful job!
4/28/09 4:54 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hi Deborah, I really want to make this jacket, but now I'm not so sure! I have a similar Marfy pattern with a different collar, so may try that instead. Your jacket is beautiful, despite the design problems, and I like the coulour. Regards, Second Avenue (Gaylene)
4/28/09 7:43 PM
LNyberg said...
Fantastic review, as I am planning to make this jacket and to lengthen it by 2 inches. I have a small bust and typically have to alter for fit across the top, so this pattern may be great for me. I am also glad to read about the sleeve/cuff issues, as I was on the fence to make the sleeve a bracelet length instead anyway. Thanks Debra H!
4/28/09 10:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and really helpful review!
5/1/09 8:55 PM
madronadesign said...
This jacket looks great, and certainly worth the effort you put in. Just wondering - did you use shoulder pads? I think the pattern is drafted for not using them.
5/12/09 7:04 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!!!!!
5/18/09 9:56 PM
SoVintage said...
Thank You for the review. I will add this to my project list. It looks great and love the color. I's glad you did not give up on it, your finished product is perfect. I will have to refer to your review when I start mine...patients, patients, patients
5/27/09 11:26 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
8/24/09 2:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2282

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review