Online Sewing Class: Blueprints to Blue Jeans
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9423 (Pioneer Dress, Apron, Bonnet)

1 more reviews
Viewed 3261 times 
Reviewed by:niceyme
photo

 
 
About niceyme
IN USA
Member since: 12/1/03
Reviews: 3 (patterns: 2)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/03 10:29 AM
Last Updated:12/2/03 10:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $11.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
niceyme said... (12/4/03 9:00 AM) Reply
whew, crazy typing above! Make than an *elastic* chin strap. :)
niceyme said... (12/3/03 7:53 AM) Reply
Thanks for the kind words about the Alice outfit. Yes, the vest and ears (and wobby wire glasses) on my husband are my creation, too. DH helped me mangle a couple of wire hangers into ear shapes, which I covered with fuzzy felt and duct taped to a plastic headband (also covered in felt). They were too big and top-heavy to stay on very well, so I added an elastic chin strap for extra support. In the end they were a lot of fun since the wire made them posable. :) I'll add a review for the vest pattern soon, too.
JDpenelope said... (12/3/03 7:15 AM) Reply
Yeah, where did those rabbit ears come from? How do you get them to stand up so nicely? Do they stay on your dh's head. I'm making hats with ears for my dgd's. Oh, nice adaptation of the pioneer pattern, too.
CarrieA said... (12/2/03 1:29 PM) Reply
Ha! Funny you should review this, as I made this into a Goldilocks pinafore for my adult sister this year. I only made the apron (blue gingham) and attached fake puff sleeves in white to it. She wore it over her work clothes to an afternoon Halloween party with her staff of "three bears". I agree that there aren't any adult costumes for these characters...you should see what I found when I did a search for "adult Goldilocks." Yikes!
stripey said... (12/2/03 11:41 AM) Reply
Great idea craftmuffin! And very nice costume, too! When I first looked at the picture, I said to myself : "ah! She's dressed as Alice in Wonderland!", even though your title only said "pioneer dress" -- so you've succeeded in making an instantly recognizable look, and that's exactly what a good costume does! I agree with you that there's only so much time a person can devote to a one-use constume, but yours turned out well in spite of that, and so I'd suggest that if you really aren't going to wear it again, and aren't going to keep it, that you at least consider adding those buttons and then giving the costume either to a local college's drama costume-shop, or to Goodwill, because this is the sort of basic dress and pinafore that can be modified dozens of different ways to suit dozens of different costumes! ... Oh, hey, I like the costume of your white rabbit friend too --did you make those ears and vest as well? Great idea to make Alice and the rabbit as a "couple" costume. It's fresher than most couple costumes out there.) :)
Gillian said... (12/2/03 10:56 AM) Reply
Great costume and great imagination.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

By Hand London Elisalex Dress

photo
by: LizzieInBr...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8408

photo
by: petro

Review
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Youth Easy Shirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details