Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9423 (Pioneer Dress, Apron, Bonnet) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 3240 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:niceyme
photo
About niceyme
IN USA
Member since: 12/1/03
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/03 10:29 AM
Last Updated:12/2/03 10:29 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $9.20 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $9.20  List Price: $11.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gillian said...
Great costume and great imagination.
12/2/03 10:56 AM
stripey said...
Great idea craftmuffin! And very nice costume, too! When I first looked at the picture, I said to myself : "ah! She's dressed as Alice in Wonderland!", even though your title only said "pioneer dress" -- so you've succeeded in making an instantly recognizable look, and that's exactly what a good costume does! I agree with you that there's only so much time a person can devote to a one-use constume, but yours turned out well in spite of that, and so I'd suggest that if you really aren't going to wear it again, and aren't going to keep it, that you at least consider adding those buttons and then giving the costume either to a local college's drama costume-shop, or to Goodwill, because this is the sort of basic dress and pinafore that can be modified dozens of different ways to suit dozens of different costumes! ... Oh, hey, I like the costume of your white rabbit friend too --did you make those ears and vest as well? Great idea to make Alice and the rabbit as a "couple" costume. It's fresher than most couple costumes out there.) :)
12/2/03 11:41 AM
CarrieA said...
Ha! Funny you should review this, as I made this into a Goldilocks pinafore for my adult sister this year. I only made the apron (blue gingham) and attached fake puff sleeves in white to it. She wore it over her work clothes to an afternoon Halloween party with her staff of "three bears". I agree that there aren't any adult costumes for these characters...you should see what I found when I did a search for "adult Goldilocks." Yikes!
12/2/03 1:29 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yeah, where did those rabbit ears come from? How do you get them to stand up so nicely? Do they stay on your dh's head. I'm making hats with ears for my dgd's. Oh, nice adaptation of the pioneer pattern, too.
12/3/03 7:15 AM
niceyme said...
Thanks for the kind words about the Alice outfit. Yes, the vest and ears (and wobby wire glasses) on my husband are my creation, too. DH helped me mangle a couple of wire hangers into ear shapes, which I covered with fuzzy felt and duct taped to a plastic headband (also covered in felt). They were too big and top-heavy to stay on very well, so I added an elastic chin strap for extra support. In the end they were a lot of fun since the wire made them posable. :) I'll add a review for the vest pattern soon, too.
12/3/03 7:53 AM
niceyme said...
whew, crazy typing above! Make than an *elastic* chin strap. :)
12/4/03 9:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us