SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-116 (Sporty yoked jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 672 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/09 11:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 33 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
8/24/09 2:26 PM
SoVintage said...
Thank You for the review. I will add this to my project list. It looks great and love the color. I's glad you did not give up on it, your finished product is perfect. I will have to refer to your review when I start mine...patients, patients, patients
5/27/09 11:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful !!!!!!!!
5/18/09 9:56 PM
madronadesign said...
This jacket looks great, and certainly worth the effort you put in. Just wondering - did you use shoulder pads? I think the pattern is drafted for not using them.
5/12/09 7:04 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket and really helpful review!
5/1/09 8:55 PM
LNyberg said...
Fantastic review, as I am planning to make this jacket and to lengthen it by 2 inches. I have a small bust and typically have to alter for fit across the top, so this pattern may be great for me. I am also glad to read about the sleeve/cuff issues, as I was on the fence to make the sleeve a bracelet length instead anyway. Thanks Debra H!
4/28/09 10:30 PM
Second Avenue said...
Hi Deborah, I really want to make this jacket, but now I'm not so sure! I have a similar Marfy pattern with a different collar, so may try that instead. Your jacket is beautiful, despite the design problems, and I like the coulour. Regards, Second Avenue (Gaylene)
4/28/09 7:43 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful job!
4/28/09 4:54 PM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Wonderful job on this jacket. All of your hard work and stick-to-it-ness paid off. The fabric is beautiful and your excellent sewing skills made it all work, despite the problems you encountered. Nice, nice job!
4/28/09 7:35 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I really like this jacket. I want to make this and your review will be very helpful.
4/28/09 3:30 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Great jacket, in fact it's gorgeous. I love the color! Great job.
4/27/09 11:13 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great jacket!
4/27/09 5:38 PM
Nancy K said...
It's gorgeous! The color is one of my favorites.
4/27/09 4:39 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket. Your patience and perseverance paid off in the end. I just love that color!
4/27/09 3:55 PM
nglalala said...
it looks great! Very clean and professional lines~!
4/27/09 2:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely jacket, impeccably sewn.
4/27/09 1:56 PM
Karendee said...
I always admire your work, and this jacket is no exception. The workmanship, color and style are all perfect!
4/27/09 12:43 PM
patsijean said...
Your's is quite a nice jacket in a great color. I had looked at this pattern more than once, and like you thought it looked a bit short and snug for my body type. I have considered making it without the pockets for a different look. Thanks for the review.
4/27/09 10:18 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is gorgeous! I just LOVE the fabric, it is perfect for this very sharp looking style. I'm glad that you interfaced it and used it for the jacket. GREAT job!
4/27/09 10:16 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful jacket! The color of the jacket and your sewing are so perfect!
4/27/09 9:32 AM
Lalena said...
The color and fabric are beautiful, but what is most stunning is the qualilty of your sewing--this jacket is of exceptional quality. (You're my role model!)
4/27/09 9:26 AM
Woolygal said...
We've all been through sewing days like you had so we understand, but you have a beautiful jacket to show for your work.
4/27/09 8:54 AM
Gold said...
Great job!
4/27/09 8:51 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a pretty and well thought out jacket!
4/27/09 8:36 AM
Amanda S. said...
Well, it turned out beautifully in the end. This is on my must-sew list for fall, so thanks for the informative review and heads up on fitting issues. That does give me pause, but the jacket design is so darn cute, I know I'll be making it anyway. Enjoy wearing it!
4/27/09 8:36 AM
becca a said...
Your jacket is beautiful! Thank you for this informative review. I have been looking at this design and thinking about making this jacket as I love the lines; now I'm not so sure.
4/27/09 8:07 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Stunning jacket! You are a very talented seamstress. I don't think I will be making this, based on your review, but I wish it were mine!
4/27/09 7:48 AM
eugenia123 said...
Gorgeous jacket and it looks beautifully made.
4/27/09 7:36 AM
dorothyn said...
Wow, for something that gave you so much trouble, it turned out gorgeous!
4/27/09 7:21 AM
Lori V said...
This is such a beautiful jacket, wonderful job.
4/27/09 7:11 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love this jacket! You did a marvelous job and I love the color on you!
4/27/09 7:00 AM
morzel said...
That steam and sweat certainly was worth it!! This is a stunning and beautiful jacket. Good review, and how weird about the draft, usally Burda does rather good drafts...
4/27/09 1:23 AM
N_Vogue said...
Ooh la la! Great jacket. I have traced this pattern and noticed some of the problems you mentioned after doing a flat pattern measurement. Thanks for the excellent review. BTW, that colour looks wonderful on you. I also loved the dress in the colour. Nice fabric and buttons!! Thanks again!
4/27/09 0:14 AM
lmg said...
wow. Beautiful jacket, and a very informative review. This was on my to-do list so very timely as well.
4/26/09 11:39 PM
Nancywin said...
I've found that BWOF jackets are usually a bigger project than I usually expect them to be - but always worth it! And how pretty is this? Perfect for spring! Thanks for such a helpful review.
4/26/09 11:36 PM
birdmcfarland said...
this is beautiful. Outstanding workmanship
4/26/09 11:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Great way to stick to it! The final result is great. I love the color, I love the button, I love everything really. Thanks for the heads up on the fitting issues. I began tracing this myself, I will go back and double check those shoulders before I touch the fabric.
4/26/09 11:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: CypGrl

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

More Info